We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Retreat”
Review of Quoy of Houton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orphir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quoy of Houton
Ranked #2 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had such a fabulous family holiday in The Granary, 2012 that we booked it again for Easter 2014! The Granary has everything you could wish for......very comfortable, spacious and cosy (underfloor heating and wood burning stove), with sea views, attractive gardens and perfectly located for 'getting away from it all' but at the same time easy driving distance to all the main sights. Caroline and Kevin are wonderful hosts. The welcome pack of local produce and a bottle of wine was a nice touch and I highly recommend taking advantage of Caroline's locally sourced, home cooked meals delivered to your door. The kids just loved the freshly baked bread. Looking forward to returning when the puffins are back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0ckM0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review...it was lovely to see you and your family again.
So glad you enjoyed the food- I've just developed a lemon drizzle Old man of Hoy pud!!!
Hoping very much to seeing you all again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Quoy of Houton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

My Mother and I stayed at the spacious Old Granary Quoy in October 2013. We had the most wonderful, relaxing stay in this beautifully restored building with its wonderful sea views and lovely gardens. Caroline and Kevin have thought of everything you would need for a perfect holiday getaway and have provided it (and some!). We especially enjoyed Caroline's home cooking. (She offers a meal, snack or home baking delivery service from her nearby farmhouse direct to your table!) Menus are to be found in the useful information pack in the living room. We really recommend trying this at least once during your stay!! Caroline's cooking is excellent and she uses local FRESH produce to create her dishes and bakes her own bread too!! (again, HIGHLY recommended). Also, her home baked cakes and buns are to die for! We had Chelsea Buns one day!!
Caroline kindly showed me round the delightful Puffin Quoy when I was there, (which is for two guests in one bedroom). It has been restored to the same high standards as the Old Granary, and I fell in love with it, instantly booking it for two more breaks in 2014!! I am now looking forward to relaxing there with my husband and enjoying many more tasty meals prepared by Caroline and delivered to our dining table!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

It was a real pleasure to meet you and your mum and we look forward to seeing you again next month. The biggest compliment for us is a return visit or a recommendation and you have given us both!
Thank you for a fabulous review, its great to hear so many positive comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Quoy of Houton over Easter in the main house as bed and breakfast guests. The room was very comfortable and had everything you could need - massive bed, locally made toiletries, gigantic fluffy towels, ensuite shower room, views over the Bay, a drawer full of DVDs, a mini fridge.... The location was great, you aren't walking distance to anything but with a bike or car, you are perfectly placed to get around the mainland. The hosts (Caroline, Kevin and Crumble) couldn't have been more lovely and hospitable, providing great company, delicious breakfasts and wide ranging knowledge about the island.
Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bethany_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

A great review, thank you! Kevin, Crumble and I are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at The Quoy, it was a pleasure to share our home with you both.
Even the Orkney weather was fantastic!

A super way to start our season with such lovely guests, we hope to see you again in the not too distant future...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I'm still smiling when thinking back to our stay at the Puffin Quoy. What a lovely place. We stayed there mid November and like a few before us, were given navigational assistance in the form of flashing lights from the main house at night after arriving late on the Ferry. Even though it was past midnight, Caroline still welcomed us on arrival.

The weather was pretty cold and we even had snow, which only added to the atmosphere. The Puffin is very spacious with a comfy large bedroom and bed (large enough for even tall people), a very modern bath room and kitchen, which is full equipped and very comfortable sitting room with excellent views across Houton bay and harbour. The interior design is very tasteful and the whole package really left us very happy. We were even able to show off the magic of the place to our family far away, thanks to WiFi in the house!

Caroline and Kevin are extremely nice hosts and happy to help and give recommendations. We had a truly pleasant stay at the Puffin and in Orkney, which at this time of year is quite magical.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reinhard76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in The Puffin Quoy taking the interesting weather in your stride! You are right its a great time of year to visit, the sun rise and sunsets are fabulous at this time of year and a magical light bathes the island...
Thank you for all of your lovely comments and that Kevin's navigational aids were useful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at Puffin Quoy, the one-bedroomed self-catering cottage at Quoy of Houton in September 2013. Arriving in the dark and slightly lost, we were guided from the harbourside road by Kevin switching the house lights on and off. This is a lovely place, thoughtfully arranged and beautifully presented. We were lucky with the weather, but would have been perfectly comfortable with a force 10 blowing outside. Houton is ideally placed for visiting the sites on Mainland Orkney.

Catherine and Kevin were perfect hosts and we were sorry to leave. We would recommend Quoy of Houton to anyone visiting Orkney and looking for the flexibility of self-catering.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

It was lovely to meet you both last summer and Kevin and I are so pleased you enjoyed The Puffin Quoy. We also appreciated your positive suggestions and we have now installed a flexible reading lamp for those cosy nights in with a good book.
Very much hoping that you stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Old Granary Quoy is a stunning and sympathetic renovation of a pair historic stone barns and is packed full of character, retaining many original features. Luxury furnishings and facilities make this a real 5 star holiday house.

Only a short drive from either Kirkwall or Stromness, The Old Granary Quoy is a great base for exploring the many delights of Orkney.The Cottage retains many of its original features, including lovely stone walls, wooden beams decorated by hops and stone flagged floors.These period features are combined with state of the art facilities such as
underfloor heating, via an air source heat pump, wet rooms and whirl pool baths. Free Wi fi throughout means you can keep in touch with the mainland!

The cottage is furnished to the highest standard with really comfy sofas and armchairs and some nice antique furniture. If you just want to relax by the fire, there is a good selection of books and magazines.

Outside you’ll find a patio area with amazing dry stone walls built by Kevin the owner, a dining table, perfect for enjoying dinner or a drink in the sun. This owners who have very green fingers have a wonderful garden next door which you are welcome to explore.

The friendly owners obviously have flair for design, whether it be in the conversation of these historic barns, the interiors, or in their wonderful garden. Caroline also offers meals to guests staying in the Old Granary while the very creative Kevin can teach you dry stone walling!

This is a large, luxurious and well-equipped holiday house packed full of character and an ideal base for families or groups of friends exploring Orkney.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

What a lovely way to end the busy season with such a fabulous review. We are both so glad you enjoyed The Old Granary and Kevin has plans for building more dry stone features next year!
Carolines off to cook with Nick Nairn next week so watch out for some innovative additions to the menus...
We hope to see you again when you next venture this far north.
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottages we really do appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed three nights at this wonderful B&B. Caroline and Kevin and Crumbble couldn't have made our stay more enjoyable! We felt like part of the family.
The room is fantastic and so comfortable and breakfast was a treat. Healthy and home-made.
The location is very convenient to the main sites on Orkney.
We both said that next time we travel to Orkney we will only go if we can stay there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingvet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a genuine pleasure to meet you both and have you in our home. Crumble is well and has just returned from kennels so is especially glad to be back at The Quoy. Good luck with the photography!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
9.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
327 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#5 of 7 in Orphir
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
168 reviews
5.2 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Orphir
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quoy of Houton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quoy of Houton

Address: Orphir, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious, relaxing stay at this traditional 4 star gold historic farmhouse or 5 star cottages. Situated in beautiful walled gardens (part of Scottish National Garden scheme) with exceptional views overlooking the sea and Hoy hills. This comfortable farmhouse provides an eclectic mix of the old and new.The Quoy provides an idyllic location, where every effort has been made to provide a warm, welcoming relaxing atmosphere, where our visitors can unwind and enjoy the unique Orcadian atmosphere.Delicious breakfasts have just won Taste of Scotland Award and Healthy Eating Award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quoy Of Houton Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing