We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn, beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge la Fjordelaise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We only stayed one night but would have liked to stay longer. It is a beautiful region, and we weren't sure about the inn because it was a bit hard to tell from the website, but we were very happy with it. The owner spoke some English, we speak a little French, so we got by just fine. The room was nicer than the web photo, not huge, but charming plus we had a little balcony to enjoy the view of the Fjord. I liked the footed tub, it also had a hand held shower and a curtain if you prefer showers. We had dinner as well as breakfast there, it was a great deal. Excellent meal, we thought it might be a nice home cooked meal, but it was equal to the meals at the better Quebec City restaurants we visited. Good wine selection and reasonable prices. It's located at the very end of the road, but it's a lovely drive. Good location when visiting the Saguenay / L'Anse Saint Jean region.

Room Tip: We stayed in room F1, had a little balcony overlooking the fjord. Very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

Auberge La Fjordelaise is not a B&B and has therefore not the same hospitality, although the welcome is friendly. Our room (R1) was in the house next to the auberge itself, an authentic wooden cszy house, with a shared living room and kitchen. Not a really large room, but we were glad to have chosen for a queen bed. Charming and clean, in an old style, though the shower was rather uncomfortable (in a bath). Our room was on the ground floor, and we could easily hear the people upstairs, because of the wooden floor.

We had taken half board, so our dinner (or rather supper in Canadian) was also included. Not a cheap option, but a good one. It was a table d'hôte, and we both chose the magret de canard, the deer medallion and the tarte tatin. The carrot soup came between. Good food, fine cuisine, not too much, and good service.

For breakfast we could choose from a variety of hot dishes, and we both opted for the pancakes, trying to limit the amount of eggs a bit. We got a few toasts too. Simple but nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Rita was a great hostess. We booked a 'package' there which involved the accommodation, a 3 course dinner, breakfast the following morning and a 3 hour kayak. We had a delightful room which a little balcony overlooking the fjord. The room had a footed bath with a shower hose which looked gorgeous but would've preferred a shower. There were a couple of little gift shops not far away too which had some lovely items. The price for a glass of wine with Rita made it easy to drink there than drive to the market to buy it.

Room Tip: We had a front one overlooking the fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliefHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Beautiful location overlooking the water.Only 1-2 minute walk to guided kayak excursions on the Sageunay fjord. The inkeeper was incredibly gracious and helped us plan the rest of our stay in the Sageunay region.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Loren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is a lovely place to stay. Right by the waterfront. Very nicely appointed. Comfortable bed and very clean room. Looked like fairly new updated bathrooms. Easy free parking in the back. Very nice staff and owners. The dinner and breakfast included in room are worth it. The food is absolutely delicious. We dined on their large front porch with great views. We had a room in the main house with a view of the water.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandJ-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

The service and food at this place was superb. I can promise you that it is definitely worth having your dinner at the auberge as you won't find anywhere else in the village or surrounding area with the same quality and value for money. We ate there twice and because of the choice on the menu you can eat different things, from local wild pheasant to lobster to veal. We chose the biggest room F1 which is only a little bit more than the others but you will value the space and the lovely balcony with superb view. Rooms were very clean. Rita and her team could not do enough to attend to your every need. Thank you so much for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agberthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights; rooms small and quite warm, even with tiny windows open. Very clean and comfortable. A good choice of well cooked breakfasts. Evening meal was nice, like a good home cooked supper, nothing gourmet. Auberge is well situated for kayaking and views of the cove and it is very easy to walk to other restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 5 had 2 tiny windows overlooking the water. One other room on the top floor had a small balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wood333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Anse-Saint-Jean
1.2 mi away
Auberge des Cevennes
Auberge des Cevennes
#2 of 3 in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
134 reviews
5.7 mi away
Auberge du jardin
Auberge du jardin
#1 of 2 in Petit-Saguenay
50 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Tadoussac
Hotel Tadoussac
#2 of 8 in Tadoussac
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Auberge les Deux Pignons
Auberge les Deux Pignons
#2 of 2 in Petit-Saguenay
35 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
515 reviews
4.1 mi away
Auberge du Mont-Edouard
Auberge du Mont-Edouard
#3 of 3 in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge la Fjordelaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge la Fjordelaise

Address: 370 St-Jean-Baptiste,, L'Anse-Saint-Jean, Quebec G0V 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > L'Anse-Saint-Jean
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
Price Range: £59 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOUVEAUTÉ! Afin de mieux vous servir, depuis avril 2009, nous disposons de quatre nouvelles chambres situées dans la Maison Rosalie, voisine de l’auberge. Pour mieux accommoder les groupes ou les familles, la maison est également disponible pour location durant la basse saison (octobre à mai). Des informations additionnelles au sujet de ce nouveau service seront bientôt affichées sur notre site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge la Fjordelaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing