We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“gorgeous setting”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here with an overnight stay and had a fabulous time! Our room was lovely, quiet and very comfortable with a fantastic view. Dinner in the priory restaurant was delicious and the service was excellent. Service was not so great at breakfast - overpriced at £14.95 each. Spa facilities a bit tired, but I've had worse Saturday afternoons! Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had a view of the fountain! Gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    394
    233
    92
    48
See reviews for
209
468
19
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

we went as two couples for a two night bed and breakfat stay over Valentine`s weekend.
The setting is beautiful and the building is magnificent outside, but inside looks a bit tired and dated. The place was quite busy but we never saw more than one person manning the reception desk, so whenever we needed to speak to them, there was always a wait while the one girl there spoke to other guests or had to break off to take phone calls. The Tempo bar is quite good, pub grub and bar drinks, quite friendly efficient staff, comfortable environment. We had a lunch and dinner there and were happy with the food and the service. It is quite a different case in the main restaurant however where the staff seemed to be lacking in presentation skills and service here was poor to say the least, an example being the waitress handing us the menus for pudding and immediately asking for our order. There was also a delay in the main courses being served together. Breakfast fortunately was superb, excellent range of food and the staff here much friendlier, (especially Sophie) We tried to make comment on checkout but this was not well received by the reception staff. Other positives are that the rooms are spacious with large comfortable beds, although they only supply two tea bags which is a bit stingey. Despite our whinges, at £99 for bed and breakfast the Priory did prove good value, and there is a lot of good things to be said about it, but the four of us agreed on the way home that our lasting memory will unfortunately be the not so good.

Room Tip: one of our rooms had two double beds in it which made it a bit cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinpNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies for the service shortfalls you encountered. We always aim to offer a first class service for our guests and we are sorry that we let you down on this occasion. We shall be discussing your comments with the hotel teams in question so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. We take all feedback seriously and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and its beautiful setting and we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort and space of your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This 2 night stay was booked by my partner as a surprise for me over the valentines weekend. I was rendered speechless as we drove into the grounds and along the driveway, the main building is definitely very stately and grand. This was my first Marriott hotel experience however my boyfriend has stayed in a few different ones up and down the country.
Having checked in, we then drove around to our room which was in the extended part of the hotel, the staff were very helpful in pointing us in the right direction.
Our room was very clean and the bed was amazing I think it was a super king size, very comfortable and basically I slept like a log on both nights. My partner had asked for a room on a high floor and extra pillows in our room which had all been provided so we were very pleased.
We used both the gym and the swimming facilities, which were adequate, perhaps the area around the pool needed to be updated slightly, as there were metal covers on the walls which were rusting, this was only visible when in the jacuzzi, my only other gripe with the leisure facilities would be that all but one light was working in the pool itself, relatively minor really.
We went into The Tempo cafe bar on both days, on Friday we both had sandwiches and they were beautiful, I had the cheddar with branston pickle, which was very fresh and nicely presented, very filling also I may add. On the Saturday we decided to have a drink in the Tempo bar however we discussed that it may have been better if we had gone to Bentleys bar instead as the Tempo bar was very busy with young children and their parents, and we had gone for some light reading which was difficult with all the people passing by.
We dined in the Priory Restaurant both nights, the food was second to none on both occasions. I had the leek & potato soup on both nights, it was so lovely the first night I had to have it again, I had the mushroom and celeriac dish as a main and the apple, cinnamon and walnut dish as a dessert which was divine. The second night I had the chicken and the chocolate brownie which again were simply stunning. The chunky chips are a must too!! We discovered a beautiful white wine called Villa Maria which came at the recommendation of Sam (I think) she was our server on valentines night, she was excellent, very polite, very sincere and to be honest we were upset that we didn't have her on the second night as she was a gem. The service on the second night was not as good as the first but it was ok.
Breakfast was served buffet style and was of a very high standard, with everything you could want and cooked to a very high standard.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and I would return and recommend this hotel to my friends and family. Im looking forward to visiting many more Marriott Hotels in the future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesleylou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of the 1 night dine and stay deal, was good value with breakfast and dinner, £150 for 2 people. Food was excellent, no complaints, great breakfast buffet.

Hotel room was fine, not as modern as other Marriott hotels perhaps, but that suits this hotel. Leisure facilities aren't amazing, but again the value of the deal gives me no room for complaint. I'd stay here again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chestermaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have stayed here on two occasions with my partner, once in 2012 and again in 2013. The hotel building and surroundings are beautiful and the modern extension is tastefully done. On our first stay we were in the newer part of the hotel and the room was clean and comfortable no complaints at all, on our second stay we were in the original building and had a lovely 4 poster bed and a great view. The bathroom was a little small and awkward but given the age of the building this would have course been difficult to fit in any other way! We made use of the pool facilities which were great and had a drink in the bar overlooking the pool, few too many golfers in here for my liking but then this of course is to be expected given the lovely golf course. We did not have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was superb, well cooked and lots to choose from, there is even a lady who makes omelettes and eggs to order. Customer service was good in all areas but perhaps could have been a little bit friendlier. We would not hesitate to go back though as it is a lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hcp141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed for just one night on a deal that included dinner. It was a good deal. Also, we used the pool, sauna and gym, all of which were great. Excellent sized rooms. Superb service. Really relaxing environment. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Inter-connecting rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123SleepyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just awful. Nowhere to sit - there were 5 chairs in total around the pool and no tables. When we asked for some seating we were told nothing could be done for us, all chairs were broken. We were given a tiny towel, no robes. We were hoping to relax and put our feet up. The steam room smelt of feet. The ceiling tiles were stained or missing. We ended up putting our belongings on the ugly, metal crates of swimming floats that surround the pool, to stop them getting wet. The massages are done in a separate building, so we had to dress and leave the pool area to go outside for the massage. Far from a luxurious spa day - my local leisure centre would have been cleaner and far more relaxing on a Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
I am really sorry you found your Spa Day disappointing. Our aim is to always exceed our guests' expectations and we apologise that we let you down on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
999 reviews
11.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
264 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing