We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, well-run facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beili Helyg Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Penderyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, well-run facility”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Two gracious, caring owners who make sure your stay will be enjoyable. Nicely placed for access to Brecon Beacons, the Big Big Coal Mine and the Penderyn single malt distillery. Need to pay attention on the single lane access road but once there, all is well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Geoffrey H, many thanks for the review, we were really pleased to meet you both and enjoyed your company. Our road is a little narrow in places, but there are lots of passing places, and there are no weight or speed restrictions on it. Providing you aren't in a hurry, it's fine. It's worth noting that there are no paint markings or cats eyes, or street lamps on the lane so it is properly dark when there is no moon at night, but the fantastic night skies make up for it. Thank you again. Kind regards, Mike & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
116
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barry, South Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here overnight to do some walking in Brecon and what a lovely find! Just up the road from the Penderyn whiskey distillery, through quite a long B road, you suddenly feel you are well into the Beacons.
Set in stunning scenery and fantastic accommodation which had a truly wonderful lounge with plenty of books, maps and advice on walks from fabulous hosts Mike and Caroline! This was truly a home from home experience, topped with a fantastic breakfast and home made jams and marmalades! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello Chris K, thank you for the lovely review, you are very kind. We are indeed a little of the beaten track, and in the heart of the countryside. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and your walking. We try and provide ideas for all ability walkers, and also ideas of places to discover in the beacons that are less touristy but no less fantastic to visit. Having spent a great deal of our lives here we have quite an in depth knowledge of the landscape and it's secrets which we are happy to share with guests. It would be lovely to see you again. Warmest regards Mike &Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Lovely place, lovely people. We found it easily. We were made to feel very welcome. We had a little tour and saw the animals, the room was a good size and everything was clean and worked well. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello Simon K, thank you for the very kind review, it's always great to know when we are appreciated. You were indeed privileged to see the 7 new goslings as Gladys & Gaddafi are very protective parents. Good luck with your own new arrival and your house move in the next few weeks. Warmest regards Mike & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We found Beili Helyg no problem at all using Google Maps. It's in a very serene location - very peaceful but within driving distance of Methyr Tydfil (20min or so) which was handy for supplies.
The bedroom was spotless and cosy, and the guest lounge was toasty when the fire was going.
It was great to see the stars so vibrantly at night.

Mike and Caroline were very friendly and happy to help, suggesting some beautiful walks and things to see.

Breakfast was generous and well cooked - just what you need if you're going to be walking for a large part of the day.

WiFi didn't work in our bedroom, but was absolutely fine in the lounge. Mobile signal is also a little hit and miss, but there's a phone in the lounge you can use. It is quite nice to get away from emails and Facebook for a while, so this wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A perfect place for the country lover. Mike and Caroline have created a wonderful environment and habitat for wildlife as part of their smallholding. It is fascinating to be shown round. As for the accommodation it could not be better: beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast is wonderful too: bacon from outside reared pigs which is full of flavour, free range eggs, fruit: something to really look forward to in the morning, to set you up for the day and eat with a clear conscience. There are plenty of nearby attractions if the weather is not good and yet it is set in the heart of the quiet countryside giving a sense of remoteness. We spent three enjoyable nights here and we were made very welcome. It's close to astonishingly beautiful walks along nearby waterfalls and wilder moorland. Look no further! In case you think this is over the top, I'd better say that it suits us down to the ground, but if you're a townie and a bit squeamish about nature and not used to putting boots on to get about try a Travellodge in Myrthyr!

Room Tip: The one with the outside steps direct from the room has more views and faces all directions. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sannaugwynion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Hello Sannaugwynion, thank you for the lovely review. Since we came to Beili Helyg 7 years ago we planted quite a few hedges and trees around the house as well as around our field boundaries. We have noticed that this has really increased the numbers of small birds we can see around the garden. We encourage guests to explore the garden and grounds and discover the flora and fauna for themselves. We are indeed away from it all, but we welcome townies and country dwellers alike and are happy to enlighten anyone who is interested in what we do here.

Thank you for your compliments about the breakfasts. We pride ourselves on the quality of our breakfasts and ingredients. We have recently added mackerel and salmon from the Black Mountains Smokery to our menu, alongside the Cig Mynydd bacon, award winning sausages and our own eggs.

Thank you again for your review, We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon. Kindest regards, Mike & Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We found Beili Helyg on a walkers' website . Lovely to be able to leave the car and walk direct from the house.taking advantage of the walk descriptions kindly provided by Mike and Caroline. These were excellent and together with special tips from Mike we had two glorious days walking in very varied countryside. The Cwm Cadlan is a wonderful spot, a real gem.

Beautiful room and very impressed by the build and the green credentials and spirit of the place.

Lovely breakfasts, didn't need much at lunchtime. All tastes catered for. Plenty of fruit, cereals and joghurt even before the cooked part arrives! Also cooked to order.
.
Very relaxed environment, exactly what we wanted. Will certainly return this year or next.

Thanks a lot.

Nice to chat to Mike about the area and the building project.

Room Tip: take one of the rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Hi Helen C, many thanks for the lovely review. We always like to walk from the door when we go away on holidays. Beili Helyg is in such a rural location that you can really walk in any direction from here and see hill tops, prehistoric remains - cairns, a bronze age circle, waterfalls, reservoir, woodland & forestry, moorland, and very interesting geology like caves, limestone pavement, sink and swallow holes and so on. Wherever and whenever you go, the changing colours of the landscape are always fascinating, and the wildlife enthralling. We produced our walking guides for local walks to allow guests to see some of these features without having to spend too much time on their own research, and we were really glad you enjoyed the walks you tried.

It would be delightful to see you both again. Very best wishes,Mike & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I had forgotten how beautiful and delightful it is in 'Breconshire' and at Beili Helyg I really felt at home again - I was born in Cardiff and grew up in the South Wales Valleys some 50 years ago. The sense of peace and freedom and the very warm welcome from Mike and Caroline extended to my wife and I during our recent 3 night stay, made our visit most enjoyable. So relaxing. The additional visit to the nearby Whisky Distillery at Penderyn was no hardship!
Our bedroom was elegant, bright and spotless, as was the en suite. The bed was imposing and very very comfortable. The guest lounge with Open Log Fire was spacious but cosy with unique décor and features, plus board games - we haven't played Dominoes for years!!! Great fun. The other guests from Ruislip were delighted with their latest "find". 'Didn't know it existed,' or Breconshire...
Breakfast was a real treat with all local/home made produce including a selection of home made jams - delicious. All these lovely touches including home made cakes in our room on arrival and of course the location on the moors plus the local "Industrial Revolution" history will bring us back time and again. A gem. PS. Don't forget your walking boots.

Room Tip: Every room a winner and the family room with separate/adjacent single bedroom really works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Paul L, apologies for late response to your fantastic review. Thank you very much. We really enjoyed having you to stay and sharing local reminiscences, and we're glad you had such a great time. Caroline really loves making jams and cake, and luckily our guests really enjoy helping out by eating them. The jam season is just starting again and the rhubarb and ginger will be potted up later today. This is a really lovely part of the world to be in; thank you for helping us spread the word. Warmest wishes, Mike & Carolinr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penderyn
3.1 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beili Helyg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beili Helyg Guest House

Property: Beili Helyg Guest House
Address: Cwm Cadlan, Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park CF44 0YJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penderyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penderyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beili Helyg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone farmhouse renovated to an exceptional standard to provide 4* luxurious, spacious en-suite guest accommodation. Separate access so you can come & go as you please. Only 30 mins from M4 but located in a very peaceful valley high in the Brecon Beacons National Park. Walkers & cyclists welcome, drying room & secure cycle store. Excellent walking from the door onto open access land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beili Helyg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beili Helyg Guest House Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing