We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed last week for a wedding 09/08/14 ... Room ok apart from a hair on the bath ! Tea and coffee was terrible ... Only had enough for x1 and had to share a packet off biscuit !!not what I expect for £145 per night ... Not impressed at all.. Very poor indeed oh and expected to spend another £15 for internet ... Overpriced indeed will not go back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burtonnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allayne B, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. I really hope we do better next time
Allayne Broom
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    380
    218
    84
    45
See reviews for
195
441
19
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

First impressions great Lovely old building beautiful gardens Straight on the golf course (the Moorland easier one ) and a pretty good round Check-in swift and pleasant The room in The Mews large and airy - we discovered at 545 next morning it was next to the deliveries entrance and the ventilation shaft ! We were surprised there was no water waiting only 2 teabags and enough shampoo for about 1 & 1/2 hairwashes we ate in the Priory retaurant at 700 Starter orders were taken at 720 and they arrived at 740 the menu choice was execellent and the food apart from a lukewarm medium steak ordered as medium rare and my veg never arriving breakfast was ok but not inspiring Pity but we won't be back

Room Tip: Anything but The Mews
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryG255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allayne B, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I am sorry that we disappointed you. It is always our intention to exceed our guest expectations.
I hope we do better next time
Allayne Broom
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay and we cannot speak highly enough about this lovely hotel.

The food and service were first class and we will definately be back in the not to distant future.

For golfers the courses are in great condition set in wonderful countryside.

All in all a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heartsfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was so looking forward to staying here on a training course and thought it would be a relaxing stay in a beautiful location. The grounds are beautiful and building exquisite with lots of history to explore, the food it has to be said is very good in both the bar and restaurant and done very well. Unfortunately that's where the positives stop for me. Upon arrival the check in was far from smooth with a mix up over corporate booking and payment. I was given a key and no information about facilities, breakfast times, where to eat and not even where to find my room, I had to ask! There was no offer of a porter to take my luggage or even a suggestion to drive to the rear car park to easily access my room with luggage. The room was comfortable with two double beds and all the usual facilities, toiletries, tea and coffee making items and useful extras such as an ironing board and safe. The main issue with the room was a wifi problem at the time of my stay which meant I could only access the internet in the public areas...not very convenient. On the second day my key card and that of a few colleagues and other guests did not work and meant a return to reception several times, with an apology only after a request for one. Although following my suggestion of a free drink as compensation this was duly agreed. Other customer service issues included gossiping reception staff, an hour wait for food in the Tempo bar with the excuse that "there were lots of checks on" as well as inaccurate billing. I must comment though that the restaurant staff were quick and efficient in the evening, although not terribly friendly. Overall not the experience I was looking for and certainly not the level of service I would expect from a Marriott hotel. There are many simple and effective measures which could enable them to be so much better. Customer effort was certainly too high for me to want to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We were pleased that you that you enjoyed the beautiful setting of the hotel and its history along with the food offering. It was disappointing though that there were service issues and we can only apologise and advise that these will be dealt with as it is never our intention to offer a less that first class service. I do hope we will do better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you stay at the Breadsall Priory and don't have the opportunity to enjoy the premises you won't be getting your monies worth. The hotel itself has a very nice aura but unfortunately that doesn't carry over the the rooms. I stayed in a suite where the room decor was outdated, not in a good way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had stayed here once before, and decided to return for a short "get away from it all" break because of the beautiful location and peaceful atmosphere. The grounds are absolutely beautiful (see pictures), and I enjoyed wandering in the gardens or having a drink on the terrace. Although I don't play golf the two golf courses mean the hotel is surrounded by rolling grassland and trees. There is also a swimming pool and gym which I didn't have time to use on this occasion.

The hotel is easy to reach from the A61 near Derby, and is well placed for exploring Derbyshire, the Peak District, Chatsworth House, etc.

My room was in the "new" part of the hotel, as I think are most, so be aware of this and if you want a room in the old part you need to arrange this when booking. The room was very clean, modern and spacious, and had a lovely view over the golf course, but was quite a long way from the main part of the hotel, down many corridors. Unfortunately some noise seems to carry between rooms; I could hear footsteps of someone in the room overhead walking up and down (maybe ask for a top floor room), and some noise from children in the next room.

The public lounge, bar and restaurant are lovely elegant spaces. I ate in the Priory Restaurant one night and the food was good and the service helpful and polite. Breakfast was good, comprehensive hot and cold breakfast buffet with an egg/omelette chef on hand, good service and nice elegant environment.

In the bar I thought the service could be a bit more helpful. The bar staff don't seem to want to do table service, you have to go up to the bar, and I was asked to sign for each drink immediately, not allowed to open a tab or even to add a drink to my restaurant bill when I was dining there. This seems odd and could be reviewed to make it a bit more welcoming.

Overall a very nice hotel, beautiful grounds, peaceful environment and good facilities.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the old part of the hotel, need to arrange this when booking. In the new wing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellisdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our children treated my husband and I to afternoon tea and I really wish they had saved their money. On arrival we stood at an empty desk for at least ten minutes. Finally a very fed up looking waitress showed us into what I can only describe as a room with tables lacking any ambience or atmosphere, no gentle music playing in the background of a vase of flowers to be seen. We were served tea and coffee and then the 'a l a carte ' afternoon tea was served. And what an unappetising plate it looked too. The sandwiches had obviously just come out of a fridge/chiller as they were very very cold and felt hard. The ham and I use that term lightly was that of the formed plastic variety. The smoked salmon did make up for that though. Now where do I start with the cakes !! The scones were obviously bought from the local supermarket and were like sawdust and the mini chocolate eclair was from pack of frozen ones that can be purchased from any cash and carry. The chunk of ginger cake was stodgy and the slice of chocolate something was too sickly to eat .
The whole thing was not worth £5 a head never mind £12.95 a head.
Afternoon tea should consist of homemade delicate cakes pastries and sandwiches ..
No one came back to ask if we were ok or if we needed any more tea or coffee, as we only got one cup each ! And on leaving we couldn't find any staff to take our money and had to hunt around and eventually found someone in the bar !
Needless to say we will not be recommending or returning there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory experience. Your detailed comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for actioning as it is never our intention to offer a less than first class service for our guests. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to show that we can do so much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
1.4 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
6.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
3.0 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
16.3 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
19.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing