We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful location and hospitable welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beili Helyg Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Penderyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014 with our 22 month old daughter. Mike and Caroline were welcoming from the word go and we immediately settled into our comfortable and spacious family room. We were lucky to get a room with a smaller room adjoining for our daughter, which was perfect.

Recommendations for places to eat and possible day trips were very helpful and we had a great time exploring the local area and the farm itself.

Overall the accommodation was clean, spacious and the breakfasts were delicious - sourced from local suppliers. We would certainly recommend this as a base to explore the Brecon Beacons.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear OhKay,many thanks for your lovely review. it was great to meet you all, and we really enjoyed showing you around the farm and letting you meet the pigs and the poultry and discussing the merits of home made sausages - yum-yum . You had the Stable as a family room which was ideal for your circumstances. I remember you made the most of the sunny weather with a visit to the mountain railway and enjoyed picnicking alongside one of our local streams which are good for little ones to paddle in. Best wishes to you all and good luck with your new arrival, Warmest regards Mike & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband, daughter and I spent a lovely, peaceful weekend in June at Beili Helyg whilst hiking the waterfall trail in the Brecon Beacons. Caroline and Michael have done a wonderful job of converting the old barn and stables of a local farm into a beautiful and ecologically viable B&B. We stayed in the Stables, a three person suite located on the ground floor, composed of a double room, a twin room and bath with gorgeous views of the surrounding fields and hills. The room was impeccably clean, spacious, with very comfortable beds and a wide selection of reading material. Six homemade coconut ginger biscuits graced our night stand along with the fixings for tea and hot chocolate. Breakfast was bountiful: cereal, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, egg, smoked salmon,bacon, sausage, potatoes, toast and homemade jam and jellies. Caroline and Michael maintain a well-stocked file of local maps and trail guides in the two-story guest lounge which are available for guests to borrow and they are more than willing to help you plan your time in the area. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank OPJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear OPJayhawk, many thanks for your kind review. It is always fantastic to know what we do is appreciated.

You has the Stable as a 3 person room, with a double bed in one room and single in the other with a bathroom between. The Stable is particularly good for it's view east over the open moor, and it has a small sitting outdoors area which is great for enjoying the morning sunshine.

We are considering making another outdoor seating area facing west, to enjoy the afternoon sun, but that will be for next spring.

It was delightful to meet you all, Come and visit us again sometime.
Kind regards
Caroline & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Beili Helyg was the perfect out of the way spot to get away from the busyness of everyday life. Caroline was a star helping us work out what it was we wanted to do with our time. And whilst the roads were narrow and winding we knew exactly where we were going with her clear instructions and the aid of the map she lent us. The twin room was spacious, the beds heavenly soft and the pressure in the shower good. The provision of cake on the tray of tea and coffee was a lovely touch and was absolutely delicious.

It was a wonderful weekend away for a couple of friends. I would definitely recommend, and if I was going back to the area Beili Helyg would be at the top of my list.

Room Tip: Our room, upstairs and at the end of the house had a door to the outside with steps down to drive wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello Kate H, thank you so much for your generous review. You had the Cornstore which is a particularly lovely summer room, with the high ceiling and windows facing 3 directions, and it's tiny sit outdoors spot at the top of the stone stair. It's probably the most popular room.

We like to help guests get the most from the their visit; we are happy to lend maps and provide directions and guidance.

It would be lovely to see you here again. Thanks again and kind regards Caroline & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were very impressed by the warm and friendly welcome we received from Caroline and Mike, the accommodation was impressive and spotless, the breakfast was well presented and beautifully cooked. Nothing was too much, we asked for a light supper one evening and they were only too pleased to oblige. Both were charming and we would have no hesitation in highly reccommending this as a home from home and would return gladly if in the area again

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Janis M, thank you for the lovely review. we really enjoyed having you both to stay and give you a warm Welsh welcome! It would be lovely to see you if you are visiting friends this way again.

We are very particular about our ingredients for breakfasts and only use the very best local produce wherever possible. The addition of Black Mountains Smokery salmon to the menu is very popular, as are the home-made vegan potato cakes, even amongst non vegan guests. Luckily we had a good crop of potatoes and leeks this year to keep up the supply.

Thank you again for the review, kindest regards Caroline & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you think of the TV series 'The Good Life' that is how I would describe the ambience and mindset of the two very wonderful owners. Mike and Caroline could not have done anything to make our stay better. Rooms are distinctive and a good size, plenty of space to sit outside the room too. I have anaphylaxis and they took the trouble of sourcing food for me. Bed, food, furnishings all of a high quality. Impeccably clean. They have lots of local knowledge so they recommended a walk which was stunning around the waterfalls. I would recommend that you take a lunch though as when we came across the three pubs mid walk two have very poor hygiene ratings, one states 'Walkers Welcome' then asks you to take off your boots. Mmmm…

We are definitely going back to this Guest House. I cannot recommend it highly enough. I am looking forward to being able to taste and purchase more home grown products from them.

Room Tip: Family room is a good size and the children almost have a little room within yours. We had a loft r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGirl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Happygirl003, thank you very much for your lovely review, it was great to meet you both.

We try and make our guests feel as at home as possible and making sure we weren't feeding you anything you were allergic to was part of that ethos.

We have several waterfall walks of varying lengths and difficulties to offer guests. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the choices of pubs for lunch at Pontneddfechan.

The Angel and the Old White Horse both do splendid meals and are very popular. The Angel used to have a hikers bar at the side which has now been incorporated into the owners accommodation I understand, but there are tables to eat outdoors if you don't want to take your boots off to go inside.

It would be lovely to welcome you back to Beili Helyg. Kindest regards Mike & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent location, clean comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, and friendly helpful hosts - it was really perfect. Quiet sleep, tasty and plentiful food beautifully presented, and loads of local info on hiking, sights, dining, etc. Mike and Caroline have created a wonderful peaceful get-a-way and know how to treat their guests. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smthibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello Smthibs, thank you for your review; you are very kind. We really enjoyed meeting you and making you welcome to this beautiful part of the world. We love having guests from overseas and get to know the world through their experiences, and share our local knowledge with them.
Thanks again, kind regards Mike & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I would highly recommend staying in this beautiful and peaceful guest house.The bedroom was super clean and the bed extremely comfortable best nights sleep ever. The room had amazing views of the countryside and hills.Mike and Caroline were extremely welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast every morning was to die for beautiful homemade bread and everything organic straight from their farm. We would definitely love to come back here it's 100% the best place I've ever stayed.Thanks again for a wonderful stay hope to see you again in the near future..Peter and Lorna.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kentsamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeiliHelyg, Owner at Beili Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello Kentsamurai, what a fun couple to have to stay, We were very enthused at your energy and vigour, you made us want to come out and walk and swim with you.( Not sure about jumping off waterfalls though). Thank you particularly for the video you made which I have added to my twitter account!
We really enjoyed your company, and it would be wonderful to see you here again.
Warmest regards
Mike & Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penderyn
12.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
15.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llangattock
376 reviews
8.6 mi away
Craig-y-Nos Castle
Craig-y-Nos Castle
#1 of 3 in Penycae
1,214 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 45 in Brecon
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beili Helyg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beili Helyg Guest House

Address: Cwm Cadlan, Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park CF44 0YJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penderyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penderyn
Price Range: £89 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beili Helyg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone farmhouse renovated to an exceptional standard to provide 4* luxurious, spacious en-suite guest accommodation. Separate access so you can come & go as you please. Only 30 mins from M4 but located in a very peaceful valley high in the Brecon Beacons National Park. Walkers & cyclists welcome, drying room & secure cycle store. Excellent walking from the door onto open access land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Beili Helyg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beili Helyg Guest House Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing