We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a very lovely venue. Which boasts vey fine facilities. This was a luxury spa day not an Hotel reservation. I don't feel the spa was quite a luxury event it was a little like being on a conveyor belt two in, two out, hello, goodbye, lie down, get up, hello goodbye ...... Had lots of spa days, this may be the outstanding location, but not top,of my list for quality of treatments. Had neck shoulder back massage, facial and file and polish. Nice pool, small sauna, steam room out of order, one jacuzzi.Small gym, no info given re classes. Food and drink expensive, but in keeping with hotel 4* rating this was to be expected. Very busy hotel setting, good for the business, good to see, but not in keeping with a spa day for me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Wonderful location and the hotel looks very grand on the approach.
We had a room tucked out of the way in the newer extension. It was a bit of a trek from reception/breakfast but it was clean and tidy but thought (for the price) a bit bland.
The leisure club was great and allowed our 12 year old swim with no restrictions. This is great as a lot of 'good' hotels tend to restrict children to certain swimming times. I think that the hotel needs to promote this as my child loves to swim while we are away and we sometimes struggle to find a decent hotel that allows this. So thumbs up for The Priory
All in all a good stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Used our tesco vouchers
Easy to book helpful staff
Good room overlooking spacious grounds
Excellent breakfast
Helpful congenial staff
The hotel was tucked away in the Derbyshire countryside really beautiful scenery yet only 10minutes from Derby
Only down side was that food in the restaurant was rather expensive
We found a local pub in the village with food at reasonable prices

Room Tip: Ask for room with pleasant outlook
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My now Husband (then fiancé) and I booked Breadsall for our wedding and from the moment we booked we were looked after amazingly. Katie, the events executive, helped us to plan our wedding over the space of 9 months and nothing was too much trouble. Anything I asked for she did her best to accommodate. Nearer the time of the wedding we had our handover with Kyle who would be coordinating our wedding on the day. Both Katie and Kyle were fantastic and put my mind right at ease. They were friendly yet professional and had everything under control. When it came to the weekend of the wedding we stayed two nights in the hotel, used the pool, ate in the sports bar and the restaurant and every member of staff we met were brilliant and the amenities and food were fantastic. Our wedding went without a hitch and it was all down to the amazing staff at Breadsall. Kyle uses humour and charm to make every bride feel special and I'm pretty sure he nearly cried with me as I walked down the aisle! Mel and her team that ran the catering side greeted me so warmly when I was at my most nervous and calmed me down a treat. They went above and beyond what was asked and I can't thank everyone at Breadsall enough for giving my husband and I our dream wedding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at Breadsall Priory and despite our feedback it would appear that little has changed, particularly where the restaurant is concerned.

The hotel itself is impressive and the gardens immaculate however my experience of the rooms indicates that a general refurbishment is long overdue. The suite that we've stayed in on both occasions has tired and worn furniture whilst the bathroom requires a deep clean, re-grouting and re-painting, preferably by someone who can actually paint. The beds are standard Marriott fare so no complaints there. I wish that housekeeping would pay attention to how many guests are staying in a room and provide adequate provisions, both times we've had to ring housekeeping to request extra teabags etc.

As Marriott Platinum guests the welcome gift is similar to those received elsewhere however the Marriott Forest of Arden offers a full bottle of wine as opposed to Breadsall's half bottle and their cheese platter was far superior. I fail to understand why the Forest of Arden can offer a full size bottle whilst Breadsall can't.

The restaurant is the real issue in this place. On our last visit we ate in the Tempo bar as well as the Priory restaurant but the food served on that occasion was so horrendous that we didn't risk it this time around and decided to see if the feedback provided on the previous visit had resulted in any changes. Unfortunately it hadn't. The chef is clearly punching above his weight, presumably as a result of watching too much Masterchef and feeling confident that his skills and taste are more advanced than they actually are. The few dishes on offer are uninspiring and include ingredient pairings that are odd at best, tempura lobster claw on a slice of pineapple accompanied by an unidentifiable fruit sauce and stray piece of shell? The dish had also been prepared earlier in the day and, like many of the other starters, had been left in the fridge prior to serving. This resulted in a loss of flavour and texture and any cook worth their salt knows that fridge cold food is lacking in flavour.

Pork crackling that had been deep fried to create an airy equivalent of a quaver was spectacularly lacking in taste. Duck crackling that had been cooked to a dark, dense slab was deeply unappetising. Lamb chops cooked with spices was nice but not enough to redeem the meal.

The restaurant does offer steak and chips, two varieties, rump and flat iron. A flat iron requested rare arrived medium whilst a medium rare rump turned out as requested. Chips are large and tasted very good, probably the best thing the kitchen produced.

Desserts were hit and miss, overcooked pastry, watery and sharp fruit sauces, pointless "textural" additions such as puffed rice. A good chocolate brownie and decent ice cream but not enough to redeem the kitchen. The chef wants to do fine dining but he hasn't the experience or the knowledge to pull it off, they should stick to gastropub style food and perfect the art of a cooking a steak to the customer's request.

In comparison, the relatively close Forest of Arden country club exceeds Breadsall Priory in all respects even if it does lack the character of the main house and Breadsall's management could learn a lot from there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PompeyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allayne B, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are very sorry that you was disappointed with your stay. We hope we can do much better next time. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef for him to address.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We were staying here for one night on the way to the Peak District and we were impressed with everything during our stay. Very impressive grounds and check in was swift. We walked around the grounds and I would suggest walking around them - they are stunning especially the nature trail. We had our 3 year old son with us however had DBB basis so had to take him with us in the priory restaurant which really isn't a family eaterie however all the staff made us feel welcome and he was well behaved! The food was simply amazing and you can see why it's double rosette.
Bedroom nice and bed comfy - lovely view of gardens. We used the pool and this was lovely too.
I would happily stay here again so ignore the negative comments from the fussy brigade!
Two negatives - you have to pay £6 per hour for wifi in your room which is rare these days plus we requested a bed for our son to be put in the room which was done however a surcharge of £15 was put on the bill with no one from reservations on the phone telling me of the extra charge - when I questioned this on checkout the lady was excellent and once realised I wasn't told took it off the bill - excellent customer service.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank steveandlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I booked a spa day here costing £60, which we thought was good value. Although we had made enquiries about the deal no one advised us to book fitness classes in advance and they were all full on the day. We didn't fancy the gym and so went for a swim. The pool area was adequate but the sides of the pool were grubby. Afterwards I stood dripping in the changing room because my locker malfunctioned and a kind lady fetched someone to help me (a common occurrence apparently). We then went for our massage (included) I was refused on the grounds of Marriott policy because I have not been clear of cancer for 5 years. To say I felt like a second class citizen is an understatement, plus I am appalled at the ignorance of Marriott hotels because massage is actually offered to me as a cancer victim by the NHS as an alternative therapy. All they have to do is offer a disclaimer. I ended up just having my nails painted instead. Very poor value for money and, presumably, we paid a discounted price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 952Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allayne B, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

I am really sorry that we let you down and be reassured that I am addressing the issues you raised. Hope you have an enjoyable Easter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
19.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
801 reviews
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,028 reviews
11.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range: £76 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing