We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Lacking”

Roosters Bar & Restaurant at Morley Hayes
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Morley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Customer Service Lacking”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I wanted to organise a family meal to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday for a group of 6/7 people. As it was to be held on a Sunday evening choices were limited, but having been to The Roosters Bar before we felt this was a safe bet.
The first problem we encountered was their policy of not allowing bookings except for groups of between 10 and 15. We asked in person and checked again by phone but this was flatly refused.

This was disappointing, but we deceided to go ahead anyway. On arrival last night at 7.00pm it was quite busy. I approached a waitress and explained the situation and asked if she could help us find seating together. She said no, and that we would have to find somewhere ourselves. It was a least half an hour before a suitable table became available.

I think it is arrogant of management that they feel able to maximise use of their seating at the expense of good customer service. After arriving at 7 we eventually started eating our main course just before 9pm.

This said, the food was reasonable, but not great. The steaks were cooked as requested and tender and roast beef was good. However the pea and ham soup was awful and the cauliflower cheese brown and unappetising. The peppercorn sauce lacked peppercorns and salad where no onion was requested came with onions.

£5 for a double espresso was harsh and above London prices... perhaps this was a mistake???

Overall the experience was disappointing and with hind-sight I feel we made a bad choice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Discerning23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    145
    51
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing service and the steak was over cooked”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We went for a large family meal this evening. Experienced disappointing service from the team working the shift. It was hard to get staff to take a drinks order and when they came it was incorrect, this happened on more than one occasion. I ordered surf and turf with a rare steak, the steak was cooked medium well...raised it with a staff member for it to be passed to two other people before being sorted. 15 mins later the replacement arrived, most people had finished eating so the food didn't get eaten. Disappointing.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jblake1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“sunny afternoon”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

i had a lovely afternoon with my parents and best friend. The food was excellent. We sat a table outside in what i would describe as a garden. it was so beautiful. we were here all afternoon we werent rushed by the staff. We will definitely be back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant breakfast!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Four good friends enjoyed an amazing champagne breakfast here Friday the food, staff and setting are first class I especially enjoyed the Greek yogurt with fruit and granola the sausage and the delicious hot chocolate definitely worth going for a treat or a special occasion we were there from 10 am until 12.30pm enjoying our champagne and not rushed at all ps a big thank you to Richard for the treat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the new facelift!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Always visit the Roosters when out with the kids as prefer Dovecote for Romantic nights. There is always an excellent choice on the menu, service is always fast and efficient and I know that the food will be great no matter what our choice.
I love the new facelift too. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roosters Bar & Restaurant at Morley Hayes also viewed

 

Been to Roosters Bar & Restaurant at Morley Hayes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing