We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading up North”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Weston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Heading up North”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Heading up north for a evening at northcote manor myself and friends met up here for a quick lunch en route,what a cracking little place.A mix of olde decor mixed with very trendy modern touches.The menu looked great,we only had time for sandwiches and these were excellent Chicken club,hot roast beef very good and my partners fish finger sandwich was superb, fresh fish in a crisp batter absolutely lovely and it was all excellently priced,they really have got it right,good selection of beers and efficient friendly young staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    73
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
66
92
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Having tried all the local eateries and reading about the recent refurb we called for a look and were blown away by the decor and welcoming atmosphere we decided to partake of a bar snack which was excellent we have since returned to celebrate our 55th wedding in the main restaurant along with my daughter and son in law their reaction was the same as ours the meal was equal to if not better they can't wait to return we have since returned for lunch and are already booked in for valentines in the rest aurant(can't wait)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samual s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Me and girlfriend were visiting family in Crewe and stayed at the White Lion, we stayed on a weekend where we had the most caring and well attend staff. We stayed in the Weston Room, where we had the most enjoyable stay, the bed was fabulous, great night sleep, the bathroom was big and had everything we need even a Baday and little extras (soaps, shower caps) the staff were welcoming and catered for all ours needs. The young lady cleaning, was very lovely and polite and helped us with the things that we could do in the local Crewe area. The rooms were well cleaned and the food service was amazing, with a range in the menu and great waitresses and waiters the service was quick and pleasant and very enjoyable, the other customers were lovely and we felt very welcomed into the enviroment. The only thing that me and my partner could fault was on the faces of some of the waiting on staff, they looked glum and unhappy.

Thanks to everyone at the White Lion for making our trip amazing.

Room Tip: 1. Weston suit is a bigger and more homely suite to be in. 2. Go for B&B, it's a fab full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We've been desperate for someone to give the poor place a make-over and a new lease of life for absolutely years - having had our wedding reception there back in 1992 - and we were thrilled to see the results. Firstly, the renovation is fantastic, it really has given the whole place a breath of fresh air. Secondly, our meal was lovely, really delicious. My starter of the three fish pate was absolutely scrummy and my main (also from the starter menu), the crumpet with asparagus, poached egg and tarragon cream was lovely...ooh, and not forgetting the chips...Mmmm...what more can I say(?!). My hubby's goats cheese starter - which he loved - was tastily mild and not at all over-powering, and his main of steak pie in suet pastry, with chippies and veg, was equally enjoyed.The staff were attentive and pleasant, which, all-in-all made for a relaxing and lovely evening so we'll be going again - very soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirecouple92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had the most fabulous meal in the restaurant. The varied menu was a great treat and tempted you away from the norm. The wine suggested to us was perfect to compliment the steaks. We had a great evening and the atmosphere was really relaxed. Staff were attentive and very friendly. We stayed in the hotel, which although wasn't part of the recent refurbishment, did reflect the room price charged. The rooms although dated are clean and exactly as the owners describe. Breakfast was fantastic though - the venue certainly has a great chef! Will most certainly return. Thanks to the staff for such a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miskygrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington UK
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here over the festive period.
I found the staff very welcoming.
The pub itself is beautifully presented, with amazing homemade food.
We stayed in a suite (can't remember which one ) and it was just what we expected. Very spacious, clean, and most importantly it has thick curtains so we could have a nice lye in.
The breakfast was gorgeous too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

There was a group of us staying for a work Christmas party and each had our own room. Many of the rooms smelled of damp, especially the western suite which had mildew all over the bathroom, a sodden carpet by the heater and someone had wiped snot on the wall. It is not a good room for people with a breathing condition, every time you breath in you can taste the mould spores. Another room has a carpeted toilet, just yuck!. And another had a massive hole in the closet that let freezing air in. The bathrooms smelt every time you flushed to toilet, there were cracked tiles around the shower pipes. We woke up and went down for breakfast to find the doors locked and absolutely no staff around, we were even specifically asked when we checked in if we would be needing breakfast so they could put the appropriate amount of staff on. Needless to say we decided to leave with no breakfast. Once outside we bumped into a delivery man who said no one was around earlier in the morning for the fish delivery and they had to wake up the chef. Very poorly run establishment. The rooms left much to be desired. It needs a lot of work before I would suggest anyone stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0seTraveller1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
1.1 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: 31 Main Road, Weston CW2 5NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1652, this beautiful public house and restaurant is full of history and charm boasting real ales and fine food; it has two dining rooms. Its seventeen bedrooms are in the modern extension in its own gardens. There are two suites - all rooms are furnished to a very high standard, double and single rooms are all en-suite. We pride ourselves on providing a very individual and high standard of care to all our guests. Situated in the very pretty village of Weston Cheshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Weston, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing