We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good youth hostel / guest house with friendly staff at a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kussharogenya Youth Guest House
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good youth hostel / guest house with friendly staff at a great location”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A friend and me stayed at the Kussharogenya Youth Hostel for just one night, which was a very pleasent experience. The hostel is located near Lake Kussharo in the Akan National Park, just one building in the middle of nature. The next small settlements (Masshu and Kotan) are between 10 and 20 minutes by car. Some may therefor be surprised by my 5-star rating for the "Location". This is definitely just the rating for travelers who want to see the amazingly beautiful nature Hokkaido has to offer, not for people who want to visit japanese cities or want to go shopping. For those it would rather be a 0-star location, I guess.

The hostel is quite small, with only seven rooms, but is very beautifully designed and comfortable. It was specifically build for its current purpose about 20 years ago, so everything is still quite new and tidy. The rooms are very large (no shortage in space in Hokkaidos "outback") and comfortable and we were also allowed to use a large four bed room for the price of a normal two bed room since we were the only guests that night; thanks to that we also had the opportunity to talk the staff and hear their interesting stories. The hostel is run by a family plus two additional staff, who were all very friendly and helpful. Especially Dai-san, who said he was originally from Tokyo but moved to Hokkaido in order to be able to spend more time in the nature. After seeing some of the great places Hokkaido has to offer I can definetely understand his feelings! Dai also organized a snowshoeing tour for us, up a small mountain right next to the hostel and the seas in the national park.

The dinner and breakfast were included (it would have been difficult to find a place to eat nearby anyway, I suppose) and very good. Both were typical Japanese style (if you don't like fish for breakfast you should perhaps let them know in advance) and expertly arranged by the family. We even got the chance to taste some delicious home made bread by the son of the family, who is an aspiring baker!

All in all Kussharogenya is a definite recommendation for people who want to see Hokkaidos nature and meet friendly people!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arubeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    24
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
4
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
568 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

this hostel is beautifully designed and architecturally stunning. The rooms are comfortable and really clean, bath and showers are japanese style ( not private) but were fine. the staff are very helpful and food is really lovely. In the evening they give a lecture about local sights but my japanese isn't good enough. Free wifi

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed at this hostel during my "Kussharo" leg of the trip. The location of the hostel is tricky, but we did not encounter much difficulty finding the place since we were driving from Furano.

The architecture of the hostel is very unique, so were the rooms. It would have been great if each room had its own private bath, rather than a shared bathroom (Japanese bath!). Nonetheless, the rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

Breakfast and dinner offered by the hostel were delicious and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bittercool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is the most beautiful hostel I have ever stayed. Very green environment. Excellent dinner (could not imagine having western roast lamb chop there)! The only criticisms are on the price (also the most expensive hostel I have ever stayed) and location. You have to drive to get there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Teshikaga-cho hotels
Kussharo Prince Hotel
#1 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Pure Field Kazeyoubi
#15 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Kinkiyu Hotel
Kinkiyu Hotel
#2 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atreyu
#1 of 10 in Teshikaga-cho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Kussharokoso
Kussharokoso
#10 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Hotel Parkway
Hotel Parkway
#7 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kussharogenya Youth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kussharogenya Youth Guest House

Property: Kussharogenya Youth Guest House
Address: 443-1 Kussharogenya, Kawakami-gun, Teshikaga-cho 088-3341 , Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Kawakami-gun > Teshikaga-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality lodging in Teshikaga-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kussharogenya Youth Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kussharogenya Youth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kussharogenya Youth Guest House Hokkaido/Teshikaga-Cho, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing