We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buxa Farm Chalets
Nearby Hotels
Stromness Hotel(Stromness)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
West End Hotel(Kirkwall)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ayre Hotel(Kirkwall)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Hotel(Kirkwall)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kirkwall Hotel(Kirkwall)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Ola Hotel(Kirkwall)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Creel B&B(St Margaret's Hope)
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
201
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroft housethe kitchenscapa flowself cateringring of brodgarskara braewonderful holidaycomfortable chaletfudgelaundry roompitch and puttall mod consbottle of winestunning viewsoystersclimbing frameperfect base
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Perfect location for holiday with young child. Chalet was perfectly equipped and everything had been thought of. We chose it for bike storage facilities and children play area. Views are magnificent and the location is perfect for touring Orkney. The welcome starts before arrival with helpful emails both before and during the visit. Definitely recommend and would return on future visits to Orkney.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Redtiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We have worked hard to achieve our Children Welcome and Bikers Welcome Awards and it is good to see the ammenites provided are appreciated by our guests. Look forward to seeing you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent standard of accommodation, with everything you need and more. Very clean and with good quality linens, crockery etc. Outstanding location with wildlife right on your doorstop - owls, hares and lots of interesting birds when we were there last week. Beautiful views you would never get bored of gazing at. Just wonderful and a most enjoyable time had by the four of us

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

So happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay! Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

In short: location, facilities, booking process could not have been better. If you are looking for self catering accommodation on Orkney with all mod cons, a fantastic sea view, wildlife you can see from your window, this is the place. There were some spectacular sunsets over Scapa Flow during our stay and we were undoubtedly fortunate with the weather... 7 days of sunshine CAN happen in this part of the world.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank KenfitlikeMcKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review and really happy that you enjoyed all that was on offer. We were indeed fortunate with the weather - there is no better place to be than Orkney when this happens! Hope to see you all back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had an awesome experience staying in the Croft House. The property is extremely well appointed and comfortable. Wonderful views, clean, beautifully decorated, everything new and working properly.Of particular note was the inclusion of household staples, so helpful when renting a place. We stayed while St Magnus festival was on and experiencing Shostakovitch being performed in a cathedral ( pardox?) was a highlight. If you haven't been to Orkney make the effort, it is a must-do. I was overwhelmed by the place, scenery, wildlife and photographic opportunities. Way more than expectations. Loads to do too, if you are undecided.. just do it!
I could not recommend Buxa more highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revandyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

It sounds like you had a lovely time in the Croft House and in Orkney. Thank you for all your observations. Making it to Orkney is a bit of an effort but well worth it as there is loads to do for such a small place. Appreciate your recommendations and hope to see you back again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Accommodation excellent everything you could possibly require to self cater. Views across to Hoy amazing. Wildlife to be seen just outside includes hares, owls, curlews and (rather noisy) oyster catchers!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank togneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

I told those oyster catchers to tone it down but obviously they didn't listen! Seriously, very happy you appreciated the abundance of wildlife just outside the door. It is something we advertise but definitely something you need to see (and hear!) to believe. Thank you for your review and please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews