We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A winter wonderland in a perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaiserhof Berwang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaiserhof Berwang
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Berwang
Wrexham, Wales
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A winter wonderland in a perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

Me and my friend had been looking for a skiing holiday where we could find a good hotel that was ski to and from the door, where there were lots of quiet blue runs and that wasn't too expensive and Hotel Kaiserhof in Berwang ticked all of these boxes.

Upon arrival at Innsbruck airport there was a rep waiting for us and we were taken by a small minibus up to Berwang. The journey took around an hour and a half but the scenery was beautiful.

When we arrived we were taken to our room by the helpful reception staff and they gave us advice about lift passes and ski hire. To collect our lift passes we only had to walk around 4 minutes to the information office and the ski hire shop was based in the hotel-perfect!

The bedrooms were pretty basic but had everything that you needed for a skiing holiday. The rooms had a balcony, plenty of wardrobe space, TV, hairdryer etc. The bathroom was of a good size and had a bath and a shower. The only downside was that the TV didn't have any English channels.

The meals were fantastic. There was a hot and cold breakfast every morning where you could have pretty much anything that you wanted. There was always a chief in the restaurant that could anything from pancakes to omelettes whilst you waited.
For dinner you had a 4 course meal. You could choose what you wanted that morning by ticking the menu choices. There was also a salad buffet and lots of help yourself options.
The New Years Eve gala meal was out of this world. You were allowed in 30 minutes before you could eat to take photographs which I found strange to begin with but when I saw the food and the presentation I soon understood and I was very quick to go back up to our room and get the video camera.

You could ski from the door down to the ski school meeting place and to the lifts. The ski school teachers are good and we soon progressed up 3 groups. There were only ever small queues and the ski slopes were pretty quiet especially because it was the school holidays! The downside of being a teacher! At the end of the day you could ski right up to the hotel carpark which was the perfect end to the day. The snow conditions were fantastic for the first few days but the due to rain turned a little icey. We were lucky though because our rep said the resorts lower down didn't have much snow at all. It snowed over 30cm during the last day and night though.

We visited the Zugspitz Mountain on the last day. We had put it off because we read in a travel brochure that it was about an hours bus ride but it was only around 20minutes! We didn't take our skis but I really wish we had, our lift pass covered that area and due to the height the slopes and snow looked perfect.

We really enjoyed our holiday and the only downside was the lack of English spoken there. We only met two guests in the whole of our stay that could speak English. We didn't even meet any English speaking people on the slopes! Although the ski instructors could speak enough to teach us and loved the fact that we were from the UK. I guess this will change as the resort becomes more popular and is advertised with different companies. The après ski is very quiet but there are a number of bars you can visit.

We had a fantastic time and would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadForTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    16
    9
    13
    8
See reviews for
36
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

Lovely hotel. The family who own the hotel were very friendly and their daughter waited on our table every evening. The food was excellent and the New Year buffet was out of this world. The bar in the evening was very smoky, but that was the only downside to this hotel. The leisure facilities are a great bonus after a days skiing.
Berwang itself is beautiful. The hotel is at the top of the village, but the walk never bothered us. The nightlife was quiet which suited us. Our group were all novice skiers and we found both the lessons and slopes great. I couldn't comment for anyone who was a more experienced skier. Overall a great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morecambians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

#1 originaly booked to stay at Thanellerhof, got kicked out the mini bus... i got so called UP GRADED!! (owned by same people) this just ment an upgrade in princes! drinks tend to start at $3 for a small glass of Coke, 1/2 larger at $6 and a bottle of white wine $26 i brought the drinks menu home to place as info for reveiws such as this. PLEASE NOTE.. half board does not include drinks with meals!!! i found most of the staff to be very rude with the odd exception,
if you are booking with First choice/thompson, dont expect to be met at the other end by either company, a company called Crystal ski then take over... thats 3 middle men you are paying 4! the location had amazing veiws and the slopes are great for beginers through to the best of skiers! A Forrester

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berwang hotels

limburg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2008

This hotel offers a so called kaisersuite, but it is worse then a luxe room, no refrigerator, no table and chair on terras, just 18 square and a price of 112 euro per person half pension. Food is bad and buffetwise. Often things are not available.
No skishoedryers.etc...Deepfrozen bread one morning, this is not 4 stars, just maybe three.

  • Liked — welness was good and the pool
  • Disliked — room and food
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwang
0.3 mi away
Singer Sporthotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blitz
Hotel Blitz
#2 of 6 in Berwang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
8.3 mi away
Family Wellnesshotel Tirolerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gasthof - Thaneller
22.0 mi away
Krumers Alpin Resort & Spa
Krumers Alpin Resort & Spa
#14 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bergpension TheLounge
Bergpension TheLounge
#1 of 33 in Berwang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserhof Berwang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserhof Berwang

Property: Kaiserhof Berwang
Address: Berwang 78 | 6622 Berwang, Berwang 6622, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Berwang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Berwang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserhof Berwang 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the Family- and kids Hotel Kaiserhof There are locations which are special. Locations, where you can rest and locations, where every single holiday will be a special adventure. The privileged layer of our house and the new infrastructure allows us, to arrange both of it in an ideal way. Present yourself and your family hours together and allow yourself a break, from time to time. Afford your kids holidays with experience with hearty and loving care. Our skilled stuff is anxious about the weal of you children, while you can relax with a Wellness- or Beauty treatment and treat yourself with some unstressed hours or our active Team accompanies you through the wonderful nature of the Berwanger valley. Enjoy family holidays to the full, awake your animal spirits and feel comfortable at our hotel! Sincerely, Family Kuppelhuber-Angerer and the Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kaiserhof Berwang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserhof Hotel Berwang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing