We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
43
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underfloor heating scapa flow fantastic holiday stay there again orkney islands margaret lives field ferry views boats bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

Lovely cosy cottage for a family. We stayed in Fara.Bit of space outside for the children to play in. Lovely host Margaret who made us feel most welcome. Spent a few happy evenings sipping Kirkuvagr gin and watching the light changing over Scapa Flow!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank A D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MargaretC771, Owner at Scapa Flow Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2019

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The view from our lodges are really
magnificent and made all the better with a drink of Orkney made gin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We have just spent a week at Margaret's excellent accommodation whilst my husband was diving.
You couldn't wish for a more comfortable stay. Well appointed, clean and fantastic views!
This picture is the view you have from the living room.
Thanks!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We stayed in Cava, which had outstanding view across Scapa Sound. The rooms were spacious rooms with effective underfloor heating.
The kitchen was well equipped for food preparation
Welcome pack of local produce.
We liked the position – out of town away from crowds, particularly when the large cruise boats arrive. But very well placed to explore a range of places
Comfortable beds, with very good quality linen
Modern, good layout parking next to cottage

Room tip: not applicable
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aussietriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

I travelled to Orkney with my cousin and her husband and stayed at one of Margaret's beautiful Lodges overlooking Scapa Flow. Fara Lodge is semi detached and is tastefully built, a lot of thought has gone into the construction so that the views of Scapa Flow are maximised ( mezzanine sitting area with large velux windows and sliding door downstairs into the shared garden) the underfloor heating is very cosy, electric sockets plentiful and the lighting well thought out. Beds very comfy.
Margaret greeted us on arrival and was available for any queries, lots of info in the accommodation re places to visit.
The setting between Kirkwall and Stromness was very handy and we fitted in a visit to Hoy using the nearby ferry at Houton.
If you are going to self cater bring along some basics like salt etc .
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it. A lot of guests appear to rebook, so a good endorsement.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This was among the best self catering accomodation we have stayed in. It is a modern solid building, not just a "lodge". Spacious with modern design and decor. It was warm. I was a bit worried when we arrived that it was joined on to the adjacent lodge but we didn't hear a sound from our neighbours the whole time we were there.
The main selling point however is the view. It looks over the fields to Scapa Flow.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 337Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews