We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westrow Lodge B & B
Ranked #1 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had a large room with a nice Mac computer for guests use just outside our room in the small lounge, in addition to WiFi connectivity. Our host was friendly, breakfast was good and the location quiet. While Westrow is not in either of the major towns, there is good pub about 3 minutes drive. (No, it really isn’t walkable, distance isn’t too much but walking on road looks a little dangerous.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Westrow Lodge. We find that most of our visitors make good use of the free wifi and Mac computer in the guest lounge. We are very lucky to have a pub in walking distance from our lodge. We walk there often ourselves and you will see people on the road walking dogs, pushing babies in prams etc. and never in danger from drivers. We find most drivers in Orkney very considerate of walkers and bikers. I am thinking you probably live in a community with sidewalks where you feel safer walking. Please come visit us again next time you are in Orkney!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Westrow Lodge B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were made very welcome on arrival and throughout our stay where it was very comfortable with excellent bedrooms and nice sitting area. The breakfast was very good with an excellent choice. The time of breakfast could have been more flexible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for your review and happy to hear you had a comfortable stay at Westrow Lodge. Breakfast is served as standard at 8:30 every morning but I always ask people the night before if that is O.K. as I realise people may have early morning plans or ferries to catch and may need it earlier which I am happy enough to do. I find that given too much choice people have difficulty in deciding a time so I do that for them unless something else suits. I want people to relax when they stay with me which hopefully you did!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We were made very welcome by our hostess Cathie..Stayed 2 nights but would have been happy to stay a week.Stunning location.Great for wildlife.No wind farms in sight.
The information on local events provided was very helpful

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuzean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Happy to hear you appreciated Orkney uninterrupted views. Some folk remark about the lack of trees but I think the absence of even them gives you a broad expanded view of the ground meeting the water, meeting the sky. An inspiration for the artists here and a wow factor for tourists. You are welcome back to explore further our wonderful islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Cathy, our host, greeted us upon arrival showed us to our rooms and gave us fresh milk for tea. My room (the largest of the three) was luxurious, with a kingsize bed, en suite and space for an extra double and two armchairs. The location is extremely quiet, with an absolute tonne of wildlife all around. The lodge has some fabulous views over the Scapa flow, and is a 15 min drive from Kirkwall or even less to Stromness.
There was a full English breakfast every morning, with cereal, fruit and toast on offer.
This is definitely one to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bee1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Westrow Lodge. You will have to come back on a non-business related trip to enjoy even more of what Orkney has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Just last week spent 2 days on Orkney. I had booked B&B at Westrow Lodge for one night. 2 rooms for myself, my wife and my son and daughter-in- law. The Orkney tourist brochure showed Westrow as a luxury b&b. Luxury was what was promised and it did not disappoint as luxury was what you got. The rooms were more than adequate with huge beds. Bathrooms in both rooms were well appointed had every quality item on offer. Between the bed rooms was a communal lounge with magnificent views over Scapa Flow. The lounge had a computer with internet access for visitors use, free Wi-Fi and tea and coffee making facilities. The welcome from Kathy and Keith was welcoming and friendly. We asked about a restaurant and Kathy recommended one in Stromness and booked us in.
Breakfast was made to order, freshly cooked and was an excellent start to the day. Although our time on Orkney was sometimes wet and always windy, the Orkney experience was worth the visit made more pleasurable by a superb night in Westrow. I have stayed in other B&B's and hotels on Orkney which were pretty good but Westrow was by far the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean_burghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Manager at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review and hope to see you again soon, hopefully for a longer visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed in Westrow B&B while exploring Orkney for a couple of days and Kathy was very helpful before we arrived, organising booking arrangements via e-mail. She also sent us a PDF file of an Orkney tourist brochure which had gorgeous photos in it and helped put us in the mood for our trip.
We were a little disappointed that neither of the rooms had views of Scapa Flow, as we'd expected, but the windows in the wee shared lounge area overlook the sea. Having all the guest accommodation upstairs allows visitors a lot of privacy, and Kathy was helpful when it came to recommending places to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your review and your appreciation of my efforts to make you feel at home. We advertise that we have glorious views of Scapa Flow and the surrounding countryside. The glorious views of Scapa Flow can be viewed from the large windows of the dedicated guest lounge upstairs and the breakfast lounge downstairs. The bedroom windows, including our own, are at the side of the house and have views of the surrounding countryside. The best of both worlds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My friend and I spent four nights at the Westrow Lodge and found it absolutely perfect for our needs. Our room was spotless and quite large for the two of us. Unlike many rooms we stayed in, our beds were nicely located on opposite sides of the room. The place is quiet and we felt we had a lot of privacy. Upstairs, where the guest rooms are, there is also a large imac, on which we could get a lot of research on our trip done. In addition, we had excellent breakfasts at a communal table. What was also nice about Westrow was that its location really allows you to feel you are in quite a unique place in the world. You are not in town so you can really appreciate the special landscape of the Orkneys with the low lying clouds hovering over the hills. In addition, it takes longer to get around the main island then you might think, so being centrally located allows you to figure about the same time to and from many places you will be interested in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gentlemanexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

We are delighted you found your stay at Westrow Lodge perfectly suited your needs. Our large family room is great for two people wanting twin beds as one is king size and the other across the room is double size giving the occupants a much more luxurious experience than a typical "twin room." The large screen Apple computer in the guest lounge was a recent addition last year and very handy for information on what to see and do. I am always a handy sourcxe of reference too!
We are in a rural location so you can get a real "feel" for Orkney. So glad you appreciated all these aspects and we hope you will come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
8.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
372 reviews
9.1 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
327 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
5.5 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
235 reviews
1.9 mi away
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westrow Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westrow Lodge B & B

Address: Westrow Lodge A964, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range: £89 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive modern purpose built Norwegian style timber house peacefully situated beside the A964 conveniently between Kirkwall and Stromness. Enjoy glorious views over Scapa Flow and the surrounding countryside. Two spacious en-suite bedrooms with superking beds on the first floor with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Comfortable guest lounge. Full traditional breakfast or can cook to order. Local pub within walking distance for evening meal. No smoking. No pets. Treat yourself to one of the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Westrow Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westrow Lodge B & B Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing