We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for exploring Orkney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westrow Lodge B & B
Ranked #1 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Large bedrooms with good ensuite facilities. Local luxury toiletries and locally-sourced food on the breakfast table. A very warm welcome from Kathy and Keith. Wifi worked well and there was even an Apple computer provided for our use! A little sitting room which the two bedrooms share enhanced the experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your review and your appreciation of our rooms, ammenities and breakfasts. We enjoyed having you and hope you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

My brother-in-law and I were only in Orkney for one night. Kathy and Keith made us feel very welcome and were very helpful. Their lodge is lovely with large bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms. The views are fabulous. The cooked breakfast was very tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlistairM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Although your visit was brief, we quite enjoyed your company! Delighted you enjoyed the lodge, views and breakfast. Would love to have you back for a longer visit in Westrow Lodge or Buxa self-catering as discussed. Either way, would welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We are 2 female couples that have looked forward to visiting the Orkney for a long time. We spent our time staying at Westrow Lodge for 6 nights. Kathy and Keith welcomed us to their home which is beautifully set up for B&B. We were delighted to be shown to huge bedrooms with fabulous views and full size ensuite bathrooms. We had shared lounge room between the bedrooms which was great.
Breakfast each day was great and Kathy also catered for special diet requirements which was a bonus too.
We all loved our stay and yes we would love to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mermaids2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you so much for such a complimentary review... so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Westrow Lodge. The upstairs was just perfect for you to spread out in and you enjoyed the guest lounge for afternoon teas and after dinner drinks. We enjoyed chatting with you over breakfasts about your plans for the day. We would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We ended up here by accident - we had booked in another Orkney B&B who had to find us alternative accommodation because their previous guest was ill and couldn't leave in time for us to take the room we'd booked. Kathy was lovely and welcoming and the house was a wonderful base for exploring the islands. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of lovely local fruit, and Kathy had lots of information and good suggestions for things to do in Orkney.
As an aside - my boyfriend really appreciated the California King bed - this is the first place in 4 weeks of travelling where his feet haven't stuck off the end of the bed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

I am reallly glad you ended up here by accident as I really enjoyed your company and hearing about New Zealand brought back lovely memories of our visit there a few years ago! It is nice to hear that you apprciated all that we offer as a Bed and Breakfast. The big beds are a real plus for our taller travellers! Would love to have you (and/or your mother!) back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our stay last week at Westrow Lodge was wonderful! We had a lovely spacious bedroom and bathroom, and there is a lounge just for guests which contains a computer, a small fridge and lots of reading material on the islands. Kathy is warm and welcoming host and the location of Westrow is perfect for visiting the outstanding neolithic sites in the area. I will stay here again if I ever get a chance to get back to Orkney!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Delighed to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back to Orkney for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Set out in the countryside, you have an amazing sense of the Northern Sky. The Lodge is about half way between Stromness and Kirkwall, (about 20 minutes in either direction) making it an ideal jumping off point for exploring neolithic Orkney. Not that either town could be considered bustling, but this was truly in a peaceful spot in the midst of farmland. The house feels very Scottish and Scandinavian at the same time.

Kathy is a truly hospitable hostess, and has worked out all the little details from local soaps (I noted she'd even chosen a masculine fragrance for mine) to a communal sitting room with coffee and tea, a refrigerator and a Mac in a size to lust after. The beds are super comfortable and the windows are double paned so it is easy to sleep. The bathrooms have a large tub, and mine had a candle in it making for a blissful bath. There is even satellite TV. The breakfasts are huge and Kathy seemed eager to help sort out my travel destinations--and there are extraordinary things to see within a few minutes drive.

If I am lucky enough to return to Orkney, I would definitely stay again. If I were traveling with kids, I would definitely consider this location, asthere are cows just down the front steps to entertain the kids.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank santjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review. Happy to hear you appreciated all the little "extra" that make Westrow Lodge a great place to stay. Would love to have you back again - with kids?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We planned a trip involving several B+Bs in Orkney. Westrow Lodge in Orphir was a great situation for a stopover. We had 2 nights and the B+B is very good. Kathy is welcoming, we could safely leave our bikes in the garage which was great. Rooms and food were really very good too.
We were able to walk from there to the Hoy ferry to go and see the Naval Museum in Lyness which was a worthwhile day trip from this venue. For local eating, the Noust Bar is fairly nearby, perhaps a long walk, but on bikes it was no bother.
Overall a really great place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Cycling on Mainland Orkney is a pleasure as the fairly flat landscape makes for easy headway. There are many quiet country roads to explore with points of interest along the way and circular routes are abundant, especially on the West Mainland where Westrow Lodge B & B is located. Glad to hear you considered us as a great place to stay and hope you'll come back for a cycling visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
9.1 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
328 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
378 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
5.5 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westrow Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westrow Lodge B & B

Address: Westrow Lodge A964, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range: £92 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive modern purpose built Norwegian style timber house peacefully situated beside the A964 conveniently between Kirkwall and Stromness. Enjoy glorious views over Scapa Flow and the surrounding countryside. Two spacious en-suite bedrooms with superking beds on the first floor with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Comfortable guest lounge. Full traditional breakfast or can cook to order. Local pub within walking distance for evening meal. No smoking. No pets. Treat yourself to one of the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Westrow Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westrow Lodge B & B Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing