We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Romantic Location - just beautiful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the 30th of July for one night. It is a beautiful building, with gorgeous grounds.

My husband took me there for a romantic break, and paid extra for a room with a view, which was well worth doing as we looked out over the fountain and the rose garden.

We also paid for breakfast, which was £15 a head but very good quality. There was a huge choice of food and a good range of dining times. There was even an area where a chef would cook omlettes and waffles in front of you with the ingredients you choose.

Noise proofing in the rooms was good, and the bed was very comfortable. We stayed in a "superior" room which was large, light, beautifully decorated and had robes and slippers we could use, good tea and coffee making facilities, nice toilettries and a complimentary bottle of water. This was a step up from the most basic kind of room they do, but was well worth it for the romantic atmosphere of staying in a large room with pretty views.

There were two weddings going on while we stayed there, and it was lovely to watch the bridal party posing for photos on the lawn. The setting is definately lovely enough for weddings.

Although the hotel is also a country club and golf course it didn't cause any hassle for us while we were there, and the golfers have a seperate set of buildings to use.

We also had some drinks in the tempo bar, which overlooks the indoor swimming pool and has a lovely outdoor terraced area to sit in the sun and gaze out over the hills as the sun sets! The drinks were expensive but hotel drinks always are.

The swimming pool looked very nice but we didn't go in, and we were unsure if we would have been able to go in for free with the room booking or not, but if staying again I would ask if we got use of the pool when booking, and then bring a swimming costume!

Overall I would definately recomend this hotel. It is historic, romantic, clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. It is not cheap (I think we paid £190 for the better class of room, the view, and the breakfasts for two) but that was on a saturday night so probably cheaper during the week, and it is worth it for a special occassion.

Room Tip: Room 164 has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenselphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

What a lovely hotel and grounds, we thoroughly enjoyed our two night break. The staff without exception were helpful and friendly. Lovely breakfast, fabulous facilities and grounds were immaculate. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louxloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

14 of us just spent the weekend at this Hotel, booked through Golfbreaks.com
There were 2 weddings being held on Fri and 1 on the Saturday but this did not affect the stay or service to other guests.
ALL staff were excellent. Politeness, happiness and attention to detail was the name of the day.
Deluxe double rooms were great and the food was excellent. We used both golf courses, the spa and leisure facilities. All were excellent.
Thanks for a great weekend.
Express checkout was very useful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippoScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Lovely location, great gardens for an evening stroll. The hotel staff and service in general was very good, although we did have to wait for 40 minutes for a club sandwich to be served in the attached restaurant next to the fitness suite. Clean fresh and great choices for breakfast. Internet was £15 for 24 hrs, this wasn't acceptable! Overall, very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowysfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Wife and I stayed overnight to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The service from reception, concierge, leisure club and dining was very good. The staff made the event special as we ate in the restaurant in the evening and they provided after dinner treats/favours courtesy of the hotel. Food was very tasty, good quality and well presented.
Bedroom was spacious, quality and hint of the old world.
Great leisure facilities for everyone in family - good size swimming pool with seperate baby pool, hot tub, spa, sauna, steam room and gym. If ou enjoy golf the golf club is good but didn't try it. There is one tennis court - standard but ok.
We would definitley return good friendly service

Room Tip: Request quiet room near the main facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midland_ski_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My wife and I visited this hotel to attend a dinner dance and we were enchanted by the location of this, the oldest Marriott Hotel in the world.

The hotel as the name suggests has its origins as a priory, and the building consists of both the original building with sympathetic more modern additions.

The reception is in the original building, and was friendly and efficient. Our room was in a more modern part of the hotel, was beautifully furnished and decorated and was well equipped. My only complaint would be that the bed mattress was a little soft for our liking, but we have found that in other Marriott hotels. Our room had extensive views of the surrounding countryside.

When we visited, there was thick snow and this added to the atmosphere.

The hotel had a good choice of bars and appeared to have a very good leisure club (which we didn't have time to use).

Breakfast was served in the original part of the hotel, and the food choice and service was good.

Although the hotel was busy, there was no delay in checkout which was agin friendly and efficient. We planned to visit Chatsworth House on the way home and were able to purchase entry tickets for Chatsworth House at the hotel reception at a slightly discounted price.

Overall, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting a room in a quiet location with views over the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Myself and a group of friends ate the bar at Breadsall Priory. The food was okay, though we found the portion sizes very inconsistent, but the service was dire. One persons meal turned up after 45 minutes and even that was aftermuch chasing it up.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank starlet199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
19.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,482 reviews
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range: £68 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing