We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westrow Lodge B & B
Ranked #1 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ambleside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“One of the best”
Reviewed 26 June 2010

This is one the best b&b's we've ever stayed in. Extremley comfortable, spacious and well furnished.. Full of character - we're just sorry it's so far from home. Well situated for travelling around - make the trip to Orkney and stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhowAmbleside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
84
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2010

A beautiful spacious room which leads on to your own lounge with a fridge, stunning views across Scarpa Flow. Friendly hosts & good food. We have stayed in scores of b&bs from Cornwall to Scotland & this definitely rates as one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighthousekeepersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

...with those who commend this fabulous B&B. Splendid, eye-catching wooden chalet in glorious out-of-the-way location. Luxuriantly-appointed rooms, (my pal and I booked two singles so we had the sitting-area to ourselves) and a real warm welcome from Kathy, who proved to be a fountain of local knowledge. Fabulous value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2009

A warm welcome; a comfortable, light and spacious house with fresh decor and bathrooms. Cosy on a wet day. Fantastic view across Scapa Flow, a guest sitting-room with comfortable furniture, stuff to make hot drinks, a fridge for your wine, and lots of literature about the islands. At breakfast each day (delicious) there is a bulletin on the table about tides, weather, attractions and events. Kathy, your hostess, is friendly, helpful, warm and welcoming.

My one small niggle would be that there is nothing in the bathroom to make the towels dry out fully between uses.

A first-class experience and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couscous13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiter, owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, 10 September 2009
Many thanks for your kind comments, we do our best to please! There is a small wall heater underneath the towel racks in the bathrooms to dry towels between use. Since it has been a very warm summer I haven't turned them on, but they are easy to switch on yourselves at the wall switch! I also provide fresh towels on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of August and from start to finish everything was excellent. Kathy was friendly and went out of her way to book things for us and give advice on things to see and do. Our room was huge, beautifully furnished, very clean and comfortable. It had an ensuite the size of some hotel rooms! There was a guest lounge outside the room with tea/coffee, sml selection of cold drinks and a mini fridge. The breakfasts offered a good selection and really set us up for the day. We certainly felt we got excellent value for money and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maybeishouldwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We happened on this B&B after our accomodation was double booked, which ended up being another great part of our trip to Orkney. Kathy the host was fantastic and looked after all our needs and even made sure on the last morning that we didn't leave on an empty stomach even though we left at 6:45am. The room was large, very clean and overly comfortable. It had a great kingsize bed and a great family sized bathroom (as an ensuite attached).
Kathy cooked a great hot breakfast in the morning and gave us a print off of a selection of the happening on the island and weather each morning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oifatburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I often travel to Orkney on business and sometimes with my wife when we can fit in some leisure time. We love staying at Westrow Lodge, it is homely; spacious; the food (breakfast) is excellent and Kathy and Keith are lovely and interesting human beings. It is such a beautiful and peaceful location within good striking distance for both Stromness and Kirkwall. The bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable and spotless with ideal en-suite facilities.
Nigel Weir, Guildford, Surrey, UK

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
7.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
8.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.9 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 7 in Orphir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
8.6 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westrow Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westrow Lodge B & B

Property: Westrow Lodge B & B
Address: Westrow Lodge A964, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive modern purpose built Norwegian style timber house peacefully situated beside the A964 conveniently between Kirkwall and Stromness. Enjoy glorious views over Scapa Flow and the surrounding countryside. Two spacious en-suite bedrooms with superking beds on the first floor with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Comfortable guest lounge. Full traditional breakfast or can cook to order. Local pub within walking distance for evening meal. No smoking. No pets. Treat yourself to one of the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Westrow Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westrow Lodge B & B Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing