We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Arriving at Breadsall Priory we were stunned by the beauty of the place, set in the midst of a golf course and having beautiful gardens and woodland to walk in. From the moment we arrived the service was friendly and just what we would expect from a well run Marriott. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel but I think that this may have been an advantage as there were 3 weddings during our stay and I suspect that the older part might have been quite noisy in the evening.
The food, both for breakfast and dinner, was excellent with plenty of choice. There were 69 stairs from our room to the dining room, some up and some down, we found going outside saved most of them. If you find stairs difficult discuss this when you book.
Breadsall is ideally placed for visiting several National Trust properties and exploring the Peak District National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alisonheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights a week ago on room only basis for a break whilst our teenagers were at a camp. The safe did not work in our first room so happily for us they moved us into The Mews into a much better room altogether. I would recommend ear plugs,I take these whenever I go away, as the delivery vans turned up very early outside rattling crates etc. No hotel mini bars here but these appear to being phased out in a lot of hotel chains now. I took my own herbal teabags but for the money we should have had more selection of teabags,coffee,milk and biscuits etc provided on the tray.It looked mean and cheap and people expect better at these prices. We had room service for breakfast which always arrived on time. They did seem understaffed in the Reception area at times with young inexperienced staff at times which is not what you expect at such a high standard hotel. We ate in the priory restaurant 1 night and the food was lovely and presented to a high standard,although not a vast choice on the menu.The service was good and the whole dining experience what you would expect of a quality hotel.We found the grounds and gardens relaxing to wander around and just what we needed to get some peace and time for ourselves. We waited until we were in the car park to use the wifi !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Mews if you want a room with character but take earplugs!!! Take your own dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakewood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club. You indicated in your response that some aspects of your stay were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guests satisfaction and it appears we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

We hope to regain your trust and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Lovely hotel and grounds. Very helpful staff - specially in the leisure centre. Very clean.
Unfortunately a few expected items for these type of establishment were missing : no mini-bar, very poor hospitality tray (only instant coffee, no herbal tea, or hot choc). Having a leisure centre will be useful to provide dressing gowns to move from the hotel to the centre.
Wi-Fi should be included in hotels charging over £100 per night...
Breakfast wonderful - catering for veggies and children.
Will be useful for the res staff to mention that most rooms are not at the priory. People (like myself) choosing this hotel would do so because of the charm attached to such historical place, so I was disappointed to find myself in an outside building to the priory in an acceptable but very corporate looking room and bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Angelito77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your comments and sharing your experience with Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the beautiful setting of the hotel, the food and the friendly staff.
You mention that certain aspects of your room were disappointing and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Eveyrthing we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and hope to service you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I booked a one night break for me and the family, excellent service over the telephone to secure two adjoining rooms.
Upon arrival was blown away by the setting (helped by the sunshine), kids loved the pool and we dined in the Tempo Bar which was a bit over priced. Couldn't believe that in today's day and age you have to pay for wifi on the room !!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed with the wi-fi charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Context: Couple getting away for the bank holiday weekend

I've just spent three days at Breadsall Priory with my girlfriend, we both had a really bad experience. It's a real shame, because the grounds are stunning and the main building looks superb. The management clearly care more about profits and less about customer service.

Here are our main criticisms:
- It felt like we had been lied to, the pictures they brandished around on their website are far from what you'll get.
- Rooms felt damp and musky, brown water ran from the hot water tap for 2 minutes before eventually running clear.
- Calling room service or reception will be a wasted effort as no one picks up. We spoke to other guests and they had the same issue.
- Wifi is £15 for 24 hours. In this day and age, room service should be complimentary.
- No mini fridge in the room
- Small bath tub
- They have locked down the TV's so that you can't connect via usb or hdmi (you'll have to pay to view their films)
- Pool staff were hard to locate and dragged their feet to help.
- Wait in a long queue for 30 mins to check out.
- We had to call the hotel to order room service.
- When room service arrived, it was very poor.
- Restaurant experience was ok, steak over cooked.

This whole experience has really put me off Marriott hotels, if you're looking for weddings or a round of golf then this place may suit your needs. Otherwise, I strongly recommend looking elsewhere. We got the impression that they were completely understaffed, upon checkout the lady didn't even bother to ask us how our stay was.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Rhys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for completing a survey in which you indicated that were areas of service & product that were unsatisfactory. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take take great pride in ensuring our guests' satisfaction and, unfortunately we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. We do hope you will give us this opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My daughter Julie & husband Dr Alan Brown have just spent one glorious Night in the Mews section Lady Bower room 222 . Dinner & breakfast in the main Hotel then they invited us for afternoon tea In the priory rooms it was there 30 wedding Anniversary Arranged by there Children as a Surprise !? the room was great the service excellent the food wow thanks Chef Special thanks to Jodie the manageress she made their stay a time to remember for a long time its also great for wedding parties we saw two on the sat & two on the sunday would highly recommend this Hotel group Mr & Mrs PG Isaac'S

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peterI186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at a friends wedding. We had very mixed reviews. When we arrived we were given are room in the Mews as soon as we entered the room it was damp and musty smelling which was very strong. I reported this to reception and was given another key card for another room which was much better. We also asked if it was possible to get hot chocolate (instead of coffee) for the room which was there when we arrived back at are room. Food over the two days was very good especially the breakfast with the fresh omelettes made with your choice off filling. Are biggest disappointment was the wifi/internet which was being charged at £6 per hr think it's time to move into the 21st century......

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allayne B, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

I am sorry that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. We will do better next time
Allayne Broom
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
19.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range: £72 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing