We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had the most wonderful 2 nights stay at Breadsall Priory last weekend. The grounds of the hotel are very beautiful and very well kept. The rooms are standard Marriott quality and size with good beds and bedding. We've booked a superior room with scenic view. The room was rather big but I am not sure if we've got the promised scenic view room since one of the windows was overlooking the golf course and another had an angle view of the back of the garden. There are 2 golf courses, tennis court and indoor swimming pool with sauna, Jacuzzi etc. We've dined in the main Priory restaurant on the first night. There was a good a la carte choice of dishes and our steaks were cooked to perfection. There were 3 or 4 weddings on Saturday at the hotel but the grounds and premises are so big that we were not disturbed by them. However, the main restaurant was closed for the function on Saturday so we had to eat in Tempo restaurant (also part of the hotel), which is more pub-like. We had a very nice dinner on the terrace of the restaurant and enjoyed the warm summer evening. Although the food was nice and tasty, the service was incredibly slow despite the fact that there were not too many customers. The chicken wings I've ordered as a starter tasted like regular Tesco chilled food. My main course - grilled hake - came with wilted yellow lamb lettuce and an oven baked hake, my husband's whisky came in a dirty glass and had to be replaced. Cheese cake again tasted like purchased in the frozen food department. A bit disappointing.
The hotel is ideally positioned for exploration of the Peak district. Chatsworth and Hardwick Hall are only 30-45 minutes drive through the picturesque countryside and are well worth visiting. For jogging enthusiasts there is a 8km circuit around the hotel grounds, so there is plenty to do there for non-golfers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    391
    231
    90
    49
See reviews for
206
463
19
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We received an e mail from Top Table offering afternoon tea at Breadsall Priory for £12.95 with complimentary glass of champagne. We chose the latest time available of 5.00pm which turned out to be unfortunate as we were the only people in the dining room and tables were being moved and set for dinner around us. I appreciate this has to be done but if it has to be done at 5.00pm it's surely best not to take tea bookings at that time.
The sandwiches, smoked salmon, egg mayo, cheese and chutney, ham and tomato were disappointing. Fillings weren't bad but the bread was far too thick. Scones and cake were average. The whole thing looked dull, no colour from garnishes and nothing with fruit to give colour and texture. The cake was chocolate eclairs, a cake with chocolate ganache and a ginger cake. We had to ask for the champagne, which was delicious, and were asked if it was part of our deal.
The staff were polite and pleasant but we ate everything rather quickly and left as we didn't feel very comfortable. Perhaps if we weren't 'a late booking' as we were told, it would have been better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allayne B, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I am sorry that you found your Afternoon Tea experience so disappointing. Clearly we still have some work to do. We hope to do better next time
Allayne Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I have to say the staff in this hotel made me & my family so welcome. The food was very good. Steak in bar overpriced though at £25 . All in all a fantastic 3 days & we will return. Leisure centre a1 . Even on the course the staff were happy. Let's hope it stays that way. Beautiful location,excellent food, happy smiling helpful staff . Thank you for making our 3 days special.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrislanmac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

There are a number of reviews on this site that criticise Breadsall Priory for 'looking after their Corporate Clients' and I can confirm they do that VERY WELL.

I recently worked with the venue to organise an international charity golf event and I, as well as all of the international visitors (from a wide number of high level professions), found the Hotel, the Golf Course, and all of the staff to be excellent.

Of particular note were the meals. Being an event where 60% of the guests would be from overseas we asked for a British themed menu for the two evening meals. The chef made some really good selections and the food was of superb quality. Service was well managed by efficient and attentive staff.

So, whilst the gereral customer is very important and should be treated as such, Corporate Clients are important too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a glorious place to stay set in a golf course. Our room looked out onto the 18th Green and had a stunning view. Swimming pool, sauna and steam room all great to. We had dinner, bed and breakfast package. Dinner was ok , the food is more about presentation as opposed to quantity but very nice. Breakfast was amazing and there was a great selection of choice.

Room Tip: We had room 260 which overlooked the 18th green and had 2 double beds in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gymbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Me and Rob went for relaxation he played golf I did the spa. Stayed overnight. The room was fantastic and all facilities great. Food brilliant. Would definitely do it again. You have to try this place its the second time I've been. I've always wanted I to go to the spa in the past but never got round to it. Please do it ----- its great.

Room Tip: Its great you must go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilTracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wonderful three night stay in this amazing hotel for my boyfriend's 50th Birthday. The location is just fantastic, and made good use of the spa and swimming pool as well as treated ourselves to a facial and massage which was reasonably priced. The breakfast is excellent, as well as dinner and well worth staying in for dinner, rather than driving out to find somewhere. The service was excellent, but what was most noted was the friendliness of ALL the staff - no matter where you went in the hotel. The reception staff helped me out with photocopying and printing which was good of them. The room was really comfortable, with a very comfortable bed. No complaints what so ever! Will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Room 164 has great views onto the garden and the golf course. It's great if you can get parked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
985 reviews
11.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
242 reviews
19.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing