We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic little b&b in south wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beili Helyg Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Penderyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary in August 2011. Mike's directions were spot on enabling us to find the place, as its a little off the beaten track. we stayed in the loft room.Very quiet and relaxing place,the rooms were exceptionally clean and of a very high standard. The breakfast was particually good and very tasty indeed. this place is ideally located for local walks and exploring south wales and brecon beacons. Mike and Caroline made us feel very welcome and we woudl definately reccommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Hi JanLilly, many thanks for your review and of course the photographs. It was lovely to have you to stay for your anniversary and we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We love to give people guidance to enable them to get the most of their visit to this very beautiful and special part of the world, and it's great to know that is appreciated. Thanks again, Mike & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

Welcoming, went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Beautiful walks along rivers and under waterfalls. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samantha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Hi Samantha l, thank you for your review, we are so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. We really enjoyed your company and were delighted to meet you both. Best wishes, Caroline & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The whole family loved the Beili Helyg guest house. The landscape around is marvellous, How can we imagine to find such a nice and cosy house in the middle of nowhere with only sheep as neighbourgh ? The house owners are very kind people providing a high level of services : very nice breakfast cooking, advisable map tours, very good jam also ;) They have find a way to transform an old farmhouse into a both modern and authentic house.
For sure we would like to come back to Wales and to the Beili Helyg guest house !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Hi Anne N, thank you so much for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you & your family, and welcome you to Wales. We're very pleased you liked our home and hospitality. We use the very best of local ingredients to make our breakfasts, and our hens provide us with eggs, but it's always nice to know that our guests have enjoyed the end product. Best wishes to you all. Caroline & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The B and B is well located in a quite area and is very nice place to stay. Very well refurbished. Beautiful bedroom in an old farm. Mike and Caroline were always happy to help and to give some advises to find some nice stuff to do all around.
We were there with our little girl and it was a very good time but also, iIf you look for a romantic place to stay for two or three nights, don’t hesitate, make a reservation.
Christophe.
Bruxelles, Belgium.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Hi Christophe M, thank you so much for the review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We were both born and grew up in this area so are very familiar with it, and can give guests assistance and advise on what trips out might suit your party. We have lots of maps, guide books & local information so guests can make the most of their visit. The very particular geology here makes lots of interesting landscape features like caves & waterfalls, and also nurtures some rare species of flora & fauna. The butterflies and moths are particularly lovely we think and this year we also had some unusual dragon flies.
Thank you for the photographs, you are very kind. Best wishes Caroline & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We really enjoyed the place as it was so convenient for the Beacons. The walking paths to the waterfalls (Sgwd yr Eira etc.) were well worth a visit and only a short car trip to the starting point.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euros J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Hi Euros J, thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to meet you and your family. The big waterfall you can walk behind 'Sgwd yr Eira' is about an hours walk from Beili Helyg, or you can park at the Lamb in Penderyn & walk from there, which takes about 30 mins. There is a forestry marked path from Gwaun Hepste which is a circular walk ( the 4 falls walk) of about 2-3 hours which takes in Sgwd yr Eira along with some other largish waterfalls. We have a self guided circular walk of 10 miles which takes 5 - 6.5 hours which lots of guests do and thoroughly enjoy. The walk has a pub stop half way around, and passes lots of the falls and behind Sgwd yr Eira. We can give guests both shorter and longer walks to see the best of the falls & the local scenery. Best wishes Caroline & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We came here for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it.
The guest house is cosy and comfortable. The area itself is very quiet and peaceful, perfect for a cosy getaway and some beautiful scenic walks.

Mike and Caroline who run the guest house were excellent hosts, friendly and inviting and extremely helpful. They know the area and its many walks very well and loaned us maps and instructions for the walks that we wanted to do. There is a wonderful waterfall walk which we did and enjoyed very much. There are lots of leaflets, guidebooks and maps at the guesthouse for reference.

Parking at the guesthouse is ample- even if the guesthouse is fully booked there's plenty of spaces.

We stayed in the Corn Store which is a lovely light and spacious room with a great view and it's own private entrance (almost like having a balcony- nice for looking at the stars on a clear night).
The room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely comfy bed. The bathroom was clean with a great shower. A nice touch was that everyday some cake was left in our room- really nice to come back to after a day's walking. There was also fresh milk available to put in tea.
The room was equipped with a TV and DVD player and a hairdryer. There was also a shelf of books in the room which was really nice.
The owners do ask that you don't leave wet towels/cups on the wooden furniture, but as there is a heated towel rail, radiator and lots of coasters in the room this is easy to adhere to.

The guest house is next to the owner's house, but there is a very clear distinction between the two. The guest lounge is very homely and cosy with a real log fire, lots of books for guests to read, a TV and a few DVDs. The lounge is fairly big so there is plenty of space for guests to relax even if there's a few people staying there. There is one family room and two double rooms so the guest house never feels too 'busy' even if full of people.
A really useful touch was the communal fridge for use by guests- so you can keep a bit of food and wine there.

Breakfast was included and we had an excellent meal every morning. The vegetarian breakfast was particularly good- highly recommend the Glamorgan sausages!
Mike and Caroline will also provide a packed lunch for a small charge. A full evening meal or a light supper can also be provided for a charge and with a bit of notice.

So what did we like least? There really weren't any negatives to our stay, apart from the fact that we were so sad to leave.



The local area:

The nearest village is Penderyn which has the famous whisky distillery- well worth a visit. There are also two pubs, neither of which serve food but there is lively banter from the locals!

I would recommend that you either come with a car or are prepared to walk some distances if you stay here. If you do not bring a car then I'd recommend that you order an evening meal with Mike and Caroline for two reasons: a) The food is excellent, b) There is not a restaurant serving evening meals within easy walking distance. The nearest is probably the chippy in Hirwuan, which is pretty good value.
If you do bring a car then there are some lovely places to eat approx 10 mins drive away. Some we would recommend are The Country Hotel, The Nant Ddu and The Glancynon (Hirwuan).
There are lots of visitor centre type places in the Brecon Beacons where you can park up for a couple of pounds and go off on walks. There are also nearby towns of Brecon (highly recommended for shopping and food), Abergevenny and Merthyr Tydfil.

Room Tip: The Corn Store has excellent views and it's own separate entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essy_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Hi essy_star, thank you for the lovely ( and comprehensive ) review, you are very kind. It was great to have you choose Beili Helyg as the place to have your honeymoon, and we are thrilled that it ticked all your boxes. As you say the Cornstore is a particularly lovely room, and with it's own door and stairway up to it, means you can just step out into the fresh air, day or night, and drink in the views and peacefulness of the valley, woods and moorland.
We loved having you as guests and enjoyed your company immensely, Good luck and best wishes to you both as you embark on married life together, We hope we gave you a good send off! Mike & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I usually divide my reviews into Pros and Cons. This B&B has a lot of pros and very few cons. The cons are only there as it is my subjective view and it may help to improve the experience for other travellers and may help the owners improve what is already a first class B&B.

Stayed at the Hayloft. Lovely room with a great comfortable bed, but sadly no views. As the windows are all skylights (3 in the room) all you see is the sky (blue or grey) unless you are 7 foot tall. The openings to the skylights are also curtailed to prevent the rain from seeping in so leaves the room a bit stuffy. You can always ask for the skylights to be left open, but you have to ask. The furniture is also very tasteful, antique finish (?) and the refreshments tray is of very good quality. Others have commented on the bathroom shower cubicle of being in the smaller size. A small (!) drawback, but made up for by the very good power shower. Rest of bathroom is spacious. The sleep quality is superb as this is a rural location with no noise and mattress is great.

The road to the B&B is narrow in places so you have to hope that no one is coming the opposite way. A rural inconvenience. Road is narrower towards Pendryn....more manageable to the A470. If you go to the A470 and 2 roundabouts down, there are loads of eateries, fast food, cinema, tescos, shopping with big chains etc (just off the dual carriageway). The sights of Brecon are all easily accessible. There is a lot of information provided in the B&B.

The cons now. The checkin time of 4.00 pm and checkout time of 10:00 am is not very traveller friendly. Furthermore the breakfast time of 7 am to 8:15 am is frankly restrictive. After a hard days walk, a lie in (in such a great bed) is cherished by walkers, especially if the forecast is rain for the next day. To miss breakfast due to a lie in.....not nice!!! The car parking space where you unload the car has few large nettles. I was stung repeatedly. This needs to be cleared.

Lastly, this is an extension of the owners house. Therefore the possessions in there are cherished by the owner. Its upkeep and maintenance remain their primary concern. Therefore you have to abide by the rules of the house. Something to remember when you consider B&B accomodation.

Good base for the brecons. Accomodation is spotless throughout. Its a lovely home. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolly129, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Hi Matt66London, first, thanks for your overall positive rating. We’re a little disappointed that you didn’t take the opportunity to raise any of your perceived cons during your stay or on your departure. Your comments on the site don’t quite bear up with what you said to us when we waved you off, but we always welcome feedback, however retrospective.
We make sure our website is as informative as possible, and truthful and accurate in every respect.
All our three rooms are different and all are clearly photographed and displayed on the accommodation page of our website so people know in advance exactly what they can expect. The Hayloft is an upstairs room, it has three skylight windows and the ceilings slope up to a height of 10ft. The floor space is 15ft 6” x 12ft. The windows let plenty of light in, but yes, you certainly can’t see the gardens from them easily. However I am 5’ 10” and can see the hillside easily. We do provide a huge living room for guests to relax in, with 12ft x 7ft windows looking out over the hills. There is also an outdoor patio you can sit out on to see the spectacular views of the Cadlan valley. Due to the planning restrictions that come with being a 250 year old building in a national park, we aren’t able to knock new windows into the Hayloft. We instead made the most of the high ceilings to put in a romantic looking antique half-tester bed. Many guests choose this room over the others, however we suspect your disappointment may be due to the fact that you originally wanted the Cornstore room but this was already booked.
The skylights can be opened to create a nice through draught which airs the room out. You absolutely do not have to ask permission to open them, all we ask is that when you go out for the day you close them or just leave the vents open. This is for the entirely practical reason that weather in the Beacons is notoriously changeable and there’s a real risk of rain blowing into the room and soaking the floor and possibly guest’s property. We’re sorry you found the room stuffy and wish you’d taken the opportunity to ask us if you were having issues with opening the skylights or using the fan. We’ve had hundreds of guests stay in the Hayloft, without negative remarks being made.
We’re glad you enjoyed the refreshment tray and appreciated the furniture. It was bought specifically for the guest accommodation and we tried to get furniture that was a bit special, antique and of a high quality. We’re not sure why you say its upkeep is our ‘primary concern’. Giving a 4* service and helping people have a great holiday is our primary concern. We really don’t want people to think that they’re coming to stay in a museum of family heirlooms and can’t relax. The barn was converted to be B&B accommodation, it’s totally separate from the main house and guests can enjoy it and make use of it as they like. We’re not too keen on hot coffee cups on the furniture, but I doubt you’ll find any hotel, motel or indeed Travel lodge that rejoices in damages – this is why we have coasters.
Onto the car parking. There are nine car parking spaces in the yard and there were a maximum of three other cars there during your stay. There is a wildlife hedge bordering one portion of the yard, and there are some nettles in there (a favourite for caterpillars), along with honeysuckle, rosebay willow herb, fox gloves, meadowsweet and many other wildflowers. Unfortunately you seem to have chosen to park quite close to it and with the boot against the wall, which with the greatest of respect there was no need to. We have 16 acres of land to manage here and for guests exploring the grounds I’m afraid we cannot guarantee a totally nettle-free experience, although we hope the abundance of butterflies, wildflowers and wildlife make up for it!
As for getting here, the road from Penderyn to Llwyn Onn is a country lane, some short stretches of which are single lane with passing places. There are no restrictions for weight or size of vehicles using it, and we have personally towed a caravan here and had a 30 ft lorry deliver goods.
Finally, the hours. Again, these are all given on the website but we don’t think they’re that exceptional. Breakfast is served on weekdays from 7.15am - 8.30am and on weekends it’s from 8.00am - 9.00am. Most of our guests are keen to be up and out making the most of their precious time away so the breakfast time is usually suitable. We have no objection to you going back to bed after your breakfast, or having just a cereal and toast breakfast at later times. We’re a small-holding and we have other jobs to do during the day, like sorting out the animals, so we have to have some cut-off point for the breakfast service; we’re sorry this interfered with your enjoyment of your stay. As to check out (10am) and check in (any time after 4pm up to 8pm) guidelines, this is in place just so we can have time to get the rooms cleaned to the high standard we like to maintain and do our general daily tasks like shopping etc. If guests need to arrive outside our check in times due to the length of their journey, or travel delays, we always try to accommodate them, we just ask them to let us know so we can plan ahead so one of us can be here to meet them. Guests can drop bags off early or leave them with us while they head out for the day. We try to be as traveller-friendly as we can in this respect.
We’re glad you found so much to like and hope we’ve cleared up those question marks you raised. We try to inform people in advance as much as possible about what we offer and we do our best to offer the best B&B hospitality and information service available in the Beacons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penderyn
2.6 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
12.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,029 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llangattock
378 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Beili Helyg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beili Helyg Guest House

Address: Cwm Cadlan, Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park CF44 0YJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penderyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penderyn
Price Range: £90 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beili Helyg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone farmhouse renovated to an exceptional standard to provide 4* luxurious, spacious en-suite guest accommodation. Separate access so you can come & go as you please. Only 30 mins from M4 but located in a very peaceful valley high in the Brecon Beacons National Park. Walkers & cyclists welcome, drying room & secure cycle store. Excellent walking from the door onto open access land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Beili Helyg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beili Helyg Guest House Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing