We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Magnificent Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay and we cannot speak highly enough about this lovely hotel.

The food and service were first class and we will definately be back in the not to distant future.

For golfers the courses are in great condition set in wonderful countryside.

All in all a real treat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heartsfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was so looking forward to staying here on a training course and thought it would be a relaxing stay in a beautiful location. The grounds are beautiful and building exquisite with lots of history to explore, the food it has to be said is very good in both the bar and restaurant and done very well. Unfortunately that's where the positives stop for me. Upon arrival the check in was far from smooth with a mix up over corporate booking and payment. I was given a key and no information about facilities, breakfast times, where to eat and not even where to find my room, I had to ask! There was no offer of a porter to take my luggage or even a suggestion to drive to the rear car park to easily access my room with luggage. The room was comfortable with two double beds and all the usual facilities, toiletries, tea and coffee making items and useful extras such as an ironing board and safe. The main issue with the room was a wifi problem at the time of my stay which meant I could only access the internet in the public areas...not very convenient. On the second day my key card and that of a few colleagues and other guests did not work and meant a return to reception several times, with an apology only after a request for one. Although following my suggestion of a free drink as compensation this was duly agreed. Other customer service issues included gossiping reception staff, an hour wait for food in the Tempo bar with the excuse that "there were lots of checks on" as well as inaccurate billing. I must comment though that the restaurant staff were quick and efficient in the evening, although not terribly friendly. Overall not the experience I was looking for and certainly not the level of service I would expect from a Marriott hotel. There are many simple and effective measures which could enable them to be so much better. Customer effort was certainly too high for me to want to stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Clearshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We were pleased that you that you enjoyed the beautiful setting of the hotel and its history along with the food offering. It was disappointing though that there were service issues and we can only apologise and advise that these will be dealt with as it is never our intention to offer a less that first class service. I do hope we will do better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you stay at the Breadsall Priory and don't have the opportunity to enjoy the premises you won't be getting your monies worth. The hotel itself has a very nice aura but unfortunately that doesn't carry over the the rooms. I stayed in a suite where the room decor was outdated, not in a good way.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had stayed here once before, and decided to return for a short "get away from it all" break because of the beautiful location and peaceful atmosphere. The grounds are absolutely beautiful (see pictures), and I enjoyed wandering in the gardens or having a drink on the terrace. Although I don't play golf the two golf courses mean the hotel is surrounded by rolling grassland and trees. There is also a swimming pool and gym which I didn't have time to use on this occasion.

The hotel is easy to reach from the A61 near Derby, and is well placed for exploring Derbyshire, the Peak District, Chatsworth House, etc.

My room was in the "new" part of the hotel, as I think are most, so be aware of this and if you want a room in the old part you need to arrange this when booking. The room was very clean, modern and spacious, and had a lovely view over the golf course, but was quite a long way from the main part of the hotel, down many corridors. Unfortunately some noise seems to carry between rooms; I could hear footsteps of someone in the room overhead walking up and down (maybe ask for a top floor room), and some noise from children in the next room.

The public lounge, bar and restaurant are lovely elegant spaces. I ate in the Priory Restaurant one night and the food was good and the service helpful and polite. Breakfast was good, comprehensive hot and cold breakfast buffet with an egg/omelette chef on hand, good service and nice elegant environment.

In the bar I thought the service could be a bit more helpful. The bar staff don't seem to want to do table service, you have to go up to the bar, and I was asked to sign for each drink immediately, not allowed to open a tab or even to add a drink to my restaurant bill when I was dining there. This seems odd and could be reviewed to make it a bit more welcoming.

Overall a very nice hotel, beautiful grounds, peaceful environment and good facilities.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the old part of the hotel, need to arrange this when booking. In the new wing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellisdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our children treated my husband and I to afternoon tea and I really wish they had saved their money. On arrival we stood at an empty desk for at least ten minutes. Finally a very fed up looking waitress showed us into what I can only describe as a room with tables lacking any ambience or atmosphere, no gentle music playing in the background of a vase of flowers to be seen. We were served tea and coffee and then the 'a l a carte ' afternoon tea was served. And what an unappetising plate it looked too. The sandwiches had obviously just come out of a fridge/chiller as they were very very cold and felt hard. The ham and I use that term lightly was that of the formed plastic variety. The smoked salmon did make up for that though. Now where do I start with the cakes !! The scones were obviously bought from the local supermarket and were like sawdust and the mini chocolate eclair was from pack of frozen ones that can be purchased from any cash and carry. The chunk of ginger cake was stodgy and the slice of chocolate something was too sickly to eat .
The whole thing was not worth £5 a head never mind £12.95 a head.
Afternoon tea should consist of homemade delicate cakes pastries and sandwiches ..
No one came back to ask if we were ok or if we needed any more tea or coffee, as we only got one cup each ! And on leaving we couldn't find any staff to take our money and had to hunt around and eventually found someone in the bar !
Needless to say we will not be recommending or returning there.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory experience. Your detailed comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for actioning as it is never our intention to offer a less than first class service for our guests. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to show that we can do so much better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here last night after visiting Bakewell and Chatsworth House. This hotel is the "oldest Marriott hotel in the world". Our stay was enjoyable and there are excellent facilities i.e. 2 x golf courses, golf shop, leisure centre with swimming pool, jacuzzi, Spa treatments, bars and restaurants.

The gardens and views are beautiful and we enjoyed the Nature Trail after dinner. Although I would recommend flat shoes as I was dragged along in sparkly gold wedges by my husband!

The rooms were clean and ours was a generous size, well decorated, having tea/coffee making facilities, TV and a good sized bathroom with bath and shower and toiletries. Our bed was a bit lumpy so could perhaps do with a change of mattress. We were in the Mews so had a separate courtyard and were apart from the main hotel rooms. The only thing that really bugged me about the room was the lack of free Wi-Fi. This cost £6 per hour or £15 per 24hr period. We didn't pay just walked around outside till we picked up a signal!

We didn't make use of the Helipad, unfortunately we left our helicopter in its hanger!!!!

We did have evening dinner in the Tempo bar, (less formal than the others). I had the beef ragu and chips and my husband had the fish, chips and mushy peas. They were both delicious but we felt a bit pricey. A couple near us did however have problems with availability of certain items on the menu with both food and wine.

The only downside to this bar was that I was made to feel a little uncomfortable by the looks I received from a couple of the lady golfers already having drinks as I walked out onto the terrace. This was uneccessary as I was dressed smartly for dinner. However they soon left for their ladies golfing do, hosted in a nearby room. But as my husband says (who is a keen golfer), that is the type of attitude that gives golf a bad reputation! Come on ladies at least I wasn't wearing golf shorts and T-shirt!!!!!

My husband didn't play golf here as we were only staying overnight, but walking round some of the course he felt it looked like 2 x parkland courses, suitable for average players and forgiving for stray shots!

We didn't have breakfast here (£15 per head) but headed off elsewhere. We noticed families also using the hotel as a base and we would return if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wasessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was my first time staying here and I'm very happy to say it was excellent. Check in was smooth and the ladies were very friendly. I checked in on my phone and the room was ready by 11.30am!!

As a gold card member, breakfast was included in the restaurant. Nice décor and food.

Our room was in the nice farm house and close to the indoor pool. The room was very well decorated and romantic. We ate twice in the Tempo bar. Slightly overpriced, but was good quality and tasted fresh.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
20.1 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,064 reviews
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range: £71 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing