We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class; First rate; In fact first for everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westrow Lodge B & B
Ranked #1 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class; First rate; In fact first for everything!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent only two nights at Westrow Lodge and wished it could have been for longer. From booking through to pre-arrival information everything was so helpful. Kathy was the perfect host and every detail was in place to make the stay the most comfortable of our whole journey through Orkney. The location, overlooking Scapa Flow was excellent and ideal for accessing the many places of interest on Mainland Orkney. The bedroom, bathroom, sitting room were of generous proportions and in keeping with the rest of the property presented a spotless but very 'homely' impression in which we were very well cared for by wholly professional and unintrusive owner. This was a really restful couple of nights with superb breakfast and a level of B & B service which in our opinion is unmatched by any other establishment in which we have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for one of the kindest and most thoughtful reviews I have ever received. I only hope I can do that for some other hard working soul some day! I was literally smiling all day after reading it! I try to give people the experience I like when on holiday: clean and spacious accommodation, good food and service, cheerful help without being in your face. I am delighted you appreciated all these aspects and thanks again for a very well written review. You are always welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
84
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at Westrow Lodge, and found it most comfortable, room was very spacious, clean, with all the amenities one might need or desire. Bed was one of the largest I've seen and very comfy and Kathy was the ideal host and extremely helpful. Breakfasts were superb. I would certainly stay again if we decide to revisit the Orkney's.
The Noust Bar at Orphir a short distance away is well worth a visit as the meals are very good and the owners very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for picking Westrow Lodge to stay during your visit to Orkney. I am very pleased that your found it comfortable, clean and spacious. Our beds in the ensuite rooms are super king size guaranteed to afford a good night's sleep! We are very fortunate to have the Noust Bar just 2 miles down the road and very handy for our travel weary guests. Would love to have a revisit from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

For us the location was great as we want to view as many of the ancient sights as possible and this we achieved
Kathy was very helpful in both assisting us with our booking and recommending local places to eat
Our rooms were of a generous size and spotlessly clean.
We chose Westrow Lodge for a rural / farm setting and Westrow Lodge fits this requirement perfectly as the views and the surrounds are total rural, a beautiful part of the island

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
You managed to get alot of touring done in just two days. Our central location makes it just that much easier! The beauty of a rural location is that the views are fantastic and it is peaceful; happy that you appreciated that. Please come visit us again as there is lots more to see and do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A great, scenic location and a very spacious, quiet, comfortable room (plus the most comfortable bed we found in Scotland) - we appreciated it all during our two night stay. Kathy knows her trade and it shows.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
It's wonderful having alot of room to spread out in after coming back from a full day of touring! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your spacious, quiet and comfortable room. Our beds in the ensuite rooms are super king sized to ensure a good night's sleep! Please come back and visit us again and thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosh Haayin, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Westrow Lodge for 4 days, and loved every minute. The location was perfect, the view was great, and Kathy paid attention to every detail, from lovely classical music at the great breakfast to every comfort in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorrel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for such a lovely review. Delighted that you loved every minute and hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A great place to stay. We loved the quiet area and the view out to the water was lovely.
It's only a short drive to Kirkwall or Stromness to dine out as well as being an easy drive to any of the visitor attractions.
Our room was both spacious and very comfortable.
Our hosts (Kathy and Keith) were very easy to get on with and could not do more to make our stay enjoyable.
Thanks, Anne & Neil (Australia)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Our guests love that we are centrally located in a quiet scenic area and yet are just a short drive to all the ammenities. We enjoyed your visit and hope that you come back some day. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us- all the way from Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Arrived late on Monday evening after long day's cycling. The accommodation is lovely, great size room, en suite, guest sitting area with wifi internet access and free use of an excellent Apple computer plus tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was excellent both in quality of ingredients and cooking.

Only slight problem was I had not checked the local pub mentioned on website was open on a Monday - which it is not - so was facing and evening of emergency cycle rations!! However Kathy came to my aid and called the pub just in case; thankfully the also had a guest staying and were able to share an evening meal for me - the sort of hospitality that goes beyond the call of duty - thanks.

I will certainly stay here again next time I come back to Orkney.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Facstatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review and it was lovely having you here. Our local pub is under new ownership and they are now open every night except Monday. They indeed took you in anyway for a meal on Monday night which we both were delighted about. Orkney hospitality at it's best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
7.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
8.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
304 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 7 in Orphir
173 reviews
8.6 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westrow Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westrow Lodge B & B

Property: Westrow Lodge B & B
Address: Westrow Lodge A964, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive modern purpose built Norwegian style timber house peacefully situated beside the A964 conveniently between Kirkwall and Stromness. Enjoy glorious views over Scapa Flow and the surrounding countryside. Two spacious en-suite bedrooms with superking beds on the first floor with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Comfortable guest lounge. Full traditional breakfast or can cook to order. Local pub within walking distance for evening meal. No smoking. No pets. Treat yourself to one of the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westrow Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westrow Lodge B & B Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing