We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Bunkbarn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penderyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bunkbarn
Bucks
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

A great bunkbarn. Why? Super bunks, great mattresses, clean & simple bedrooms. Well equipped kitchen. Very relaing sitting room/ dining room, lots of comfy chairs. all of this is very clean. A working Welsh farm is on the doorstep, although the solitary peacock is quite noisy during the night. Lovely to watch the ducks on the pond in the early evening.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prestwoodcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Another visit to the Bunkbarn and its even better than ever. A great frienbdly place to stay. The only thing that could be improved is the weather but still we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWalesExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Stayed as a small group and found the facilities to be great especially considering the price. This is by far the best bunk barn I have stayed in. Very clean and tidy with everything you need. Local pub (short walk) was good for a post walk evening drink. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doddove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Needed a place to stay for the Mountain Trail Challenge and this fitted the bill perfectly. By far the most luxurious <ahem> bunk barn I've ever stayed in; in fact the only one with under floor heating.

Facilities were all good (and pretty much complete - the owner was still putting the finishing touches to the place), although a few more and more comfy chairs in the communal area would be a big bonus.

Will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2008

stayed with a group of eight.
excellent facilities and great welcome.
would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireBlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Wales
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2008

The centre just opened and the disabaled toilet was not completed along with the fire escape upstairs which had no barrier or rail, which is very worrying.
Spoke to the owner about this and he reassured us that it was being rectified once the rails were made. I was going to book a group in again in May but the fire escape issue is not resolved so will not use them again until completed.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Cteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penderyn
1.0 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
5.0 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
14.0 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beili Helyg Guest House
Beili Helyg Guest House
#1 of 1 in Penderyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
4.6 mi away
Llwyn Onn Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bunkbarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bunkbarn

Property: The Bunkbarn
Address: Pantcefnffordd Church Road | Church Road, Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park CF44 9JR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penderyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Penderyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bunkbarn is located in the village of Penderyn within the Brecon Beacons National park. The barn is an ideal base for exploring the Brecon Beacons & South Wales, and is in within easy reach of Brecon, Swansea and Cardiff. Four Star accommodation is available for small and large groups (including disabilities). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bunkbarn Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing