We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 night stay in Buxa Farm Chalets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 night stay in Buxa Farm Chalets”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights in the middle chalet recently. The accommodation is spacious, clean and very well equipped. Kathy, the owner, made us feel very welcomed from the beginning (she was even kind enough to come find us after getting lost on a trying to find the place!). The location itself is excellent with superb views across to Hoy. The main shops of Kirkwall are less than 30 minutes away by car. We left feeling totally relaxed and can't wait to go back sometime.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hickie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Glad I was able to find you and help you get to your chalet! Happy to hear you had a relaxing stay once you got to Buxa and took time out once you got home to write a review. It sounds like you enjoyed everything on offer and we hope that you do come back hopefully for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Twelve of us stayed for two weeks in late July 2013 in the three Buxa Cottages near Orphir, Mainland, Orkney. This accommodation is superb and cannot be recommended highly enough. All three cottages are furnished and equipped to the highest standard. They are spacious, exceptionally clean and all have superb views over the water to Hoy. There is even a short-eared owl resident in the vicinity. The cottages have their own garden and barbeque area and a few minutes walk takes one to a small beach.
The cottages are very central on the Mainland which means that one can reach any part by car within 45 minutes. Also, Stromness is only 15 minutes drive away and Kirkwall 30 minutes.
The owner, Kathy, and her husband could not do enough for us. They left us undisturbed to enjoy the accommodation but would quickly arrive if requested.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiremba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Buxa Chalets are ideal for large groups as everyone can gather together and enjoy each other's company in the garden and barbeque area and then retire to their own chalets. Each chalet is identical so no one misses out on any furnishings or equipment. So happy that you enjoyed your stay and recommend to others. We do our best to personally welcome everyone that arrives but respect the fact that you are indeed "getting away from it all" and leave you to it! Please come back and visit us again either individually or as a group you are most welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Buxa Farm Chalets offer a beautiful self catering retreat near Orphir in Orkney. The accommodation has everything to provide a comfortable stay - bed linen, towels, a fully kitted out kitchen plus everything you need for the small people. In our case a booster seat and cot although a baby bath and high chair were also available. There are also laundry facilities provided - very useful as our little one is potty training. Buxa Farm Chalets has won a Child Friendly Award with a play area provided, a pitch and putt plus a box of toys to borrow from. The accommodation also had dvds and books (both adult and children's). There is a beach a couple of minutes walk from the chalet and also a bird watching hut, which our little one used as a play house!

Enjoy the beautiful views of Hoy with the complimentary wine and Orkney fudge. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay to anyone visiting Orkney but as a bonus it was particularly easy place to stay with children too. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were in the end chalet and had views on both the side and front of the chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are the first accommodation provider in Orkney to achieve the VisitScotland Children Welcome Award. We truly feel that happy children make happy parents and have done everything we can to make Buxa a child friendly holiday destination. We are pleased that you enjoyed everything we had on offer and we can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just returned from a fabulous relaxing week at this lodge and we were not disappointed! Excellent facilities combined with stunning views over scapa flow and an abundance of local wildlife on your doorstep. Our 8 year old son loved the outdoor play area and mini golf. My husband was blown away by the bird watching and opportunities for great wildlife photography. I was entranced by the amazing sunsets and ever changing Orkney skies. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Glad to hear that you all enjoyed the many different aspects that Buxa has the offer: the stunning scenery and facilities, the abundance of wildlife and the Child Friendly Facilities. We just put in the putt putt course a couple of weeks ago and it is great to see people enjoying it. Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What a wow factor when you turn down the drive to this place and it just keeps getting better as you enter and see the fabulous accomodation. Perfect central location for Stromness and Kirkwall as well for exploring the amazing sights and wildlife spots around the island. Lovely and warm and cosy when the wind gets up outside, but when its good weather you can sit out on the patio or play on the ample grass area front and back. Its secluded enough from the chalets as on this occasion we came on our own so didn't know the other familes in the chalets but it was lovely and quiet. Enjoy watching the resident hares, hen harriers and short owls. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madamcholet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Wow, what a great review. Happy to hear you enjoyed all the ammenities of the croft house and the entertaining wildlife. Many people tell us they enjoy just "hanging out" and for this reason we just put in a new 9 hole putt putt course and bought a lawn croquet set. It's great to have the option of exploring all Orkney has to offer but it is just equally as great to stay at Buxa and just relax! We hope you will come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeppoon, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our first visit to the wonderful Orkney Isles was enhanced by staying at Buxa Farm Chalets. The chalet was so comfortable & well equipped for all our needs, the view was superb and location was ideal for travelling around the island to all the interesting historical sights, crafts & nature's delights.So peaceful looking across the water to Hoy & Stromness plus the birds and cattle grazing nearby. Owners were welcoming, helpful, enthusiastic but not intrusive - the ideal mix!
John & Phyllis Yeppoon,Qld, Australia

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phyllis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you, we are delighted you enjoyed everything we have worked hard to achieve. The best compliment we have received so far though is your comment that we were not obtrusive. We are very much aware that people want to "get away from it all" and we do our best to give a warm welcome, get everyone situated, answer questions, leave contact details.....and then disappear! Our guests are told we are only a phone call or e-mail away and we live just 4 miles down the road if they need anything ; but we don't like to hover around are guests when they are trying to enjoy their alone time! So glad you appreciated the effort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have just returned from 2 great weeks in this lovely chalet and would heartily recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday and a warm welcome It is beautifully situated overlooking the hills of Hoy and comfortable enough to make it hard to tear yourself away from the views especially of you are like us keen on watching the abundant wildlife. We were captivated by the short eared owl who hunted around the cottage and the hares which were daily visitors. It was our first visit to Orkney but wont be our last!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithK767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation to stay at Buxa. We are so pleased that you enloyed a relaxing two week holiday and were captivated by the views and wildlife. We hope that you will be back to explore more of what Orkney has to offer and use us as a base in which to do so! Most of our visitors are return visitors so please e-mail as soon as you know your holiday dates are for next year. We already have 12 bookings for next year and we wouldn't want to disapoint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
9.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
314 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
356 reviews
10.6 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Orphir
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 7 in Orphir
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House

Property: Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Address: Westrow Lodge, Orphir KW17 2RE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW- 1st Accommodation Provider in Orkney to achieve "Children Welcome Award!" Three Norwegian style semi-detached chalets situated on the A964 between Houton and Stromness in Orphir. Waterfront property on 20 acres of unspoiled land with stunning panoramic views. The chalets are developed to a VisitScotland four star standard, are open all year round, and offer accommodation for four people in each unit. Includes ample parking, living area with views to Scapa Flow, open kitchen, 2 bedrooms (can be double or twin) and bath with overhead shower. A colour television, refrigerator/freezer and washer/dryer come as standard. All electric, linens, towels etc. are included. Visit Scotland 4 star grading. NEW Sympathetically renovated derelict croft house with natural wood extension. Underfloor heating beneath original slate floors ensures that the house is always cosy. Energy efficient solar panel guarantees hot water on demand. Accommodation spread over one floor includes an entrance vestibule with built in seated bench and ample coat hooks for outdoor gear. A stunning lounge and dining room with multi-fuel stove and large screen television with Freeview and Blu-ray player. There is an adjoining double bedroom with multi-fuel stove and en-suite shower room. The spacious eat-in kitchen has built in window seats to enjoy the glorious view of the sea and hills of the neighboring island of Hoy. The kitchen incorporates a variety of quality integrated appliances and an additional television with built in DVD player. Large patio doors from the kitchen lead out to a paved patio area with large picnic table for "al fresco dining" while enjoying the glorious sunsets over Scapa Flow and Stromness. There are two more bedrooms both benefiting from built-in wardrobes. The "kids" room has two bunk beds sleeping four with an additional cot available. The master has a double bed that looks out to Scapa Flow through large patio doors leading to the paved patio. The modern family bath is fully fitted including shower over bath. Sleeps 2-8 people comfortably. Linens and towels included. Free Hi-speed satellite WIFI in all chalets and croft house. Childrens play area with swings, slide, climbing wall, tower and boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing