We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beili Helyg Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Hotel(Merthyr Tydfil)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Tregenna Hotel(Merthyr Tydfil)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil(Merthyr Tydfil)(Great Value!)
US$65
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
200
17
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeili helygbrecon beaconshome made cakesbeautiful locationbreakfast was deliciouscomfortable bedwarm welcomepen y fanfirst classlocal walksguest loungewoodland walklocal areawonderful placeevery morningfriendly hostsperfect hosts
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Two gracious, caring owners who make sure your stay will be enjoyable. Nicely placed for access to Brecon Beacons, the Big Big Coal Mine and the Penderyn single malt distillery. Need to pay attention on the single lane access road but once there, all is well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi Geoffrey H, many thanks for the review, we were really pleased to meet you both and enjoyed your company. Our road is a little narrow in places, but there are lots of passing places, and there are no weight or speed restrictions on it. Providing you aren't in a hurry, it's fine. It's worth noting that there are no paint markings or cats eyes, or street lamps on the lane so it is properly dark when there is no moon at night, but the fantastic night skies make up for it. Thank you again. Kind regards, Mike & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here overnight to do some walking in Brecon and what a lovely find! Just up the road from the Penderyn whiskey distillery, through quite a long B road, you suddenly feel you are well into the Beacons.
Set in stunning scenery and fantastic accommodation which had a truly wonderful lounge with plenty of books, maps and advice on walks from fabulous hosts Mike and Caroline! This was truly a home from home experience, topped with a fantastic breakfast and home made jams and marmalades! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello Chris K, thank you for the lovely review, you are very kind. We are indeed a little of the beaten track, and in the heart of the countryside. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and your walking. We try and provide ideas for all ability walkers, and also ideas of places to discover in the beacons that are less touristy but no less fantastic to visit. Having spent a great deal of our lives here we have quite an in depth knowledge of the landscape and it's secrets which we are happy to share with guests. It would be lovely to see you again. Warmest regards Mike &Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Lovely place, lovely people. We found it easily. We were made to feel very welcome. We had a little tour and saw the animals, the room was a good size and everything was clean and worked well. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello Simon K, thank you for the very kind review, it's always great to know when we are appreciated. You were indeed privileged to see the 7 new goslings as Gladys & Gaddafi are very protective parents. Good luck with your own new arrival and your house move in the next few weeks. Warmest regards Mike & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We found Beili Helyg no problem at all using Google Maps. It's in a very serene location - very peaceful but within driving distance of Methyr Tydfil (20min or so) which was handy for supplies.
The bedroom was spotless and cosy, and the guest lounge was toasty when the fire was going.
It was great to see the stars so vibrantly at night.

Mike and Caroline were very friendly and happy to help, suggesting some beautiful walks and things to see.

Breakfast was generous and well cooked - just what you need if you're going to be walking for a large part of the day.

WiFi didn't work in our bedroom, but was absolutely fine in the lounge. Mobile signal is also a little hit and miss, but there's a phone in the lounge you can use. It is quite nice to get away from emails and Facebook for a while, so this wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A perfect place for the country lover. Mike and Caroline have created a wonderful environment and habitat for wildlife as part of their smallholding. It is fascinating to be shown round. As for the accommodation it could not be better: beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast is wonderful too: bacon from outside reared pigs which is full of flavour, free range eggs, fruit: something to really look forward to in the morning, to set you up for the day and eat with a clear conscience. There are plenty of nearby attractions if the weather is not good and yet it is set in the heart of the quiet countryside giving a sense of remoteness. We spent three enjoyable nights here and we were made very welcome. It's close to astonishingly beautiful walks along nearby waterfalls and wilder moorland. Look no further! In case you think this is over the top, I'd better say that it suits us down to the ground, but if you're a townie and a bit squeamish about nature and not used to putting boots on to get about try a Travellodge in Myrthyr!

Room Tip: The one with the outside steps direct from the room has more views and faces all directions. If you have a dog in the car that's quite useful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sannaugwynion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hello Sannaugwynion, thank you for the lovely review. Since we came to Beili Helyg 7 years ago we planted quite a few hedges and trees around the house as well as around our field boundaries. We have noticed that this has really increased the numbers of small birds we can see around the garden. We encourage guests to explore the garden and grounds and discover the flora and fauna for themselves. We are indeed away from it all, but we welcome townies and country dwellers alike and are happy to enlighten anyone who is interested in what we do here.

Thank you for your compliments about the breakfasts. We pride ourselves on the quality of our breakfasts and ingredients. We have recently added mackerel and salmon from the Black Mountains Smokery to our menu, alongside the Cig Mynydd bacon, award winning sausages and our own eggs.

Thank you again for your review, We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon. Kindest regards, Mike & Caroline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews