We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wychwood Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston
sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great golf weekend”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed 21st-23rd Feb. 24 golfers had a great weekend. The hotel was great, yeah the TV is old but just how long do you spend in your room watching it? 30 minutes in the morning to get the weather report so that wasn't a big issue. The rooms were tidy and the beds comfy. All 24 of us loved the food, both breakfast and evening meal. Even with a big wedding on on Saturday night we didn't feel like we were pushed to one side, the place is plenty big enough to accommodate all. All in all i would recommend the hotel to others and the added bonus was a great golf course on site. Only downside was no swimming pool but thats just being picky.
Thanks for looking after our party.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear wadey71
Thank you for your recent review.
I am pleased to read that all 24 of you loved the food, both breakfast and evening meal.
I know we had a large marquee wedding on whilst you were with us, however as you said we did ensure all of our guests were well looked after.
Thanks for your recommendation and hope to see you back at some point.
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    308
    211
    74
    38
See reviews for
81
366
24
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We just had our wedding at Wychwood Park and were absolutely blown away by the friendliness and high level of service from all involved.

It was never going to be easy feeding and accommodating a wedding party of 200 but they did it to perfection. We opted to have a marquee on the grounds however we also had exclusive use of the main bar area for canapés and reception drinks plus the main foyer for the photo booth and evening buffet. The good was fantastic, piping hot, looked great and tasted delicious.

It was lovely that everyone could stay afterwards and everyone was raving about the breakfasts the next day!!

The team at Whychwood really looked afterwards with special mentions to Bernadette Dunn the wedding coordinator who has the patience of a saint!! Terry the banqueting manager who was on hand all day and night to make sure everything ran smoothly and Paul who set the marquee out and served us.

Such an excellent day the guys at Wychwood were fantastic I highly recommend having your wedding here (and you don't have to have a marquee they have an excellent room the Cheshire Suite for exclusive use)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear MLG1981
Thank you for your recent review.
I was really pleased to hear you had a great day and subsequently posted this review.
I am sure Bernadette, Terry and Paul will be motivated by your comments as there was a lot of activity by them behind your meticulous planning to ensure the day went with out a hitch.
As you say to deliver the wedding in a marquee to the high standards went to plan and it was good to hear of the comments made by guests over breakfast the next morning.
Once again many thanks and I wish you both a long, happy and healthy life together.
Regards,
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Wychwood Park on the 15th February 2014 for 1 night.

As a typical cheeky travel agent, in advance i asked for a room with balcony etc and this is what i got.

On arrival the hotel has very impressive grounds and a very long drive with private hotel parking (free).

We didnt really use a lot of the hotel facilities during our stay as we dined out at The Hand and Trumpet about 2 miles away.

The room was nice and with a balcony (room 119), The room was spacious, very clean and the bed was very comfy.

The reception staff were very helpful, as i forgot to take toothpaste with me and they sorted me out.

The only little moan i could see was that the cleaners kept all the empty champagne bottles and room service plates etc in the corridors. They were there from when we arrived at approx 14.30(2.30pm) and when we arrived back from the restaurant at 22:30 (10.30pm). This could give some people something to moan about.

Check-out is 11am on a sunday.

Im a travel agent working/ living 10 miles away in Stoke on Trent. I will be recommending this hotel to my business clients, leisure clients, friends and family. To be honest im already looking at going back again.

Fantastic fireworks display at the hotel for some occasion.

Great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagentdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear travelagentdean
Thank you for your recent review following your stay just after Valentines day.
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will be recommending us to all you come in contact with.
We had a large fund raising dinner on at the Venue and I am pleased they were an added benefit to your stay.
The clearing of room service trays is something we need to get much better at and will be working with my team to do so.
I look forward to your next great value stay. Nathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived on February 14th - warmly welcomed in reception. Room adequate although very strange to have a single headboard on king size bed. 5.15 went for drinks at bar - told wouldn't be open until at least 6 o'clock because of staff shortage. After my husband spoke to reception somebody arrived to take orders from waiting guests - as we had nowhere to sit we insisted the bar be opened. Went in only to find bar in a filthy state. All tables dirty- many with dirty glasses on, floor and some seating covered with bits of food and rubbish. Was not impressed - if I am paying £8 for a glass of wine it would be good to have a clean table to put it on. Dinner and breakfast were fine, as wre the dining staff but was told by other guests bar remained in the same state all evening. Why no spa facilities? Certainly not as good as other De Veres we have stayed in. Probably won't be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear John C
Thank you for your recent posting.
I am pleased you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast and apologise for the appearance of the bar.
We have two bars on the Venue and the Claret jug was open from 8am through until midnight and the secondary bar Bar Vista opened at 6pm as planned and I can assure you there was no staff shortages that evening as we served nearly 200 diners.
We don't advertise or market a Spa so this facility was not available.
I am pleased you have used other De Vere Hotels before however please note we are in the De Vere Venues part of the company and therefore direct comparison should not be made.
Nathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Dinner - The hotel contacted us to ask if we wanted to book for dinner to which we agreed. At no time were we informed it was a set menu. When we highlighted this they apologised and advised our drinks (one each) would be complimentary but these were subsequently on our bill on departure. Bar staff - shocking - The bar was swimming in alcohol because the bar staff could not pour or present drinks in a reasonable manner. Room - Dated and desperately need decorated. TV's were from the dark ages. Breakfast staff - They were worse than bar staff! Management - appalling! Bill - overcharged. Overall, 2 stars is being extremely generous! I would never go near this hotel again!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Mr B.
Thank you for your recent review.
I am sorry you have had to use Tripadvisor on your first attempt to leave a review when a conversation would have been a better option when still at the Venue.
My team called ahead of your stay and maybe the menus were not agreed at this point but they were trying to book a table for dinner on a busy night - yes Valentines night friday 14th February !
When you sat in the restaurant with another 200 diners I still offered you differing dishes to appease but nothing was to your liking.
A round of drinks were offered to you by Olivia as a gesture and to take them from your account but not your total drinks bill.
You were also here on a two night stay as part of a fund raising activity on the second night with Mr D.N which has sadly been omitted.
I have to add that Valentines evening was attended by nearly 200 guests and am sorry you did not enjoy the evening.
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The weather was the only bad thing about our stay, a very warm welcome at Reception, a lovely room, very clean, a huge bed. The bathroom was clean and the decoration made it look very smart indeed. The dinner for Valentines night was excellent, as was the buffet style breakfast. All the staff were most efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LegsLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear LegsLiverpool
Thank you for you recent posting.
I am really pleased all the staff were most efficient and friendly and also the Valentines Dinner night was excellent, as was the buffet style breakfast.
I really hope we see you back at Wychwood Park in the very near future.
Nathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, North Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for 1 night on 8/2/14. We are two adults and one child. Easy to find in a quiet, safe location just off M6/A500 and close to Crewe for the mainline station. Security gates to get in to grounds. Hotel is in the middle of a large golf course. Loads of free parking. Nice golf course/grounds/park if you like walking. Check in was quick and friendly. Wifi was free throughout and worked well. Complimentary tea/coffee/squash in lobby which was nice. Obviously a meeting venue so not much atmosphere in the bar/lobby. Room was basic and the old TV made it feel dated. However, we had everything we needed (iron/coffee/shower gel) and it was clean. Bed was very comfortable and looked new, however, we did not sleep well because our child was on an air bed on the floor. It was very noisy - every move he made, we woke. Apparently they don't have family rooms so beware if you are a family. I appreciate you don't pay for a child but we have never had an air bed before in any hotel. We had evening meal (and wine) in our rate which was very tasty and nice to see it being prepared in front of you. Breakfast was acceptable but no tongs for bread/cakes so this needs addressing. Also, personally would have liked tomato juice and muesli but there was plenty of other juices/cereals. A good place to stay if only two of you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BasRhyl_NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear BasRhyl_NorthWales
Thank you for your recent posting.
I am pleased you found our safe and easy location to your liking.
The front office team certainly do welcome all incoming guests and the free car parking, free wifi and energy stations are a real benefit.
I am sorry there were no tongs at breakfast this is a omission as we have many many pairs and they should have been out.
Our extra beds are air beds and we make no charge for children when in parents rooms and I am sorry this disturbed your nights sleep.
I hope to see you back at the Venue in the future.
Nathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
2.1 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
22.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wychwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychwood Park Hotel

Property: Wychwood Park Hotel
Address: Weston CW2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wychwood Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Wychwood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychwood Park Hotel Weston, Cheshire
Wychwood Park Crewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing