We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent inn on the Saquenay Fjord” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge la Fjordelaise

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Auberge la Fjordelaise
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent inn on the Saquenay Fjord”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We spent two nights at this classic old hotel. Small but comfortable and very clean room with two windows on the fjord - lovely! Breakfast and four course dinner included in the very reasonable price. All food cooked to order and very high quality. Very good wine list. Excellent service, with a smile, even when very busy. We took dinner on the porch overlooking the fjord one night - spectacular in all regards. Owners and staff speak very little English but no problem, as we all somehow figured things out. Several families there during our stay, so I would say very family-friendly, by observation.

Room Tip: Reveiw photos of each room carefully to gauge size. We chose F-5 and it was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    37
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

This hotel is very well located, at the end of the road in l'Anse-St-Jean, with a very scenic view of the fjord. It is a quiet location: there is only little marina activity, hence no noisy traffic. Our room was on the ground floor in the Rosalie house, which is next to the Fjordelaise house. The room was tiny, with no room for our suitcases. The ceiling was in wood, so we could hear everything from the room upstairs (people walking, etc.). The house has a very beautiful terrace and provides free Wi-Fi, though only in the restaurant-house.
The restaurant serves average food (little choice), and the service looks more like in a staff restaurant than in a hotel. We really enjoyed the location of that hotel, but found no comfort in the tiny room, so we rather don't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonderho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Wonderful place to stay if visiting the fjord. Cute town, friendly and accomodating staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudsTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

The best b&b you can ask for in the smallest & cutest town along the Saguenay Fjord.
Very clean, very friendly, great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

All the reviews so far say 'excellent', andthe Fjordelaise really is. Don't think of eating your evening meal anywhere else. It is called table d'hote, but is really prix fixe: there is a wide choice of starters and main course in what amounts to a superb 5-course meal for $30. Our room was in the adjacent cottage, which has been very sensitively restored and updated. They gave us a very late checkout because we had been kayaking and the latter did not end until 1 p.m. A memorable experience (both the Fjordelaise and the kayaking!)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruswarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed in this Inn for visiting the Saguenay Region. Auberge La Fjordelaise is located in beautiful village of L'Anse-Saint-Jean, on lake front, easy access to various sections of Saguenay National Park, there is a hiking trail started besides of the Inn. The recently renovated rooms in the main building have private bathroom. There is Wireless internet access. We took the room, dinner and breakfast package. The meal is great, full course dinner and hot breakfast. The dinning room is bright and spacious. Although we don't speak much French, we managed to communicate with the host in English without problem. We will stay here if we visit this area again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Anse-Saint-Jean
1.2 mi away
Auberge des Cevennes
Auberge des Cevennes
#2 of 3 in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.7 mi away
Auberge du jardin
Auberge du jardin
#1 of 2 in Petit-Saguenay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hotel Tadoussac
Hotel Tadoussac
#2 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chalets sur le Fjord
Chalets sur le Fjord
#1 of 3 in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Nid De L'Anse
Le Nid De L'Anse
#2 of 6 in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge la Fjordelaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge la Fjordelaise

Property: Auberge la Fjordelaise
Address: 370 St-Jean-Baptiste,, L'Anse-Saint-Jean, Quebec G0V 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > L'Anse-Saint-Jean
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOUVEAUTÉ! Afin de mieux vous servir, depuis avril 2009, nous disposons de quatre nouvelles chambres situées dans la Maison Rosalie, voisine de l’auberge. Pour mieux accommoder les groupes ou les familles, la maison est également disponible pour location durant la basse saison (octobre à mai). Des informations additionnelles au sujet de ce nouveau service seront bientôt affichées sur notre site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge la Fjordelaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing