We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puffin Quoy was just a joy”
Review of Quoy of Houton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orphir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quoy of Houton
Ranked #2 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Puffin Quoy was just a joy”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I've eventually found the time to write this review as we stayed in the small self catering Puffin Quoy at the beginning of September for a week to explore the Orkney Islands. From the moment we arrived Caroline and Kevin were very welcoming. The basket of goodies with fresh bread and home-made cakes was lovely. The accommodation has all mod-cons with that bit of extra luxury like the whirlpool bath. Views are amazing and the cows very friendly. Plenty of information leaflets and Caroline and Kevin are a wealth of knowledge to give you some tips. We visited the Douby Butchers as recommended and the beef was amazing. Next time we want to try the north ronaldsay lamb. We didn't want to leave and would have stayed but had to catch our ferry for the onward trip to Shetland. We will definitely return to Orkney and when we do we shall be booking Puffin Quoy again and would like to take advantage of the home cooked meals offered and delivered to the door.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
91
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is a very well appointed property with comfortable sofas, a really good tv with internet, good wifi connection and above all great views over the water. The owners are charming and helpful to a fault. You are well placed to travel over Orkney from here (car essential I would say, anywhere in Orkney). Watching the sun rise or set is terrific. The kitchen is good and the bed comfortable and wide (better pillows would be my one gripe). But you won't find a better place to stay in Orkney and it is a fascinating place to visit (whatever the weather ....)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsb1588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guntramsdorf, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

nice couple leading the house, very clean, comforting, excellent cooking, fullfilling wishes; beautiful garden and grand view from the big double bed to the sea
in a good distance to city but also not so far to take ferries, ideal for Hoy but even to the north isles its just a quarter to drive
(rental) car necessary!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Quoy of Houtoun is a traditional farm house on Orkney that has been renovated perfectly and with love to details. There is one B&B room in the main building and I believe 3 cottages adjacent to it to rent. I stayed in the B&B and having seen a number of B&Bs in Scotland until now, I clearly think this one is hard to top by any other B&B. The tasty interior (so perfect it could have been on the cover of a country living style magazine), the warm welcoming and atmosphere (where else do you get offered a cup of tea already when waking up - prior to making it down to the breakfast room?) and the nice surroundings. This is not a cheap accomodation but one that is worth any single penny. I do not think it is possible to do better then this B&B. They got 4-start gold rated on the B&B and 5-star on the cottages by the Scottish Tourist Board recently. I believe this is well justified. This place alone makes me want return to Orkney soon. WOW!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheFlyingSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

....this is one of our favourites! We have visited twice and it is fast becoming an annual tradition. To travel so far and find such stunning accommodation,in such a peaceful and beautiful spot is a joy. Cannot recommend highly enough. The accommodation has been well thought out and is of a very high standard. If you order in advance Caroline will cook your party your evening meal which is a delightful treat when returning from a big day exploring(or the beautifully equipped kitchen gives you the chance to do it yourself if you fancy). Kevin and Caroline strike the perfect balance between a friendly welcome and giving you some space to enjoy your holiday. A beautiful spot from which to enjoy this stunning area of the country. Searching for the elusive grootie buckie shells on the Brough of Birsay with the kids is a joy far removed from this technical world!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

What a lovely house! And cosy room. A beautiful garden with view on Scapa Flow. Good location to visit all the highlights on the Island.
We stayed 2 nights and had a lot of bad weather but our hosts Caroline and Kevin gave us a warm and pleasant feeling.
We recommend this B&B to all visitors of the Orkneys.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We have recently spent a week at the delightful 'Puffin Quoy' cottage. This was our second visit and it was great to return there again to continue our exploration of the Orkney Islands. Caroline and Kevin are now like old friends so it was good to see them again. We had thought a lot about them and the cottage since our last visit. The cottage was exactly the same. As soon as you walk in through the door you get that cosy cottagey feel that immediately warms your heart and the welcoming hamper full of lovely goodies was a lovely gesture. Above everything else the view from the cottage across the bay to Scapa Flow is absolutely stunning and you can just sit there for hours and lose yourself in your thoughts. Time seems to become irrelevent on an island. The location of the cottage is good for watching wildlife too and during our stay we had great views of a male hen harrier as he hunted over the fields then there are the birds in the bay, black and common guillemots, Arctic terns, skuas, greylag geese, you will hear the wonderful 'bubbling' calls of the curlew, and watch out for the bobbing heads of harbour seals in the bay and see them hauled out on the nearby island where you may even catch a glimpse of otters (I understand a mother and her cubs were seen shortly after our visit). 'Puffin Quoy' is an ideal base to explore the Orkneys as it lies on the road about half way between the capital Kirkwall and Stromness and of course the regular ferry to the island of 'Hoy' is literally just down the road about 5 minutes away. You can watch the comings and goings of the ferry from the cottage. We still have a lot to explore on the Orkney islands which is why we are returning to 'Puffin Quoy' in 2013 for a further 2 weeks! One cannot imagine a more idyllic location in the British Isles.

Room Tip: There is only one bedroom in this cottage with a very comforatble king size bed which is very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
9.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
306 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
352 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 7 in Orphir
175 reviews
5.2 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Orphir
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quoy of Houton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quoy of Houton

Property: Quoy of Houton
Address: Orphir, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious, relaxing stay at this traditional 4 star gold historic farmhouse or 5 star cottages. Situated in beautiful walled gardens (part of Scottish National Garden scheme) with exceptional views overlooking the sea and Hoy hills. This comfortable farmhouse provides an eclectic mix of the old and new.The Quoy provides an idyllic location, where every effort has been made to provide a warm, welcoming relaxing atmosphere, where our visitors can unwind and enjoy the unique Orcadian atmosphere.Delicious breakfasts have just won Taste of Scotland Award and Healthy Eating Award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quoy Of Houton Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing