We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for cost of laundry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grimsel Hospiz
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guttannen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We really enjoyed Grimsel Hospitz.It is a heritage building overlooking some great scenery.

The only issue was the cost of laundry. Laundry is charged per item - pants cost 12 CHF and shirts 8 CHF. The equivalent of one standard load of washing would have cost us over 108 CHF ($125 AU). We ended up washing our essential items in the sink and using the towel rack to get by.

I sent a follow up email to the management when I returned home, asking if they could explain why the laundry was so expensive. They did not bother to respond, hence the low rating here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
3  Thank nathan_b_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed two days, hiking, walking, admiring the gorgeous scene...
Good food, friendly staff, excellent room & bathroom. Superb to take a day-off.
Spectacular views from the mountains... take the walk on the Sidelhorn, first by cable car, then walking uphill... back to hotel after 4 1/2 hours.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were driving back to England from our holiday in Italy and decided to skip the Swiss motorways and to drive over the Alps! Oh we were soooo glad we did. We came across the hotel and decided to stay there for 2 days. That of course changed our plans but it did not matter. The scenery is spectacular and the hotel is excellent. We went mountain hiking and also visited the water tunnels into the mountains, just below the hotel [it's a guided tour and you can ask for it at the hotel reception]. What an amazing experience. We shall go again in the future for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The friends who had selected this hotel kept telling me "to not expect too much". Well even they were pleased with this little property tucked away in the Swiss Alps.

Don't let the name fool you, it is nothing like a hospice. It is set in the valley and overlooking a lake. Make sure you get a "room with a view". It is worth the extra few Swiss Francs.

The rooms have all been recently renovated and a re quite large with modern decor (think wood, browns and beiges) with a lovely bathroom. there is also a separate shared lounge area which has a wonderful view also.

The room rate includes a four course dinner and breakfast (in summer - it is different in winter). The dinner meals were substanstial and pretty good quality. The staff were very friendly also. Note that the hotel has an incredible wine celler (some 300 wines) and the sommellier is happy to take you on a tour and offer advice. Breakfast was fine but the hot food was overcooked and dry - avoid!!

We will definately be back to enjoy the peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The arrival at the hotel will be a delight for sure! The place is located beside the road leading to the Grimselpass and is surrounded by mountains and water (there is a huge reservoir for the storage and regulation of water around the hotel). The interior of the Grimsel Hospiz is modern but rustic at the same time. The rooms are very clean and charming. A sign of Swiss quality and perfection. The relative high price for the rooms is compensated by a free dinner (excluding drinks) and breakfast. And especially by the magic location and atmosphere. I really recommend to spend a night or two there, ideally to be combined with a hiking journey (Haslital, Trift, Gelmersee and more). Note that it is easy and comfortable to get to the region by train, but there are few buses to get to the hotel, which is out of town. Therefore, plan your arrival and departure or contact the hotel for a pick-up service if you don’t travel by car. Have a safe trip and enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinturaRoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This restaurant/hotel located along Grimselpass was a welcome sight after a full day of driving and a cold, rainy day. We were lucky enough that this road was open as the views were spectactular along this stretch of the drive! There were little residual bits of snow around and very picturesque.

The hotel was warm with a pub/restaurant and another separate restaurant as well as a few fire places around. The room we stayed in had its own bathroom and amenities and was very cozy, clean and the bedding was exceptionally comfortable.

We were the only people staying here on this night so had the attention of all the friendly staff. It was just a rainy day when we checked in but the next morning we woke up to a heavy snow fall and our road was now closed. We only had summer tyres on our car and no real experience with driving in the snow and with our schedule being quite tight, we thought we would be stuck in the hotel for at least the next few nights. This is where the exceptional customer service went way beyond expectation. After we waited till early afternoon to see whether the snow would cease and the plough would come to clear the road (which it did not), the wonderful hotel manager insisted on helping us out. He drove his car to a safe point down the mountain to see if he could make it in his car (not before becoming bogged himself and having to dig his car out in the blizzard for over an hour!) and then came back up to escourt us down in front of his car. By the time we were ready to leave the snow had picked up further, but with his experience, he drove our car down for us while one of his staff members drove in front of us leading the way. He then dropped us at the safe point and shook our hand goodbye.

Being an obviously quiet season for his hotel, he could have easily kept us for more nights and continued making money off of us, but he was wonderful enough to help us out of a scary situation and get us on our way again.

I would recommend this hotel on its gorgeous location, the good food, cozy room and fantastic service.

Room Tip: Get the room with full amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bofthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Monika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guttannen
3.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#1 of 4 in Oberwald
68 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Reuti
Hotel Reuti
#2 of 6 in Hasliberg
58 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Furka
Hotel Furka
#2 of 4 in Oberwald
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsel Hospiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsel Hospiz

Address: Grimselpass, Guttannen 3864, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Guttannen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guttannen
Price Range: £179 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsel Hospiz 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Grimsel Hospiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grimsel Hospiz Hotel Guttannen
Hotel Grimsel Hospiz Switzerland/Guttannen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing