We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills but decent hotel with personalized services”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Roessli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Roessli
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
1 review
“No frills but decent hotel with personalized services”
Reviewed 2 August 2009

It was my first time in the area. At first I was a bit disappointed at the low-rising (and less-than-modern) buildings in this tourist town. Later I realized that was probably a desirable feature (a blessing in disguise). My son was rather disappointed at the "no frills" situation: no telephone in the room, no free internet connectin, and only basic room/hotel facilities. I told him we should not expect a luxurious modern hotel at the foot of the Top of Europe (during the three days we stayed there we did not seem to find any luxurious modern hotel around). The hotel staff (Jean and his son Christoper) are very friendly and helpful in providing various information and advice in relation to what to do and see. Jean seemed to know every guest by name and greeted us every time with a cheerful, broad smile (and offers much help in everything). One night at 10pm I decided that maybe we'd go for paragliding. Christopher immediately called a company for a booking the next morning. It turned out to be a highlight during our 2-week tour of Europe. The hotel staff are very serious about taking their business personal--Jean sent me three e-mails asking me to write them a review. It is such personal attention to every guest, and the will to please every guest, that distinguishes Hotel Rossli from the rest of the many hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callmesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    578
    63
    9
    10
See reviews for
509
1,022
222
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Jean-louis and his son and daughter-in-law are really nice people who will go out of their way for you to make sure your stay is a good one. The food is excellent the rooms are really nice and comfortable. I would always reccomend the hotel to anyone visiting the area, I would definitely go back and hopefully will do in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryIsaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2009

I have stayed at Hotel Rossli many times over the past 9 years and I feel like it is my second home. The staff and especially the owner, Jean Louis, has always made me feel welcomed and always asks if I ever need anything when I arrived at breakfast or returned after a fantastic day of hiking in the amazing and beautiful Swiss Alps. The breakfast is delightful and hearty. The staff is always willing to give you suggestions on places to visit and a FREE bus pass is included. The location is less than a 5 minute stroll from Interlaken West train station and a Supermarket, ATM, Post Office, Pharmacy and a couple of great local Restaurants and Bars are all within 100 yards from your doorstep. The rooms are simple and very clean. The beds are very comfortable with cosy duvets/comforters. This is a true SWISS FAMILY hotel with tons of personality just minutes away from the crush of all the tourists and vehicle traffic. You won't be dissapointed. Be sure to try out a Bratwurst sandwich at Mr. Grill's snack trailer at Interlaken West Station.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Stay on the west side of Interlaken. There are some nice restaurants of all types, the river is just a couple blocks from the hotel, and the walk from the west train station is very easy upon your arrival. Walking to the east train station is not bad either (along the river or on the main drag). The staff at Hotel Rossli was very friendly and helpful. Christopher welcomed us home with a a cold beer each day and great advice for the next day's activities. Lucky Ming for Chinese just around the corner and Benacus for dinner (and wine) was a special treat. The only improvement that I could suggest would be to add air conditioning as the impact of climate change has hit Switzerland. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaSecondhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I had been traveling through Europe for 3 weeks before I got to Rossli hotel so I had been in other hotels (countries) before I arrived here. Therefore, I can compare my stay with other places. In general the experienced was superb! One thing to mention is that enjoyed the intimacy Rossli had to offer. It seemed to me as if I was coming back to a home rather than just to a hotel. The staff (and owner) made it feel this way. Since I was traveling solo, I would come to the hotel and sit on the comfortable porch to eat or have a beer after a day of physical activity. The setting with beautiful mountains in the background and having a friendly person (Jean Louis) share conversations was amazing. By the way, thanks to a recommendation he gave me to watch the documentary "home" I was able to reflect and look back and want to return to the beautiful town of Interlaken. Whenever I go back, I will return to Rossli hotel. So I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

hotel is excellent. couldn't ask for a warmer welcome. staff very friendly and nice. location excellent!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHampshire82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

The hotel is very conveniently located, a few minutes walk from the train station. We stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. The hotel owners were great and made sure we were comfortable....

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#33 of 40 in Interlaken
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roessli

Property: Hotel Roessli
Address: Hauptstrasse 10/262 | Interlaken, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roessli 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rössli, nestling in the old quarter of Unterseen near Interlaken, is a popular base for holidays in Switzerland's beautiful Bernese Oberland. Our hotel offers spectacular views of the surrounding mountains, a central location, a stylish yet cosy ambiance and attractive rooms to suit all tastes. Rooms with balconies have views of the snow-clad Jungfrau and the Jungfraujoch-Top of Europe at 3454 metres above sea level! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roessli Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing