We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
178
101
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
101
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming hole rock pools main path cooling dip swimming spots cool water walking track picnic lunch lovely walk slippery rocks entire length beautiful park up hill natural beauty mossman gorge safe swimming fish
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Visited on a super hot day and found the water cold and refreshing. The walk up the hill wasn't worth it due to the number of people, compared to the pools lower by the carpark. Would recommend wearing beach shoes in the water as the rocks can be sharp. Lovely couple of hours here playing though

Thank The4ofus28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Crystal Cascades was lovely, with many fish, waterfalls, and crystal clear water. I would recommend taking a picnic as you will probally want to stay for a good couple of hours especially if the day is hot. The walk to the top of the hill was not worth it, one of the smaller ones nearer the car park where less busy and much more pristine. Kids had great fun climbing the rock but be wary that there are rock sticking out and unexpected sudden dips!

Thank Dolphinstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent - lots of fun approx 1 km easy walk to main waterfalls . Easy to access water
Well maintained pathways
Lots of fun for whole family
Shame some visitors were smoking around young children

Thank melissabell1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are so glad we visited the crystal cascades, the walk is lovely and the falls are beautiful. We stopped for a swim in one of the many swimming holes and it was so refreshing. Our kids are 10 and 11 years old and it was really safe for them swimming. It wasn't too busy when we were there and so we had our own little oasis. Some people are very daring and climb high up the rocks to jump in - we were not so daring but it was worth watching the fearless youngsters (although nerve wracking too),

Thank Vikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely cool, clean water in stunning ravine, with fun rock jumps and water shutes to play on! What a lovely way to keep cool on a long hot day.

Thank Outdoors_is_great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My favourite place in Cairns - great photo opportunities, relaxing and easy to get to only 15 minutes from cairns cbd

Thank lisa1242018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Easily accessible just to the east of Cairns, a walk of a km or from the car park takes you the length of the cascades to the upper falls area.

Good swimming holes for those who are interested: otherwise, I a pleasant walk with pleasant views in a rainforest environment.

Parking is relatively limited. As it is popular, go earlier in the day as it was full when we were leaving mid-morning.

Thank bobjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Went there with my mum, dad and sister and it was absolutely beautiful. As you walk up don’t be fooled by the sign saying no swimming, once you reach the peak of the walk there is a swimming area with a beautiful waterfall. The water is so fresh and cool. The waterfall is so powerful and lush aswell. Watch for the swimming holes walking up, there are some beautiful and peaceful spots coming up. Look out for the fish and wildlife aswell. Recommend this spot if you are staying in the area, there are no faults to its beauty. Photos don’t justify how beautiful it is, it just gives such a beautiful aura and vibe.

Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Beautiful creek with free flowing water down a series of small waterfalls. Watch out for Monitor Lizards, butterflys, fish etc etc. Clean fresh water

1  Thank PAM232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Short walk to falls. Not a steep climb well sealed path suitable for pushchair or wheelchairs. No rain recently so falls only small. Tried to go to Fairy falls but path too rough for some of our party.

1  Thank BluePoppyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews