We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A long awaited Orkney return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westrow Lodge B & B
Ranked #1 of 9 Orphir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A long awaited Orkney return”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I spent a very comfortable four nights with Kathy and keith. They were excellent , helpful and friendly hosts, making us feel 'at home' and comfortable physically -and mentally. Our large bedroom and equally large bathroom had everything you could need, including a most comfortable and very large bed and a seaview.
The guest sitting area also overlooked the bay and tea,coffee etc.was available there at all times.
There was an abundance of food for breakfast each morning. We particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit , yoghourts and granola --often enough for me, but my husband managed that and a full cooked Orkney breakfast.
Kathy was extremely helpful when it came to booking evening meals for us. All in all an excellent find which we would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us. We would love more folk from Scotland and England plan a "Staycation" with us and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
81
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and myself spent 3 nights at Westrow Lodge. On arrival Kathy showed us to our room explaining the breakfast times and the local attractions, showing us the Communal area with large windows looking out on fields, tea and coffee making facilities fridge, and guest computer.
The bedroom was large with a king size bed the guest area was very clean. Kathy does not do evening meals but there is a public house within the village approx 2 miles away (suggest if you walk it at night take a touch). Kathy and Keith were always on hand to suggest venues for our days travel, and they would always spend time in the evening discussing what we had seen. the breakfast was good with the normal selection of cereals followed a cooked breakfast.
I would rank this B&B very highly and when i return to Orkney will stay here again.
It is a bit remote but that is what we were looking for a car is essential

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Westrow Lodge and will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Kathy promised to make my six-day stay comfortable and memorable - and she succeeded. She and Keith were attentive and informative hosts, and they managed to make me feel like one of the family. Kathy's breakfasts set me up for the day, and thereafter I really appreciated being able to come and go as I pleased. The island is fascinating: so many wonderful cliff-top and beach walks, and the opportunities to steep oneself in neolithic and naval history are phenomenal. I would most certainly choose Westrow Lodge again.
Dr. Patrick B: North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
It gets a bit lonely travelling as a single person and I am glad we were able to make you feel at home. It was wonderful to meet such an intelligent and gifted person and we hope you come back to visit again. One of the joys of this business is opening up our home to such interesting people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay with Kathy and Keith. The room for the kids was quite small, but comfortable and suited them fine. Our room was large and extremely comfortable. Kathy "worked a miracle" with breakfasts and we enjoyed the food. This is a good central place to stay as you tour all of mainland Orkney and the attached islands.

Found a playground just up the street at the elementary school which was a great place to run off some wiggles before bedtime.

Don't miss Skerries Bistro for an excellent meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our small adjoining twin room to the master room is a real hit with family members that are travelling together and still want their "space". Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Westrow Lodge was a charm which we found! Kathy was generous to take us last minute. Luckily 1 room was not occupied for us. Super location overlooking Scapa Flow. Quiet. Great sleep. Beds are long enough for people who are almost 2m...unlike other B&Bs in Scotland. However the toilets across Scotland are always a nightmare. Never-the-less, a spacious Bathroom. Too bad we could only stay one night due to our plans. Breakfast was superb. If the sky is clear, one can see the stars well. Thank you Kathy for having us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaa111zzz222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am truly sorry that you left Scotland thinking our toilets are a nightmare. On further investigation I am convinced that the problem is with our Eco Toilets. More and more businesses in the UK are embracing Green Tourism. One aspect of that scheme is to conserve one of our planet's most precious resource: water. Many establishments are replacing older inefficient toilets with Eco toilets that use 30% less water. Those that cannot afford to do so are using Hippo Water Saving flush bags in the toilet tank. I can understand your frustration, but I think a "smaller" flush is a small price to pay for a greener planet. Please remember Scotland for it's outstanding natural beauty- we all work hard here to keep it that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We arrived on Orkney without a reservation and no plans where to stay. Very luckily we found Westrow Lodge where we stayed 4 nights. The accomodations were excellant and we felt at home with Kathy and her husband Keith, both very friendly and open for all sort of questions of us foreigners. The place is quite and the sight is beautiful. The rooms are spacy and comfortable and breakfast was very tasty. Back in Switzerland we often think on our stay in Orkney, we definitely highly recommend Westrow lodge!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
I think we were lucky in having such nice visitors find us! Although reservations are recommended sometimes we can accommodate visitors without. We hope to get more Swiss visitors and hope that you will come back and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I set plans to visit Orkney without realizing that many accomodations will run from Saturday through Saturday only; then I found the Westrow B&B. I was able to book a Thursday through Wednesday with no issue and found Kathy (the owner) to be very accomodating. She even accepted payment via PayPal which is extremely convenient. The lodge is located right in the middle of the mainland so we had easy access to everything. There's even a cute bar just down the street that offers decent meals. We had many early mornings to take the ferry to other islands and Kathy was extremely accomodating and provided breakfast 'on the go'. She also gave suggestions on things to see and provided insight on local happenings. The lodge was clean, comfortable, and had all the essentially including free internet access. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: There are three rooms in total; one with completely private bath and one with a bath that can be sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 727kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Most of the self-catering properties in Orkney do run from Saturday but you will find owners do their best to accomodate otherwise, especially out of season. With the bed and breakfast I can be far more flexible and yes Paypal is a very convenient payment method, especially for those overseas as it automatically converts the currency from your bank debit/credit card. Happy to hear you appreciated our central location and our local pub! We hope you visit Orkney again and spend some more time with us-it was great catching up with people who had so much in common with me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
7.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
331 reviews
8.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
286 reviews
8.6 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 9 in Orphir
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westrow Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westrow Lodge B & B

Property: Westrow Lodge B & B
Address: Westrow Lodge A964, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive modern purpose built Norwegian style timber house peacefully situated beside the A964 conveniently between Kirkwall and Stromness. Enjoy glorious views over Scapa Flow and the surrounding countryside. Two spacious en-suite bedrooms with superking beds on the first floor with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Comfortable guest lounge. Full traditional breakfast or can cook to order. Local pub within walking distance for evening meal. No smoking. No pets. Treat yourself to one of the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Westrow Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westrow Lodge B & B Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing