We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets. Heather and Bob Ross-shire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Certificate of Excellence
Avoch Ross-shire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As good as it gets. Heather and Bob Ross-shire”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Buxa chalets are located on the western shore of the Orkney Mainland looking out on the Bring Deeps where you can watch the boats taking divers to view the remains of the German Fleet which were scuttled in 1918 you can also watch the ferry come and go from Stromness the town to the north plus the sun on the Hoy hills to the west, and the wild life just outside your window and all around. A great place to relax and listen to the curlew and oyster catcher.
The accommodation is very comfortable and extremely well kitted out. Kathy and Keith are very welcoming and helpful and keep you informed on local activities by email each evening.
We had our family with two grand children next door for part of the time and they loved the inquisitive calves in the fields next door they also had a great game of putting.
There was nothing we did not like and had a wonderful holiday and hope we can stay at Buxa when next we return to Orkney.

Room Tip: The chalet to the north has more windows and therefore you can see more. the WiFi signal is excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Buxa Chalets. It sounds like you really enjoyed the views from your chalet. Many people tell us we have the best views in Orkney and come back year after year for that very reason - extremely relaxing! The chalets are ideal for visiting familes as they each get their own space and yet are close enough to spend time together. The chalets on each end have the exact same amount of windows, the choice is which direction you want to look to. The middle chalet has no windows on the side but has bay windows to the sea looking out to both directions offering panoramic views. Happy to hear you appreciated, as many others, our hi speed satellite wifi- this seems to be a more and more important necessity for visitors. We look forward to having you all back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
52
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Buxa Farm Chalets was the ideal honeymoon setting. The chalet was clean, extremely well equipped with everything we needed. The views were amazing and the visiting wildlife a delight to see particularly the short eared owl which we saw each day. The chalet was quite central to a lot of fantastic places of interest such as the Ring of Brodgar and Maeshowe. We had a fabulous time and will definitely come back. Thank you Kathy :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hazel062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I am delighted that you chose Buxa Farm Chalets for your honeymoon and enjoyed the chalet, scenery and location. Hopefully we will see you back for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Perfect location for holiday with young child. Chalet was perfectly equipped and everything had been thought of. We chose it for bike storage facilities and children play area. Views are magnificent and the location is perfect for touring Orkney. The welcome starts before arrival with helpful emails both before and during the visit. Definitely recommend and would return on future visits to Orkney.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Redtiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We have worked hard to achieve our Children Welcome and Bikers Welcome Awards and it is good to see the ammenites provided are appreciated by our guests. Look forward to seeing you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent standard of accommodation, with everything you need and more. Very clean and with good quality linens, crockery etc. Outstanding location with wildlife right on your doorstop - owls, hares and lots of interesting birds when we were there last week. Beautiful views you would never get bored of gazing at. Just wonderful and a most enjoyable time had by the four of us

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
So happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay! Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

In short: location, facilities, booking process could not have been better. If you are looking for self catering accommodation on Orkney with all mod cons, a fantastic sea view, wildlife you can see from your window, this is the place. There were some spectacular sunsets over Scapa Flow during our stay and we were undoubtedly fortunate with the weather... 7 days of sunshine CAN happen in this part of the world.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KenfitlikeMcKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review and really happy that you enjoyed all that was on offer. We were indeed fortunate with the weather - there is no better place to be than Orkney when this happens! Hope to see you all back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had an awesome experience staying in the Croft House. The property is extremely well appointed and comfortable. Wonderful views, clean, beautifully decorated, everything new and working properly.Of particular note was the inclusion of household staples, so helpful when renting a place. We stayed while St Magnus festival was on and experiencing Shostakovitch being performed in a cathedral ( pardox?) was a highlight. If you haven't been to Orkney make the effort, it is a must-do. I was overwhelmed by the place, scenery, wildlife and photographic opportunities. Way more than expectations. Loads to do too, if you are undecided.. just do it!
I could not recommend Buxa more highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revandyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
It sounds like you had a lovely time in the Croft House and in Orkney. Thank you for all your observations. Making it to Orkney is a bit of an effort but well worth it as there is loads to do for such a small place. Appreciate your recommendations and hope to see you back again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Accommodation excellent everything you could possibly require to self cater. Views across to Hoy amazing. Wildlife to be seen just outside includes hares, owls, curlews and (rather noisy) oyster catchers!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank togneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I told those oyster catchers to tone it down but obviously they didn't listen! Seriously, very happy you appreciated the abundance of wildlife just outside the door. It is something we advertise but definitely something you need to see (and hear!) to believe. Thank you for your review and please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
7.8 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
9.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 7 in Orphir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
8.4 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Orphir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House

Property: Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Address: Westrow Lodge, Orphir KW17 2RE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW- 1st Accommodation Provider in Orkney to achieve "Children Welcome Award!" Three Norwegian style semi-detached chalets situated on the A964 between Houton and Stromness in Orphir. Waterfront property on 20 acres of unspoiled land with stunning panoramic views. The chalets are developed to a VisitScotland four star standard, are open all year round, and offer accommodation for four people in each unit. Includes ample parking, living area with views to Scapa Flow, open kitchen, 2 bedrooms (can be double or twin) and bath with overhead shower. A colour television, refrigerator/freezer and washer/dryer come as standard. All electric, linens, towels etc. are included. Visit Scotland 4 star grading. NEW Sympathetically renovated derelict croft house with natural wood extension. Underfloor heating beneath original slate floors ensures that the house is always cosy. Energy efficient solar panel guarantees hot water on demand. Accommodation spread over one floor includes an entrance vestibule with built in seated bench and ample coat hooks for outdoor gear. A stunning lounge and dining room with multi-fuel stove and large screen television with Freeview and Blu-ray player. There is an adjoining double bedroom with multi-fuel stove and en-suite shower room. The spacious eat-in kitchen has built in window seats to enjoy the glorious view of the sea and hills of the neighboring island of Hoy. The kitchen incorporates a variety of quality integrated appliances and an additional television with built in DVD player. Large patio doors from the kitchen lead out to a paved patio area with large picnic table for "al fresco dining" while enjoying the glorious sunsets over Scapa Flow and Stromness. There are two more bedrooms both benefiting from built-in wardrobes. The "kids" room has two bunk beds sleeping four with an additional cot available. The master has a double bed that looks out to Scapa Flow through large patio doors leading to the paved patio. The modern family bath is fully fitted including shower over bath. Sleeps 2-8 people comfortably. Linens and towels included. Free Hi-speed satellite WIFI in all chalets and croft house. Childrens play area with swings, slide, climbing wall, tower and boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing