We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Orkneylodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orkneylodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Luckily for us they'd had a no show when we arrived there so we were able to get a room.
The rooms were spacious and very clean.
I wasn't expecting the little touches that made it so comfortable,ensuite bathroom tea and coffee facilities and a small decanter of wine.
We ordered a cooked breakfast and there was also choice of cereals and fresh fruit!
Overall a great little place to stay with very friendly service.
I would definitely recommend this accomodation

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Shireen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    48
    7
    13
    3
See reviews for
38
89
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here last year during our very first trip to the Orkney Islands. We were both pleased with our stay and the room. Very clean, good standards and lots of space. A quiet place which was exactly what we wished for and no noisy "British Pubs" around! Great place to start off from if your main interests in the Orkney's are hiking, solitude and visiting nearby historical sights.

Houton Bay Lodge is located close to the ferry terminal so it's easy to access the Southern part of Hoy Island (Lyness). Stagecoach busses also stop here (Stromness - Kirkwall).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lyso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Orkneys were the highlight of our 3 week drive around Scotland. We (2 couples) arrived without bookings and Houton Bay Lodge found 2 rooms for us for 3 consecutive days. The location (a former sea plane base, between two of the main towns on the main island) was great, the rooms were clean and spacious and the hospitalty was excellent. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a base to explore the northern islands.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Just as in 2012, we had an excellent stay at the Houton Bay Lodge. We had the honeymoon suite, just like last time. It was a great room, comfortable bed, lots of space, enough points to allow us to recharge our equipment and free wi fi. The shower we were told can be a little difficult but it delivered hot water just as it should. My wife and I loved the room. It was quiet and the view, despite what some say was fine. A view up to the house where the Royals stay, vacant fields and yes a view of horses. Just what I would expect in a rural environment.
Perhaps the truly strong point of the stay were the hosts, Lynda and Alfie. They make you feel at home, are quick to assist with advice on where to go and always eager to please. We had a number of great chats and found both to have a sense of humour and great conversation.
The breakfast that was offered each morning was perfect for our needs. The choice was good and the hot meal well cooked.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and intend when we next visit to use the Houton Bay Lodge as our home away from home.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I had always wanted to go to Orkney and looked forward to our visit there. Unfortunately we did not book long before our trip and consequently found our choice of accommodation limited, I would recommend planning well in advance to get a decent place to stay. We ended up staying at Houton Bay Lodge. We were so disappointed with the accommodation we left a day early, after two nights there not wanting to face a third. As a B & B it failed to please on both accounts. The mattress was hard and the rubber under sheet, insulting, sweaty and rustled. As a four poster bed it failed to be romantic or even give a restful nights sleep. It felt like a camp bed with a canopy. The breakfast was served in what appeared to be a pool room/ dance floor, with the breakfast cereals on the cloth covered pool table. I found the breakfast average, my husband couldn't eat his microwaved poached eggs and was put off greatly by the offer of the underdone bacon, which he had asked not to have, being offered anyway as 'it would only be a waste and be given to the cat'! The residents lounge was really off putting, housing bizarrely a mask, pair of rubber gloves and some strange implements we couldn't make out what they would be used for! On arrival our hearts sank when we saw the huge concrete 'garden' surrounding the building, more disappointment was to come, when we saw the view from our room, more concrete and a huge pile of black bin bags piled up. There was the interest of looking as the horses in their brick shack, though I was surprised to see the 'chef' coming out of there in his kitchen jacket, one morning and jumping the gate in his rush to get back to cooking the breakfast. We were so depressed by the room that we stayed out as late as we could. It was a strange mix of strangeness - tartan, niceties such as a very small chiller (too small to fit a bottle of wine in), one bathroom robe, one bath towel and one large hand towel, wifi that was very slow, a desk and office chair (the office chairs were also dotted about else where in the hotel, which didn't do much for a holiday feel about the place) a difficult shower, wash hand basin away from the loo/ small bathroom, next to the desk and strangely with all these low points, a small 'decanter' with some sherry in it. It felt that the owner was trying hard to put in facilities that may tick boxes, but didn't really understand that the quality needs to be there too for guests to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
I am sorry you said a hotel can't spoilt your holiday. A holiday is what you make of it. Your room was very clean and had many extra facilities such as FREE Wi fi and a Chrystal Decanter full of Quality Sherry with Chrystal Sherry Gasses. Locally made Shortbread Complimentary on your Tea and Coffee tray.You booked your accommodation with Booking.com. You indicated on your booking form that there was just one person coming to stay at Houton Bay Lodge. You also advised Bookings.com that this was a business trip. The room you received was set up for one person in accordance to the completed form you personaly had completed. The room you described in your review is not the room you were given. The room you had was called Shapinsay which had recently just been fully redecorated and refurbished. This room had a four poster bed with a memory foam mattress recently purchased from a local shop in Stromness. This room has been mentioned as Room 5 in Lonely Planet. Not once but twice in the duration of being a letting room by the owners of Houton Bay Lodge. The mini cooler in the rooms are designed for to chill medication or keep baby milk chilled. Houton Bay Lodge at this time you stayed here had a fully function bar ad Restaurant. There was nothing wrong with your room in any way you just wanted to leave early. Your contract was with Bookings.com not Houton Bay Lodge, we could not cancel your contract that was not with us. Our staff fully tried to explain this to you whilst you were shouting for the Manager, that was not available at the time you came to reception. The fact you told our staff you were going to give us a bad review on Tripadvisor because I was not available is not nice.

However, as you were advised then and I advise you again, if you book accommodation with an Agency then the Accommodation Supplier can't change what you have booked only the Agency can change your booking. Bookings.com have in many establishments 48 hours cancellation policy therefor our staff could not consent to you leaving one day early without paying as your contract was with Bookings.com not Houton Bay Lodge. Thank you for your review Houton Bay Lodge Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We just returned from a fantastic stay on Orkeny at the Houton Bay Lodge. The location is perfect - the ferry port to Hoy is directly across from the hotel, and the main villages of Kirkwall and Stromness are easily accessible via car.

Rooms are above-average in terms of size and amenities, and the beds were very comfortable.

We travelled as a group and Lynda, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful. From booking taxis to recovering lost property, we always felt looked after.

The area is quiet and perfect for a relaxing holiday - I was able to catch up on reading some books.

Do plan ahead - the bar/restaurant at the hotel is not in use (beyond breakfast) so you will need to use the facilities in Stromness and/or Kirkwall for pubs, restaurants, etc. The first night we booked a taxi which worked out quite well, and Lynda is always available for help.

All in all, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank jimu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
931 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We booked through Booking.com and the room was £125. It has to be paid in cash so be prepared! The room was a good size, lots of storage and plug points and free wireless. There is also a games room/lounge for use. Breakfast was nice and Linda was very helpful with planning places to see and where/when to visit. It's just that £125 seems a lot of money for one nights sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2015
Thank you for your review. On arrival you were advised we do not take Credit Cards r Debit Cards, this information is in each room for your information also in reception for your convenience. We asked you if you would like the family room that you had booked at the price of £125 per night that sleeps four persons. Two adults and two children or our very Luxurious Honeymoon Room. You choose the Honeymoon Room as you were traveling for work and had decided on this trip to bring your beautiful wife with you. You said you preferred the Honeymoon room to the Family room as your work was paying for the room anyway as you had your wife with you. You personally had booked your accommodation with Bookings.com also you had booked a family room. We are sorry we can't decide what type of room you choose to purchase from Bookings.com and what price you choose to pay. As the Accommodation provider in this case. We gave to the best room in the house and we also served you a Complimentary Cooked Scottish Breakfast Free of charge and at No extra cost to yourself which is valued at £9 each. As the room you had booked was a Family room that Sleeps four persons with NO Breakfasts included in the price. So the information you have provided in your review is incorrect and makes Houton Bay Lodge sound expensive when you booked this room with Bookings.com at a price you knew would be charged on leaving. Also on your bookings form and on Bookings.com website also your confirmation from Bookings.com, advises you we only take cash on leaving that we do not take credit cards or debit cards. You never booked this accommodation with Houton Bay Lodge, therefor any mistakes made here are your own, and are not the fault of Houton Bay Lodge. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
9.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
314 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
356 reviews
10.6 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
196 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
164 reviews
9.8 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orkneylodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orkneylodge

Property: Orkneylodge
Address: Houton | on the Scapa Flow, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland (Formerly Houton Bay Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Orkneylodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houton Bay Lodge is in a rural, farming area also coastal on the Scapa Flow. 1 Mile from The Bu and Viking Center in Oprhir. Many coastal and rural walks. Ferries going to the South Islands near and there are 5 return trips to Hoy and Flotta most days except Sataurday/Sunday when there are only three trips per day. Requires a car. Nearest village Orphir 1.5 miles to nearest seasonal restaurant. 8 Miles to nearest city Kirkwall. 8 Miles to nearest town Stromness. 5 buses per day. No restaurant or bar on premises. We are an accommodation provider similar to Travelodges or Premier Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orkneylodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orkneylodge Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing