We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and welcoming place to stay.”
Review of Orkneylodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orkneylodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Linda, Alfie and staff made us feel so welcome during our stay. Their knowledge of the local area helped us find our way around the island with no difficulty. The lodge itself was perfect. Our room was a high standard with a lovely view towards Hoy. A TV/DVD player, fridge, sherry. Reclining chair with a footstool all made for a comfortable stay in the evenings. The breakfast selection was varied with numerous selection of cereals, fresh fruit, ham and cheese.

Having read some of the negative reviews about the lodge I wonder if the people were in the same place as us as I could not fault Linda the owner for her first class service and would recommend Houton Bay Lodge for anyone considering visiting Orkney.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel has the best view. We asked for this and had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Milton1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

My family and I stayed there for three nights on our first trip to Orkney. Lynda and Alf were the perfect hosts. They were always on hand to answer queries and could not have been more helpful. We were given a spacious and well-appointed family room with en-suite. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and we slept very well before big days exploring! My husbands and kids had a tasty cooked breakfast every morning while I enjoyed a lovely Continental breakfast. Houton Bay Lodge is in a great location with beautiful sea views and a great base for exploring the islands. We would highly recommend to others and we will definitively be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sonia3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

made very welcome at check-in, room was very comfortable and well stocked with extras breakfast and service very good only down side no bar available.
If weather is bad make sure you have a good book or kindle not much to see or do in Houton. Hotel is well-situated for ferry service to Hoy also if arriving at Stromness or St Margarets Hope

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jimmy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked last minute and had a limited choice as a result.We would never choose to stay at this place again and would not recommend it to anyone. Food quality poor, surroundings frankly depressing. We are staggered by the good reviews, haven't people stayed anywhere better than this? Quirky?... it certainly is, and poor value for money. Avoid unless you have no choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Allyson989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thinking_of_y0u, Owner at Orkneylodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Sorry you did not like Houton Bay Lodge. Our property is freshly decorated every year for the start of each season. This year we also purchased new bed linen and towels (Large bath towels and hand towels) also Houton Bay Lodge was fully decorated throughout the whole building. We purchased new beds for our family rooms and added new linen, bed runners and coasters made by hand in Black Watch tartan. We supply fresh breakfast every day to our guests wishing breakfast. We serve freshly purchased, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, and many other fresh berries in season, fresh melon, fresh grapes assorted types, fresh pineapple, fresh bowl of assorted fruits, cakes and muffins also Orkney cheese, honey roasted ham and baby tomato's, as well as fresh yoghurts assorted flavours including natural yoghurt. We stock at least 8 different kinds of breakfast serials Corn flakes, Wheatabix, Special K, Muesli, Alphine, Rice Crispies, Coco Pops, just to mention a few. Fresh milk, fresh orange and a wide choice of teas and herbal teas, coffee, hot chocolate and freshly made white brown or seeded bread or mixed toast delivered to your chosen table. Our building was built 11 years ago so is a very new building. If you wish to contact us to discuss your review further then please do so. We refresh every room every day with fresh toilet paper, tea, coffee and sherry and anything else the room requires for our guests comfort. Our building was built 11 years ago so is a very new building. We hope you had a safe journey home and will be happy to discuss and thing you would like to discuss with us about Houton Bay Lodge. There are many pictures on Houton Bay Lodge what it is like inside and out. Tripadvisor and all the other companies we work with have available, photographs for any guest wishing to see what Houton Bay Lodge is like inside and out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had a great time at the Houton Bay Lodge. The owners Lynda & Alf were the perfect hosts. Full of local information. Nothing was a bother to them and went out of their way to make my short stay fantastic. Their young assistant Daniel was also a very polite and good natured young man and also extremely helpful. The rooms at the Houton were very spacious with ensuite which was great. The room was kept to an excellent high standard with lovely fresh bed linen and not to forget the comfy bed. I really loved the little nick nacks in the room, the sherry decanter,Orkney tablet etc such a nice touch. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were so lucky to find this super hotel, which boasts excellent sea views towards Hoy and lots of interest with the adjacent small harbour. Everything is spotless and the breakfasts were excellent. Lynda, our hostess, was extremely welcoming with a lovely quirky sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and we would recommend it to anyone wanting a central location to explore the beautiful Orkneys.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room with the fantastic sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Everything was fine, best as expected. The owners were very kind and helpful and made us feel like at home. The ubication is in a quiet and beautiful place, far from the noise of the town, but you always can reach Kirkwall by car in barely 10-15 minutes We went in a 7-days stay for travelling around the Orkneys' pre-historical settlements and wanted a nice place to rest, Houton Bay Lodge was completely awesome for that purpose. And they serve good quality beer in the evening bar! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ricardo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
9.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
378 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
215 reviews
9.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
132 reviews
9.6 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
168 reviews
10.2 mi away
Murray Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Murray Arms Hotel and Restaurant
#4 of 6 in St Margaret's Hope
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orkneylodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orkneylodge

Address: | next to the South Isles Ferry terminal, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland (Formerly Houton Bay Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range: £73 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orkneylodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Houton Ferry Terminal in the village of Orphir on mainland Orkney, Orkneylodge is modern, all one level, house with free Wi-Fi access along with free on-site parking. Each of the rooms at Orkneylodge include a flat-screen TV with many channels and an en-suite shower room. Guests can enjoy a sea view or garden view from all our front rooms and Grindley Castle and Farm land from the rear of our building. Other facilities offered include a large conservatory with sea views also the Scapa Flow, Marine life and shipping lane on the Scapa Flow. From Orkneylodge, Scapa Flow is a 1 min walk away, the centre of the Village of Orphir is 1.5 miles away, if you like fishing the Loch of Kirbister is 5 miles away and the town of Kirkwall is a 16-minute drive away. Kirkwall Airport is 24 minutes' journey by car. The Bu round church and Orkney Inga Saga Centre 1.5 miles . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orkneylodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orkneylodge Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing