We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and tranquillity in the Brecon Beacons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beili Helyg Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Penderyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquillity in the Brecon Beacons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Caroline and Mike's home lies at the head of a tranquil valley in the Brecon Beacons National Park. It's surroundings are peaceful and beautiful. There is access to the moorland from the House and the Beacons are only a short drive away. The accommodation is outstanding - very comfortable, with modern fittings and traditional furniture and there is independent access for guests. Breakfasts were delicious. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmh453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hello mmh453, thank you very much for your lovely review, we were delighted to welcome you to Beili Helyg. I recall you did the walk from the Storey Arms to Brecon along the old coach road. This is one of our favorites, especially with a Sunday lunch at the George, before catching the Beacons Bus back. It would be lovely to see you here again, warmest regards, Mike & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beautiful room with excellent furnishing (only criticism would be that it was perhaps slightly over furnished). Wonderfully comfy bed. Very welcoming hosts and a great breakfast. As others have mentioned there are a lot of notices which are so unnecessary as the location must mean that there are only a certain type of person staying there.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyMarketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear DerbyMarketeer,
Thank you very much for your compliments regarding the comfortable bed, great breakfast and overall good review. We always take on board customers comments to improve our service for the benefit of our guests. Some are out of our control eg. Visit Wales have strict rules concerning furniture quantity and quality to achieve a 4 star grading. I have looked back on previous 50 or so reviews and can only find one other mention made about signage. We will review our signage to see where improvements can be made.
I'm not sure what you mean regarding our location and a certain kind of guest, perhaps you could email us and explain.
I would like to thank you for using Beili Helyg Guest House. It would be a pleasure to welcome you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We arrived on our bicycles soaked to the skin in the middle of a rain storm and were incredibly thankful to receive a warm welcome and an even warmer dry room in which to hang our wet clothes, shoes and panniers before we entered the house proper and spent the rest of the day luxuriating in our cosy room listening to the storm outside. This place is perfect if you're hikers or touring cyclists because it's so well geared up for your needs, including a hearty three course dinner for £20 if you order in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ramblinollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I would recommend this place to anyone looking to visit the Beacons! Mike and Caroline were friendly, welcoming and their knowledge of the local area is second to none. Nothing was too much trouble and the room was spotless with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in! The breakfast was lovely too! Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowri-Nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi Lowri-Nia, thank you so much for the wonderful review, it's really good to know that you had a great time.

When we started providing bed and breakfast, we thought getting the bed and the breakfast as good as could be, was a very important factor. You will not be surprised to know the mattresses are particularly special, and are fantastically comfortable.

Our breakfast ingredients always include local handcut bacon, amazingly tasty welsh sausages, and our own eggs.

With a good night's sleep and an excellent breakfast inside you, you are well set up for exploring and adventuring in the beacons.

It would be lovely to see you again, Best wishes Caroline & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skellingthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I booked a stay here for our anniversary and I can honestley it is the nicest place we have ever stayed. Mike and Caroline make fantastic hosts and you can see the care in the details - from the cakes in the room to the books and maps availabe to use everything is perfect. The view from our room was stunning - as was the room itself. We were greeted with a perfect breakfast each morning and the surrounding area was perfect for our days out.
Hope to return in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Barry M, Wow, what a fabulous review, thank you ever so much. It was great to meet you both and it would be lovely to see you here again. You had the Cornstore I recall which is a very special room for the amazing views over the woods to the hills beyond, and in another direction over the garden and the stream. We try to anticipate what guests will like and appreciate, and it's very gratifying to know when we get it right. Best wishes to you and your family, and thanks again. Mike & Caroline :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kzoo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stumbled upon this wonderful Guest House - a friend of a friend recommended it; we were visiting friends nearby and just needed somewhere to rest our heads. We had no idea Mike and Caroline and the location would be as accommodating and beautiful as they were. We stayed 4 nights, but could have easily stay a month! I cannot say enough great things about Beili Helyg - but here are a few:
1. The room was large, spotlessly clean, quiet and had a picturesque view of a stream. Truly, the bed was more comfortable than any hotel or B & B bed in which we have ever stayed. Not too hard, not too soft, just right.....
2. While we were not at the guest house during the day (when most guests likely enjoy these), a delicious homemade snack was left for us each evening. The Welsh cakes were especially wonderful!
3. Mike and Caroline were engaged and interested in taking time and care with us. They promptly answered any questions about the area and even gave us a tour of the farm. Taking care of the property must be a very time consuming task, but they always made us feel that they had all the time in the world for us.
4. The breakfast was outstanding and memorable. We particularly enjoyed the gooseberry and meadowsweet jam made by Caroline. The eggs were from the farm (chicken or duck, our choice) and the meat was locally sourced. Preparation and presentation was perfect each morning!
I look forward to visiting Wales again and will make sure we spend time at Beili Helyg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bully4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Bully4us, wow, that's a fantastic review, thank you very much. Caroline loves jam making and baking, and guests get to taste her products which seem to be very popular. The welsh cakes are my favorite too.
I remember you really enjoyed your visit to the distillery which is just down the lane, and also a trip to the Welsh Folk Museum at St Fagans, which is an excellent day out- and has free entry which is always a bonus.
I'm so please we were what you were looking for, and it would be splendid to welcome you back in the future.
Warmest regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

An outstanding place to stay in every way. The hosts Mike and Caroline could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The accommodation is great, spacious and immaculate and the breakfasts are of excellent quality. The location of Beili Helyg was perfect for us for a mini break visiting the area for the first time. The house is stunningly situated in total peace and quiet surrounded by natural beauty. The nearby waterfalls exceeded our expectations are are well worth visiting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hi Emma J, thank you so much for your charming review, we absolutely loved having you and your family to stay. I remember you had a very exhilarating swim in pools near the waterfalls; it is indeed very refreshing in the warm weather.

The walks around the waterfalls range from about an hour to an all day adventure, and there are several different grades, and even a wheelchair/ pushchair friendly route from Pontneddfechan. There are numerous idyllic picnic spots along the way, and you sometimes need to make time for a paddle, taking photographs, or sitting and enjoying the sights and sounds of these delightful leafy valleys with streams tumbling over cliffs and rocks.

Many thanks again. Warmest regards Mike & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penderyn
3.1 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llangattock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beili Helyg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beili Helyg Guest House

Property: Beili Helyg Guest House
Address: Cwm Cadlan, Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park CF44 0YJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penderyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penderyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beili Helyg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone farmhouse renovated to an exceptional standard to provide 4* luxurious, spacious en-suite guest accommodation. Separate access so you can come & go as you please. Only 30 mins from M4 but located in a very peaceful valley high in the Brecon Beacons National Park. Walkers & cyclists welcome, drying room & secure cycle store. Excellent walking from the door onto open access land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beili Helyg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beili Helyg Guest House Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing