We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest House.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beili Helyg Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Penderyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Guest House.”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Good location and we found it easy to get here on the GPS. Mike and Caroline are lovely people and nothing was any trouble. We ate here our 1st night and the food was very high quality, tasty and lots of it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rolling_stoneKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi rolling_stoneKent, thank you very much for your very kind review. It was great to meet you both, and we really enjoyed having you to stay. As you pointed out there is loads to do and see here, and we do our best to give guests ideas of what to see in their usually limited time away.

I recall you did the Four Falls walk which is a circular route of about 3 hours, along marked paths, and you get to see 4 of the biggest waterfalls in the area. There is a longer 5-6 hour circular walk which taking in these 4 falls plus the falls along the Neddfechan river, which is very popular for people with a day to spend.

I hope that the photographs turned out well.
Thanks again and warmest regards
Mike & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
120
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a short break here at the end of the half term holidays. Really great and beautiful location, felt really remote even though it's not that far from the A470. Short drive to Waterfall Country, our reason for visiting. Mike and Caroline were always super helpful and friendly, advising on the best places to go whatever the weather and how to get the most out of our little stay. Breakfast was amazing, Caroline's home made cake fantastic and very welcome after a day out and about. Rooms were really clean and comfortable, and the fire in the lounge lovely and warm. Great little boot room for drying clothes etc - very walker friendly. Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi Simon W, thank you very much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you all to stay. The waterfalls are possibly at their best in the autumn as increased rainfall makes the falls even more spectacular, and the woodland around takes on the fantastic colours of the season. It was lovely to meet you all, thanks again, Caroline & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Myself and some other family members recently stayed at this brilliant guest house , it was surrounded by beautiful hills and fields and great places to walk I would highly recommend it to walkers looking for a new exiting place to walk . the guest house was very delightful , The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very neat and clean. All was hygienic . There was a nice big fire place that provided a lot of heat throughout the guest house , I wasn't cold at all throughout my stay. Every morning I was served a delicious cooked breakfast cooked to perfection . Caroline and mike were great hosts very polite and welcoming , very helpful and provided great information to us before we set out on walks and helped plan our routes around the Brecon Beacons. There was a TV in our room , and towels , tea and coffee provided in all rooms . the shower was absolutely brilliant and was far better than every shower I have ever been in ! there was a board with lots of helpful leaflets for information and take away leaflets which was all very helpful. I would highly recommend beli helyg and would love to stay there again in the future because it was so good !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hi Louis M, thank you very much for your generous review. It was lovely to meet you and your family, and we would be delighted to see you again if you are coming this way. I'm glad you enjoyed the room and the shower, I think it's always nice to have a great shower to warm you up, after a day adventuring in the outdoors. Kind regards to you and your family, Caroline & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have recently stayed at Beili Helyg and enjoyed every minute. Caroline and Mike were fab hosts, the beds were very comfortable, breakfast wonderful and all set within a stunning landscape. We based ourselves here for a few days to some of the most amazing waterfall walks. We saw Dippers, red breasted mergansers, barn owl and Tawny owl.

For those of you that are walking in this area, you won't be dissapointed. There is a boot room to dry your gear off, good maps to relate to and good recommendations/info to be had from Caroline and Mike.

Regards to the hosts

Spencer

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitro2zl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Manager at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hello Nitro2zl, thank you very much for the lovely review, and also thank you for telling us what some of the birds were! It's always amazing to have someone who knows what they are talking about to chat to. You and your family were fantastic company and we really enjoyed having you to stay. We have tried to think of everything we would like to have when we go away walking, and provide that at Beili Helyg. The boot and drying room is one of those things. Whatever the weather, if you can put dry clothes and boots on the next day, you can deal with it in comfort.
Thank you again, hope Alton Towers was an exhilarating end to half term.
Mike & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Not much to add after the other rave reviews - what a wonderful find, will recommend. Some of the highlights...
Super helpful and friendly hosts - even when we turned up earlier than we'd said; nothing was too much trouble and they anticipated our every question (sounds cheesy but true), patiently taking us through alternative walking routes for example
Gorgeous location down a lovely lane with walks from the front door into the hills
Separate entrance for guests, with an enormous sitting room full of everything you could want - books, games, maps, sofas..and to top it off, a rather magnificently sited wood burner
A boot room! Fully equipped, down to newspaper for your boots and hangers for your clothes.
Fabulous breakfasts with their own chicken & duck eggs
Oh, and we recommend the local pub at the bottom of the lane. Great fun!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaySpiritLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hello HolidaySpiritLondon, thank you very much for your review. It was lovely to meet you, and we were very grateful for your help rounding up some escapee geese.
Walking from the door is always so refreshing on holiday, so we have several walking routes that do this, one of which takes in the forestry visitor centre for lunch, or alternatively we can provide you with a packed lunch. Our walks can go to the waterfalls and along rivers or over hills, or sometimes a bit of both, and most can be adjusted to suit your time and energy.
Thank you again, kind regards, Mike & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My friends and I had chosen Beili because of its proximity to the Brecons, but boy were we surprised by how wonderful it was! The rooms are so beautifully ornate and elegant, and Caroline and Mike are fantastic and friendly hosts. A very filling and delicious breakfast is provided, and in the evenings you can curl up in front of the fireplace in the cosy lounge. All of us kept talking about how terrific this place is!
Really great experience which made our trip to Wales all the more enjoyable. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The rooms have fantastic beds and are very comfortable. And after a 9 hour hike the powerful shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaWhiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hi AlphaWhiskey, thank you very much for your review. It was lovely to meet you all and welcome you to Beili Helyg. Thank you also for the photos of waterfalls and castles you shared with us - some of which I have added to our trip advisor page. Our lounge with big comfy sofas and the log burner is ideally suited to groups of friends relaxing and chatting at the end of their day. We are delighted that you had such a great time. I think you choose the right time for autumnal waterfall photographs, as after this weekend, I think every tree will be bare.
Warmest regards
Mike & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Caroline and Mike's home lies at the head of a tranquil valley in the Brecon Beacons National Park. It's surroundings are peaceful and beautiful. There is access to the moorland from the House and the Beacons are only a short drive away. The accommodation is outstanding - very comfortable, with modern fittings and traditional furniture and there is independent access for guests. Breakfasts were delicious. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmh453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hello mmh453, thank you very much for your lovely review, we were delighted to welcome you to Beili Helyg. I recall you did the walk from the Storey Arms to Brecon along the old coach road. This is one of our favorites, especially with a Sunday lunch at the George, before catching the Beacons Bus back. It would be lovely to see you here again, warmest regards, Mike & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penderyn
3.1 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
12.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
16.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
584 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beili Helyg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beili Helyg Guest House

Property: Beili Helyg Guest House
Address: Cwm Cadlan, Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park CF44 0YJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penderyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penderyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beili Helyg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone farmhouse renovated to an exceptional standard to provide 4* luxurious, spacious en-suite guest accommodation. Separate access so you can come & go as you please. Only 30 mins from M4 but located in a very peaceful valley high in the Brecon Beacons National Park. Walkers & cyclists welcome, drying room & secure cycle store. Excellent walking from the door onto open access land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beili Helyg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beili Helyg Guest House Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing