We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a drive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Relais de Poingam
Ranked #1 of 2 Poum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

If you rent a car make sure it has good wheels as the roads are pretty awful in parts and there are some big potholes, also signs are a bit of rarity once you get north make sure you have GPS or know exactly how to get there, though the locals were happy to give directions. We arrived at about four to be told they didn't have our reservation but the staff are very friendly and managed to get us a bed. this is a campsite but the cabins have comfortable beds - not every room had a fridge. The evening meal was a bit of a let down, first night was a fish stew that we struggled with - the boys from Marseilles finished it for us, next night a Venison spit roast which was an improvement. Lunch was the highlight, sublime crab. Beach is very long and hardly anyone about, nice and sandy and we certainly found it to be very swimmable. It is what it is and the staff are all very cheerful and friendly, the rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable and the beer cold. We were treated to a sing song one night and the local liqueur, which when set alight burns for quite some time!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim-family_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Le Relais de Poingam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Extrem north part of new caledonia, no dissturbance by mobil phone internet tv etc, best place to take a rest
Bbq the week end and the crabs ( boat pass)of new caledonia
Beach, coral good plage for the snorkling.
Niaouli distillerie near the relais, honey and other local product like salt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestone976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The campsite and the facilities are basic. The bay is picturesque but not great for swimming. There's not a lot to do in the area except sunbathe and relax (so not too bad). The evening meals are first class - the best food we ate in New Caledonia; good wine; a great communal experience - and exceptional value compared to much of the island. A must-visit in NC for the meals alone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

As far as you can go on Grand-terre! Amazing road trip from Nouméa to get here, the bungalows are in a peaceful location with a beautiful beach beyond. Josy and her team prepare amazing meals each evening, a unique experience in New Caledonia

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martyn1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed for one night in a bungalow - perhaps a bit too spacious to be really intimate, but with a lovely outdoor (but en suite) bathroom. The food was great (e.g. octopus tartare!) and the meal included an aperitif and a decent bottle of wine. There's not much of a beach, but enough to sit on to read your book or watch the sunset. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent 2 nights in the relais, it's a bit of a treck to get there (about 1/2h on a dirt track, watch out for the wild horses!) but well worth it. The meals are EXCELLENT, all the food is grown locally and you sit at long tables with the other guests. The rooms are basic but clean and with a large suply of mosquito coils. The outdoor showers are great as well.
The beach is literally 2 steps away from the bungalows, the corals are a bit of a swim from the beach but beautiful and there is a very nice walk up the hills at the back of the property. The resident dog (we called him Marcel but he has another name!) will be more than happy to take you around the track.
You can leave mobile phones, smart phones, blackberrys etc behind, there is no internet or mobile phone coverage. The staff is very helpful and friendly.
We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLD186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Loved this place. Long drive up as at the northerly tip of the Island. (However drive back down west coast was much more pleasant, and this route recommended.) Right on a great long beach, with plenty to explore on the exposed reef, which reaches about ankle deep at low tide, so swimming not an option as in a lot of places in NC. Hut we stayed in was basic, with no frills such as a fridge, AC or cooking facilities, but was clean, great outside shower (but private for those getting nervous) and set in lovely garden right on the beach.
Adjacent is communal eating area, where the hosts served a fantastic spit roast pig, with actual vegetables (the only time we saw these on a plate in NC) and an unexpected bonus of included wine. Everyone sat down together which was a great way to meet the other guests, even with our poor French. By far the best value meal and accomodation, and if we go again will stay 4 nights, as this is the place to chill out. The hosts were great, friendly and laid back whilst making you feel at home.
We had read the road there may be a problem, but the Yaris handled it no problem.

Room Tip: They all looked good.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poum
15.5 mi away
Hotel Malabou Beach
136.1 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
86.0 mi away
Hotel La Nea
Hotel La Nea
#2 of 2 in Kone
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
86.8 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#1 of 2 in Kone
184 reviews
75.5 mi away
Koulnoue Village
Koulnoue Village
#1 of 2 in Hienghene
352 reviews
102.4 mi away
Hotel Tieti Poindimie
Hotel Tieti Poindimie
#1 of 1 in Poindimie
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais de Poingam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais de Poingam

Address: Poum, Grand Terre 98826, New Caledonia
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Poum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poum
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing