We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge des Cevennes
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Excellent service and stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

very friendly hospitality, services and great food! though there was no a/c in the room, the weather was fine without it. Food was absolutely delicious and well presented. Absolute wonderful stay. Location was perfect as it was close to surrounding activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liching12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    35
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

(review en français à venir)

We stopped at l'Auberge des Cevennes for one night during a road trip from Chicoutimi to Québec and after a long hiking trip to the montagne blanche in the Parc du Saguenay. We were completely tired and I wasn't sure if I was ok for 3+ hours of driving so we decided to stop there. We ate at the restaurant and it was pretty decent for the price. Service was also very nice. If it was for the meals and service I would have given 3 stars.

But the ROOM!! what a terrible inferno!! If it was only crappy but no! I am 100% sure we would have slept better in a tent beside the highway with a Slipknot concert going on. This place is so noisy that we've barely been able to sleep an whole hour. The bed is an aberration in itself, and most of the things in the room do not work properly. Even the blinds are not covering the windows completely. The fan in the bathroom had a wire going on the ceiling, taped on the wall and plugged in the wall on the other side. And it wasn't working anyway. The bath consisted of pieces of plastic sticked together, there were some holes into it, not looking clean at all, etc. There was even a fan in the room plugged in the wall beside the bed and if the bed (which was on wheels) was not forcing the connector through the wall it got turned off. But the main concern which made one of the worst night I have ever had was the noise. THE NOISE!!!! BANG BANG BANG CRACK BANG CRACK BANG all night!!!!! Make yourself a favor and skip this place big time if you want to sleep. Enough said!

Room Tip: Do not ever attempt to try to sleep there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamSwitzer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dine59, Propriétaire at Auberge des Cevennes, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
I am sorry that you did not like your stay. Why did you not tell us about the noise in order for us to intervene? I understand that you did not really want to stay in an inn, but that you were so tired that you take this decision. You chose a standard room, which is not expensive, but which still includes a bathroom, tv, fridge, and a private spot in front of your room on the terrasse. Of course, we have more luxurious and larger rooms, newly renovated, with queen beds, all ceramics bath room, fire place, nice view etc, but they are more expensive. Nevertheless, the room you had was still described in another comment recently as being ''relatively small but with private bathroom and perfectly clean '' (11/07/13). They might perhaps have been less tired than you, and preferred focusing on the pleasant things of their stay , such as the prettiness of the room, their terrasse, the living-room, the computer, rather than how the wires were connected.
Still, as for the noise, I am sorry. The room is at the back of the inn, far from the street, but near the kitchen, it is true. We do not serve the dinner at the inn past 8 o'clock, to make sure that the inn is quiet at 10h30. During working hours, we normally close all windows in order to prevent all noise. It could be that on this one day, one was accidently left opened. But all the employees finished their work this evening at 10h. So, the kitchen must have been quiet. If I am wrong and that the noise was indeed much later than that, I am again sorry, even though it would have been good to inform us of the situation in order for us to warn the people or find the origin of the problem, perhaps a door badly closed, a broken ventilator, or something unusual. We live at the first floor of the inn, and an inscription on the desk specifies that you can disturb us at any time.
I can only apologize again and hope that, even if you probably will not come back, you will understand that the seemingly unpleasantness was most likely an unfortunate set of coincidences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A sleepy little town with a lovely inn offering breakfast & a gourmet dinner for extra cost! We had both and were not disappointed. The room was very reasonable. We arrived about 6 pm without reservations. (Our journey was a leisurely exploration along north St. Lawrence River and then returning on the south side back to Quebec City with no exacting plans.) We were offered a tiny room on the 2d floor or a large room on the 3rd floor for the same price. We chose the 3rd floor and they portered our small bags to the 3rd floor. It was a lovely ample size room with fireplace, sitting area, veranda overlooking a portion of the Saguenay River and private bath. It appears that all rooms may be part of the wrap around veranda. If the Inn is full, keep travelling a short distance to the end of the road and there are a couple of other inns at the end of the road that look very interesting.
Two young men run the Auberge des Cevennes for their father. He can be very proud of the job they do. They are helpful, polite, accomodating and very hard working young men. We would definitely return for another pleasant stay if in the area. We felt he accomodations were very reasonable in price. There was a family with a very unhappy baby the entire dinner hour but the young men were
very sensitive to everyone by initially placing the young family in the main dining room and the rest of us in a charming, intimate dining room as we arrived later. We were all sympathetic to the young family but were quite pleased with the sensitivity to their older guests as well as the young.

Room Tip: The small room that I saw on the 2d floor was VERY small. Great for a single person. The inn is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentsrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We spent only one night in this charming B&B in L'Anse Saint-Jean as part of a longer trip through the Saguenay region. We wish we could have spent another night. We'd arrived at the end of a long days drive from Montreal and enjoyed a third floor room that opened onto a shaded veranda (shared) will chairs and tables. After a brief walk to the famed Covered Bridge we were chased inside by the sounds of thunder. The view from the veranda of the approaching storm rolling off the hills across the Saguenay Fjord was spectacular. We took a short nap on a very comfortable bed and awoke hungry. Fortunately we had decided ahead of time to have dinner at the Auberge. So glad we did. The food was excellent, freshly prepared with many local ingredients. We had a seat beside a window for more views of the storm and the beauty of the surrounding region. The waitstaff was very pleasant . Her English wasn't much better than my French but we communicated nonetheless with much pleasantness.

Breakfast the following morning was very good. Eggs fixed how we wanted them, fruit, pastries (cereals were also available). Jerry had ham with his eggs and I had a crepe. Very good coffee and that view again.

If you are not familiar with staying in nearly century year old auberges, please be forewarned...stairs are narrow and a bit steep, floors tend to slant every which way, and there was no a/c (but there was a ceiling fan, pedestal stand, and screens on the window). The bathroom (which was ensuite) was, of course, added after the fact and is small and basic...but very sufficient...best not to take away from the charm of the lovely room. (which has a fireplace in the corner for colder months).

There is a small garden with chairs and a glider swing. There is ample off street parking convenient to getting your luggage in the Auberge. The auberge is about 300 meters (max) to the town's famed Covered Bridge which is filled with beautiful paintings of the area in different seasons.

The website doesn't have an English version but I just used Google Translate and that worked fine. Email correspondence with the owners, Enid and Mario was quite adequate in English.

I would highly recommend Auberge des Cevennes especially if you are doing a "circle" tour of the Saguenay fjord.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abaesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakenham, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

What an absolute gem! This little inn has it all: a beautiful location, nice accommodations, great views from the wrap-around balconies, and a restaurant that delivers amazing breakfasts and memorable suppers.

We had a room on the 3rd floor on a front corner, so sitting on the verandah outside had a spectacular view up the anse and out onto the fjord. The room had a fireplace and fridge, and the bed and linens were very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, with homemade bread, jams and cretons to accompany fresh fruit, eggs and other breakfast staples. Dinners were fantastic too, with creative and delicious options to choose from (the menu on their website is from a few years ago, but you get an idea from it what is offered: mussels, venison, bison, duck, chicken, lobster, scallops, pork, caribou, etc). The staff were very courteous and
welcomed travelers from all over to their 'home away from home' for us, and did everything possible to make the stay enjoyable, relaxing, and memorable. It was difficult to leave this wonderful and relaxing spot.

Website: http://www.auberge-des-cevennes.qc.ca/

Room Tip: The views from all sides are beautiful, but the front/river sides have the most spectacular view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Kardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This truly was a hidden gem tucked within the incredible fjord of Québec. Located just a short and very scenic four hours by car from Québec City, we arrived in the beautiful, tiny town of L'Anse Saint Jean. Here, you are truly off the tourist map and have escaped into a beautiful part of the world you probably never knew existed! The Auberge des Cévennes certainly exceeded our expectations. Traveling in a group of three, upon arrival at the hotel, to our much appreciated surprise, two of the staff spoke English, which we truly weren't expecting. Our room was on the second floor. The staircases were a bit narrow and rickety, one outside and one inside. A charming veranda was just outside our room with tables and chairs and was a nice place to relax. The hotel has a small, hillside garden and a view of the fjord and the river, yet mostly a spectacular view of the mountains and waterfall. The door from the veranda to the room was very difficult to open, however the door between to the room and the upstairs hallway was just fine. The room was rather small, yet fit us all comfortably with three single beds, a small television and television stand, two small chairs and table, plus complimentary miniature refrigerator, which we greatly enjoyed! Plus, free wi-fi internet access was included in our stay! Great plus!!! All guests also have access to a small, upstairs lounge area with a fireplace and some sightly worn furniture. The room was kept immaculately clean and so was the bathroom. The bathroom was a bit florescent, very white yet it showed it was spotless and kept very well. However, it was absolutely tiny and we could barely fit in the bathroom! It did contain a fully functional sink, toilet and shower/tub with satisfactory toiletries and towels stocked by the staff during daily housekeeping. We enjoyed breakfast in the hotel which is included in the price of the stay. The continental breakfast was quite nice, with a croissant, yogurt, fresh fruits and crêton (pork pâté, a local specialty) as well as good coffee and tea. The dining room was kept very nice and had a nice view of the mountain and waterfall. However, the overall location of the hotel wasn't excellent. It is very close to the "oldest covered bridge in Canada" and is very scenic, plus isn't too far by car from a hiking trail to the base of the waterfalls and a lookout point over the fjord. Bring sunscreen, sunglasses, lots of bug spray and hope for good weather! It rained every day during our trip and the insects in the woods were horrendous! We still had fun though. The hotel is about a twenty minute walk one-way or three minute drive to the town at the end of the very busy small street. In town is just one very quaint shop, a lovely rocky beach and pier with a gorgeous view of the pristine fjord. If you're staying for more than one evening, eat at the hotel! Locals and other tourists come to eat dinner at the hotel even if they aren't staying here! The food was delicious. The steak was a bit undercooked, but delicious, with local produce and flavors of maple and herbs found within the dishes. Surprisingly, you pay for everything upon checkout! Don't even think of leaving tips after a meal or paying upon checkin. Everything was a superb value too, and about half of what we were expecting! If you ever come to L'Anse Saint Jean, we highly recommend this inn because of their wonderful hospitality, homelike essence and overall fabulous experience. If you're expecting a luxury hotel, don't come here, but if you're looking for a far-flung gorgeous escape with a taste of the comforts of home, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same. Ours had a satisfactory view yet with a wonderful shared veranda w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I spent 2 enjoyable days at L'Auberge des Cevennes, in June. Our suite overlooked the river and a charming covered bridge. The room and bathroom were immaculate. The hosts could not have been more welcoming - even giving our car battery a boost when we needed it!
Breakfasts included many choices, and the dinners were delicious! The inn has a reasonably extensive but affordable wine list.
Even if you are not planning to stay at the inn, it is worth making a dinner reservation there.
The inn is just a short 5 minute drive from the departure point for cruising on the fjord.

Room Tip: Several suites have their own balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynandDavep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Anse-Saint-Jean
1.2 mi away
Auberge la Fjordelaise
Auberge la Fjordelaise
#1 of 3 in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
149 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste
La Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Rose-du-Nord
555 reviews
6.4 mi away
Auberge du jardin
Auberge du jardin
#1 of 2 in Petit-Saguenay
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Hotel Tadoussac
Hotel Tadoussac
#2 of 8 in Tadoussac
825 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalets sur le Fjord
Chalets sur le Fjord
#1 of 3 in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Cevennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Cevennes

Property: Auberge des Cevennes
Address: 294 St-Jean-Baptiste, L'Anse-Saint-Jean, Quebec G0V 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > L'Anse-Saint-Jean
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge des Cevennes 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge des Cevennes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing