We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food حلال ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanthi

Shanthi
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have winter holidays and we will open again in november. Pls check our website for more information. Last orders are taken at 9.30 pm. The restaurant has to close at 10 pm.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food حلال ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

An excellent food we had..it were very tasty and nice we have bryani chicken and prawn it was amazing..the food is Halal.. near our hotel and near from train interlaken-west. Must try.اكله لذيذ و حلال الدجاج فالشتاء و اللحم تحصله فالصيف حلال لكثرة الزبائن المسلمين

Helpful?
1 Thank tariq a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    50
    12
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic affordable Indian Food in Interlaken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Visited Shanthi retaurant for Dinner yesterday. To start with this restaurant is easily accessible from Railway station (5mins walk). It has good parking facilities (underground parking complex) .

We were well received and welcomed warmly by the restaurant manager. He gave us accurate details of menus. I must highlight that the food is really cooked after you place the order. But we were surprised that they managed to serve the food pretty fast. The food was simply delicious. I must admit that being from Germany all these years i haven't found a Indian restaurant in Germany that offers such delicious, authentic indian food as Restaurant Shanthi does. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and service. Also the food was price worthy compared to Interlaken standards. I would warmly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for Genuine South Indian food.

Guten Appetit!
Gopi R

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GRajendran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
566 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
“Very Good South Indian/Sri Lanka Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a (Sri Lankan) family run restaurant a little off the beaten track so would get little passing trade, but it’s well worth finding. I understand that the owner has worked in Indian restaurants in Interlaken for many years, but started his own restaurant in May this year (when the premises next to the small grocery store that the family owned and lived above became vacant).

The premises are modern, bright and clean (the kitchen behind a bamboo matting screen is sparkling) although quite small with only six round tables. The food is (naturally) Sri Lankan and South Indian (not North Indian as a previous review said), with South Indian dishes such as Rasam, Dosa, Idlli and Hoppers making a welcome addition to the menu as they don’t often feature in the more common Bangladeshi-run Indian restaurants in UK.

I thought the food was very good. It’s true it is not quite so chilli-hot as that in Sri Lanka (the owner explained that this is because the Swiss locals do not like it quite that hot), but it is still spicy enough for those not from the sub continent and very flavoursome. It is all freshly cooked and prepared, so if you like curry, and particularly more authentic than the average UK high street curryhouse, then it is very well worth seeking out. Not cheap, but then nothing is in Switzerland and it is as reasonably priced if not more so than most restaurants and offers good value. Bearing in mind that the food is freshly cooked by the family, the service is fine and very friendly. It is worth noting that they offer very reasonably priced lunchtime specials, and it is closed on Mondays

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

simply sumptuous indian food - the palak paneer is simple delicious.. our daughter loved the idlis ..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PIYUSH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
170 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice South India/Sri Lanka food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Quiet corner with very reasonable prices and good dosa! The family owners were very welcoming. The decor is bright. Its a bit hard to find, follow the signs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janis857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanthi also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Unterseen, Interlaken
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Shanthi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing