We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westrow Lodge B & B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stromness Hotel(Stromness)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orca Hotel(Stromness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Foveran(Kirkwall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West End Hotel(Kirkwall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lynnfield Hotel(Kirkwall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ayre Hotel(Kirkwall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Hotel(Kirkwall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
152
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bscapa flowjacuzzi bathlaundry serviceset us up for the daysmall fridgeshared loungequiet arealovely bathroomcommunal sitting roomeach morninga king size bedwifi worked wellexcellent breakfastmade us feellocal informationferry inn
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2011

It's almost impossible to summarize in words the beauty of the Orkney islands and the warmth shown by Kathy and Keith. Needless to stay... I will absolutely stay here again next time I visit and will likely head back to the islands when given a chance.

I am a 39 year old woman, traveling alone for a couple weeks until I met up with some friends in Rome... during the end of summer, beginning of Autumn. Orkney is majestic... no trees which means your line of sight is never stopped... hard to explain and absolutely worth the travel hurdles. (Flights into Scotland then additional flights to get you into Orkney.) Make certain you take your time and enjoy the islands as much as possible. This means... take walks in the morning and enjoy the stones like a local... a part of the beautiful scenery and part of their everyday life.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyPerson35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at the Westrow Lodge Bed and Breakfast for two nights in October 2011. This is a very welcoming place with lovely hosts who are happy to provide any local information you may require. The location is excellent half way between Kirkwall and Stromness but far enough away that we had a lovely peaceful sleep. The rooms are really spacious and the bed was a great size. The breakfast spread was lovely with many cereals to select from and full cooked breakfast available too. I really liked sitting at the large kitchen table while Kathy cooked in the kitchen - felt like a home away from home. A washing service is also available at a small charge which was perfect especially if you are travelling for a long period of time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank North_Canterbury_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

It was a wonderful surprise after enduring the ferry to Stromness to find such a warm and inviting bed and Breakfast. The rooms was beautiful having a full view of Scapa. Kathy and Kevin made us feel right at home and were very helpful as to our touring schedule. The breakfast provided was a full Sottish breakfast which allowed us to only eat one meal per day.

This is first rate bed and breakfast and I would encourage anyone who wants to visit the Orkney to book your stay here and drive or take local transport to the fine historic sites available on this island.

Room Tip: This is one of the few wooden structures on the island. The home is well insulated from the cold and even during a Orkney storm is was absolutely peaceful. Probably one of the best sleeps of my life.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at the Westrow Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast for one night in September 2011. We found Westrow very friendly and comfortable with panoramic views over Scapa Flow. Kathy and Keith obviously take great pride in their accommodation and went out of their way to make sure we were looked after.

Westrow is close to both Kirkwall and Stromness but just a little out of the way in a nice, quiet location.

If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and friendly place to stay while visiting Orkney you should consider Westrow Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamon444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Westrow Lodge is so very welcoming a place. Spectacular scenery from every window, and Kathy and Keith are always cheerfully willing to answer any question with lots of local information. Rooms are so clean and spacious - and with lots of places to put large and small luggage out of the way. Beds have both sheet and duvet - which allows for better attempts to keep cool on warmer nights! Bathroom has good level surface for doing contact lenses, and a stool avauilable to pkace next to bath for towel/dry clothes. Those with allertgies probably might appreaciate the "No pets, please"......
We have just got back, and are already trying to work oput dates to return to Orkney!strowst are

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews