We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wychwood Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,018)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveller rating
298
346
237
88
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
346
237
88
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegolf clubgolfing weekendtravelzoo dealgolf breakevening mealreception areabar pricesmodern hotelhotel bartea and coffeebuffet stylepro shopthe ground floorreception staffbed and breakfastsunday night
Filter
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We took advantage of an internet offer to take friends here for one night in April. From the outside you see this super modern building sitting opposite a stunning golf course. Enter into a nice reception area, and we are checked in in a polite and professional manner. There is a free 'coffee area' opposite the reception with two state of the art coffee machines, which is a real plus. Everything is going well at this point, that is until we go to our rooms!

It is almost like stepping back in time! Bedroom furniture is worn and dated. Carpet is worn and lumpy. TV is the old style 'deep' box, with I think 5 channels. Bathroom is really tired, again the unites here are clearly past their best and there is dirty grout on some tiles. Bed is rock hard!

We had a snack and drinks in the bar and the service was pretty good. Made the mistake of having a game of pool. Worst pool table ever. On a slant with broken pockets. Mentioned it to the chap behind the bar and got the response that 'there is always an issue with the pool table'. Is it a major issue, no, of course not, but it is just something else that needs fixing. Breakfast was fine, standard buffet food.

The hotel is really set up as a conference venue. Even the feedback forms in the rooms ask what conference you attended and what company you were with. As others might have also stated, there is no spa facilities. So once you are here, if you do not golf there is not a lot else to do.

Would I recommend this as a hotel for couples getting away for a break? no, families? no, golfers and conferences, then probably, yes!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Andy G
Thank you for your review
I am pleased you were dealt with in a polite and professional manner and you enjoyed the bar food and drinks with the service good.
The coffee energy stations are well used by all our guests and are well liked.
I will have the pool table looked at as I had not had comments about it until yours.
The bedroom and television upgrades are being discussed and is down to the company to upgrade as those decisions can not be taken locally.
The Venue does not have a Spa nor leisure facilities however these would be a great addition but the golf is a fantastic facility and is of a great standard.
I do hope we can see you back in the future.

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

we booked this and the room was £29 it being a sunday night,6th april 2014,, arrived to find a huge hotel of modern standards, around acres of golf course, so nice and quiet. large twin room overlooking well on all sides it was parkland so great, kettle and a few coffe tea bits no biscuits, hair dryer x2 iron board iron good size bathroom good shower slightly worn in places around the room but good clean beds and comfy, first 15 mins heard the cleaner upstairs, it was 2.30 in the afternoon, sounded like she was an elphant and throwing them chairs and beds around, well she finished and it was quiet for the whole evening. restraurant clean tables not so cosy and private kitchen in full view but the food was excellant. wine expensive had a large white £7.50 hmmm
breaksfast large selection self service a wee bit on the cool side but ok, reception staff most ok but the one that checked us in no name badge just as well no eye contact with had an edge with her...the other younger blonde gal seemed really nice pity we didnt get her..check out easy and pleasent. will stay again and will as we going to this area again...

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room top floor there are loads of rooms
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dollydettolnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear dollydettolnurse
Thank you for your recent posting.
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the food excellent and good to read you will be back to stay with us again the next time in the area.
Nathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

10 golfers on a two day break. Hotel staff friendly. Food excellent. Golf course was superb , the greens were fantastic and after so much rain a credit to the ground staff.
Would recommend highly.
Steve Johnson
Blackpool

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear jonnosteve
Thank you for your recent posting.
I am really pleased to read the Venue staff were friendly with the food being excellent and golf course in superb condition.
Hope to see you and fellow golfers back at some point in near future.
Nathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014



We arrived at the hotel and were welcomed by a lovely lady at reception. Unfortunately, our experience only got worse from here.
The rooms are basic and dated with areas of mold around the windows and bathroom.
We went to dine in the on site restaurant. To say the meal was average would be kind. We ordered a bottle of prosecco which was served to us warm. This is a school boy error and I expected more from a De Vere. The starter, ham hock salad was delicious but as the chef did not have to actually cook it I wouldn't expect them to get it wrong. The main, gamon and chips was terrible, having only been cooked on one side.
After waiting 20 minutes to have our warm prosecco have a blast in the chiller, it was returned at best room temperature.
We returned to our room and found that no matter how the tap was turned on the only water coming on was boiling hot.
We spent an uncomfortable first night in the over heated room with other guest running up and down the corridors.
Breakfast this morning was average at best. A tip for future guest would be not to leave your table unattended even whilst only getting up for another drink, as we did this and had our tables cleared of half eaten breakfast and hot drinks.
We then went out for the day away from the hotel and returned to watch the national in the bar only to find it didn't open until 5pm. This again is yet another school boy error.
I can only hope that tonight improves as I wouldn't stay here again if it doesn't.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Sophie J
Thank you for your recent posting.
I am sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay and I am also sorry you did not take time to discuss your concerns with anyone in the Venue prior to departure.
The Claret Jug is open from 8am until 11pm daily and has two large screen TVs both of which were screening the Grand National.
Nathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Situated on an out-of-town golf complex, the hotel is set beautifully in landscaped grounds. Large proportioned public areas and very nicely laid out. The room was very pleasant, reasonable size and had a king sized bed. Bedding and pillows were nice quality and bathroom was great. Everything immaculately clean. Staff very helpful and chatty.

Only down side was that although the very large bar and restaurant were both fabulous large and attractive rooms, there were not many guests and as a result, it felt a little soul-less and lacked atmosphere. Had a meal in the bar area in the end and the menu and quality of food was very good.

Great hotel, just a wee bit quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear PaulW42
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found everything immaculately clean with the staff very helpful and chatty.
Good to hear the bar food service was to your liking and am sorry a little quiet.
We do use the Claret jug and Wychwood Suite for evening dining for larger private companies which does on certain nights leave the main Venue quieter.
Once again many thanks for the review and hope to see you back soon. Nathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews