We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ski resort in Hokkaido for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Closer to Chitose airport by 40min., than Niseko area.

Operated by single company which result in well established facilities and relatively good service everywhere. Newest Tower Hotel is built in 1993 but still holds superb atmosphere if you compare with other ski resort hotels in Japan. Best for children under 10 years old since they have fun swimming pool and big carousel inside the hotel.

The ski areas are not ideal which all areas locate between altitude 400m-1000m compared to Niseko. You can not expect really long runs but area is wide enough to offer many runs that you can enjoy for days.
English speaking instructors for both SKI and SNOWBOARD are available.

Only thing they lack in is probably the night life since, only place you can enjoy up to 24:00 is izakaya style place KAKASHI.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank endlesslift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very stingy old room, stained carpet, bugs, with plumbing that backflows. It really not much better than $30/night motel. Dining option is quite limited. I would probably stay in Niseko area and spend drive to ski at Rusutsu.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yo-powder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed in Feb 2014 on a budget 1 night 2 days package. Very reasonable pricing. Excellent resort. Helpful staff. Powder snow , great wide runs. No queues at the lifts. Would be even better if there was wi-fi in the Lodge as well. However we would come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYLHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A perfect ski-in/ski-out location in Hokkaido, Japan. North and South Wings are adjacent to lifts on West Mountain. Good-sized rooms(especially on 5th floor with vaulted ceilings), clean but a bit thread-bare and dated. This is a self-contained resort with multiple restaurants and winter activities for the entire family (numerous young families with children stay here) including male and female onsens, indoor swimming/wave pool with 3 story slide, and Daniel Street for shopping and fast food meals. Free monorail to Tower hotel on property. Our group package included breakfast which could be eaten in one of 7 resort restaurants. The highlight of this resort is the EXCELLENT skiing and boarding opportunities. Disadvantages: you can feel isolated without a car to drive off-resort, no small cities nearby, and no quick or fast-food meals available after 7 PM. Make dinner reservations in advance or you could spend an hour waiting to get into a restaurant during popular times.

Room Tip: Select North wing room on top floor for most -recently updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We chose the Tower for access to ski slopes on the Mt Isola and East mountain. A good choice slopes less crowded and with easy access. Tower appeared quieter and duplex room better appointed than North South Wing rooms, Dining option in Tower limited and food expensive with limited choice. The main wings had a variety of restaurants. Breakfast buffet a disappointment with limited variety of hot food. Air conditioning in room could not be temperature controlled only the fan level could be adjusted so felt chilly at times.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The room is a duplex with bedroom on the landing mext to tje door of the room and the sitting room and bathroom aee downstairs. It is not very convenient if you nwed to use the toilet in the middle of the night. However, th eroom is a very good size for a Japanese hotel. The wifi in the room and throughout the hotel.is excellent. The snow is wxceptional but this is not a ski in ski ou tplace. You need to walk anout 100 meters to a chairlift to reach the skiing area. The food is good though and great variety. Great place for a great family skiing holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was my first time to Rusutsu and was encouraged to go there by some friends who had highly recommended it to me. We stayed in the Tower and had a great room with excellent views back towards the North and South wings and the mountains behind them. The room was spacious with a bedroom containing 2 double beds upstairs and a living room downstairs with a wall double bed as a pull down. Both the beds and pillows were very firm and uncomfortable however seemed to improve over the period of our stay, but I think that was a case of the body accepting anything to lie down on at the end of a hard day on the slopes. The staff didn't seem to understand the problem with the pillows being so hard so I substituted the softer pillows on the lounge chairs for the bed pillows and was a lot more comfortable. The housekeeping staff seemed to get a good laugh at this but after a couple of days changing them back accepted my unique alternative. I agree with other comments about the Buffet, while it is very good food it is expensive and we went for some more traditional eating and found the Pirateman restaurant outside the main resort an excellent place to dine and also the Yo-Chan restaurant close by. The quality of the ski hire gear was excellent which made my decision to hire skies and only take boots a great alternative to taking my own stuff. The snow was the best I've ever skied on - dry and light and we had plenty of both piste and off-piste areas to ski and explore around on. The lift operators were very efficient and we hardly stood in a line our entire 9 days. It is very safe to ski and even the trees seemed to be perfectly spaced. Because the snow conditions are so good, even double black runs felt safe and the groomed areas were quite extensive given we were originally told they were limited. On some days we were even able to ski untracked groomed runs in the afternoon which is totally unbelieveable. While the runs are not as steep as the Hakaba ski fields the snow was so much better that it far outweighed the lack of variety.... I will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor and our friends were across the hall. Both sides of the building had exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rusutsu-mura
The Westin Rusutsu Resort
#2 of 2 in Rusutsu-mura
148 reviews
Toyako Onsen
The Windsor Hotel Toya
The Windsor Hotel Toya
#2 of 16 in Toyako-cho
568 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Hilton Niseko Village
Hilton Niseko Village
#1 of 11 in Niseko-cho
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niseko Onsen
Niseko Northern Resort An'nupuri
Chise House
#3 of 3 in Rusutsu-mura
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Address: 13 Izumikawa, Rusutsu-mura, Abuta-gun 048-1711, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Rusutsu-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels / Ryokan in Rusutsu-mura
Price Range: £113 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Fastbooking and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusutsu Resort Hotel And Convention
Rusutsu Hotel Rusutsu-Mura
Rusutsu Hotel Mura
Rusutsu Hotel Convention

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing