We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villeperrot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel le Manoir de L'onde
Ranked #2 of 2 Villeperrot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel should not be a Logis hotel. Please send an inspector to check it out. This is a poorly run, smelly, unkempt lodging house masquerading as an hotel. The facilities were a disgrace and will do the Logis chain no good at all.


Stale food smell when entering
Room finish poor - including Floor uneven, tired old furniture, appalling woodwork, Room Door did not fit properly
The WiFi didn't work and it was important to us and the manager had no intention of fixing
Pool area dreadful needing paint and repairs
Dining room smell unfavourable
Smell of sewage/drains from the river /lake in the evening
Manager not well presented, reception area untidy
External Grounds not tidy
The building shakes when a train goes by and the proximity of trains and highway noise should downgrade the hotel automatically.
Food pretentious and overpriced.

We have stayed in better. This hotel does not warrant 3 chiminees and 3 pots - if any at all!! Drop it because the website pictures and description of facilities of the hotel give you reason to expect more.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2009

We stayed a night at Manoir de l'Onde in 1989, on the way back to Calais from the South of France. At the time, I recall having a modernized room with fluffy towels and bathrobes and a hairdryer, and dinner on the terrace being of a very high standard (food and service). When we decided to take another couple to celebrate my friend's birthday, I booked the hotel, thinking it would be a treat. It was a disaster.

I have no idea what the new owners were thinking. It's like they've stripped down the rooms and replaced the good furniture with stuff from charity shops...the decor was a flashback to 1971. Not only that, the rooms were dirty. In fact, the whole place smells like an ancient parlour which hasn't been cleaned in about a decade. The cleaning woman was there when we arrived, and even though it was 2pm our rooms weren't ready. She left soiled bedsheets all over the corridors, making it impossible for us to get to our room without tripping. Floorboards creak, bathroom taps broken, ghastly decor. They have also let the exterior of the property go to pot. Peeling paint on the ballustrades and flower urns and the lawn looked like it needed a good mow. And the trains - I remember there being a train track abutting the property, but they have increased the number of trains using that line, and now they're TGVs. All day and all night they scream past - even on Sundays.

The food at the restaurant was LOUSY and the service was appalling. Plus, the owners have removed the nice tables and chairs and replaced them with tatty plastic ones. The wine list was also poor.

In 1989, this was a three star Relais de Silence property; now it's a two star Logis de France property. And it doesn't even deserve two stars.

They have constructed makeshift cottages on the grounds for families, and more or less turned the place into a VVF. No wonder, as they probably can't sell rooms in the hotel.

Have I stayed at worse places? Yes...I paid $19 for a night at a motel near LAX once. That was worse. I paid 69 euros (plus 8 euros a head for breakfast, which we had to wait until 10am when the owner finished hand-feeding her dog to get) for this second worst place.

Oh, and in case you are tempted by the billiards - they don't have any balls or cue sticks. Just a dusty, torn old table which they had covered up. There is nothing to do at this place except dwell in your depression.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lesroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamiate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VRP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Piero92Sceaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prendre de préférence les chambres donnant sur le fleuve... Ne serait-ce que pour la vue !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LeilaOumoussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kikimgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeperrot
19.7 mi away
La Cote Saint Jacques
4.2 mi away
INTER-HOTEL Archotel
4.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris et Poste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Sens Nord - Saint Clement
5.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Sens
Ibis Budget Sens
#3 of 7 in Sens
39 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Virginia
Hotel Virginia
#6 of 7 in Sens
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Manoir de L'onde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Manoir de L'onde

Address: 33 rue du Barrage | Pont-sur-Yonne, 89140 Villeperrot, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Villeperrot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Villeperrot
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Manoir de L'onde 2*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing