We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Management Event at Morley Hayes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Management Event at Morley Hayes”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I organised an event for our talented management population at a one of our sites near Ilkeston and we arranged our group dinner and overnight stay at Morley Hayes on Tuesday 8th May 2012. It was the first time I have used the hotel. We had a fantastic evening; the service, food, restaurant and overnight accommodation was excellent. I arrange 8 such events each year and I have to say that Morley Hayes was certainly one of my best experiences. I will certainly use the hotel and restaurant again and recommend to my colleagues.

We had the centre section of the Dovecote restaurant reserved for our private dinner for 23 guests and it was really beautiful. The table had been set with flowers and candles and the service was excellent. The staff had taken the time to check where each guest was sitting so that their pre-ordered dinner choices could be served without shouting out round the table - a refreshing change.

The area for pre-dinner drinks was also lovely, small enough to be personable with a good atmosphere, with excellent friendly service from the staff.

With regard to the bedrooms, all my guests commented on how lovely they were, with great views over the golf course. The sunny evening helped and our guests very much appreciated opening their curtains in the morning to the beautiful view.

My requirements were followed exactly with regard to timing, invoicing, paying for drinks etc. There is nothing I would change.

We have received excellent feedback from our participants.

Thank you to all those involved at Morley Hayes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
We are delighted you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Thank you for your time in submitting your review, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    71
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
151
214
9
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had our wedding at Morley Hayes on 4th May and had the most wonderful experience. The staff cannot be faulted at all, the facilities are excellent, the food delicious, the hospitality second to none. The entire experience has been one of constant surprise and pleasure. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the staff and our every need was not only catered for, but it seeemd like it was planned for in advance. The planning stage was a breeze, and suggestions made that we had not previously considered. Everytime we rang up we were greeted and dealt with by such friendly, courteous and helpful staff. On the day before, a number of our guests had arrived and there were no tables available in the Roosters bar for us to sit together, so a table was quickly made up in the next room, without us even having to ask. On the actual day, we were made to feel like the whole world had stopped just to accommodate our every need, from the very wonderful Master of ceremonies, who effortlessly transported us through the day, corralling our guests into the right location at the right time and overseeing every small detail to perfection, from placing our bouquets into water to keep them fresh, and thus creating extra table decorations, to ensuring the vegetarians knew where to find their end of evening butties! We stayed in the Bateman Suite, which was beautiful with a large, sublimely comfortable 4-poster bed, invigorating shower and some welcome toiletries which we had forgotten to bring! Breakfast was delicious and bountiful. Oh, what else can I say?! It was a truly wonderful experience! I have also since been told that it was Andrew, the owner who acted as usher, although I didn't know that at the time! Just such a brilliant day. In short, we love it at Morley Hayes and can't imagine our wedding could have been held anywhere else!

Room Tip: From what I have seen, they are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilli68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your wedding and stay here at Morley Hayes. It was a lovely day and a pleasure looking after you and your guests.
Our very best wishes for your future happiness together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed and played at Celtic manor the week before and i feared that it would be to much of a drop in standards coming to somewhere like Morley Hayes, my fears were soon forgotten as my playing partners and me arrived we were greeted by some of the most friendly and helpful people that i have met for a long time, i soon felt like we had all been long term friends and members at the hotel. From getting the keys to my buggy to checking out the following day every thing was a breeze and noting was to much trouble. The hotel is not the biggest i have stayed at but that's not to say its not one of the best. The evening meal will take some beating as the steak was without a doubt the BEST I HAVE EVER HAD. The course is very open but still a good challenge and can only get better with age.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattpeters1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you so much for your time to write such a lovely report. I have printed it off and stuck it on the staff notice board. They are all delighted you enjoyed your visit. The steaks are all sourced from Derbyshire farms so we can be sure they of good quality. The hotel is 32 rooms at the moment but hopefully may grow in the future. Hope you have a great golfing season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was my third visit to Morley Hayes and once again everything was excellent. The condition of the rooms, both bedrooms and the public facilities cannot be faulted and I would visit again. The staff and the food are 1st class. The golf course is improving each year and challenging.
On a lovely Summer day no where is better with lots of outside seating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_B_12481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Delighted you enjoyed your stay! Lets hope we get plenty of sunny days to enjoy the beautiful golf courses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A group of 16 friends celebrating a belated birthday. Absolutely 'top notch' accommodation, excellent Dinner in a private Dining Room, terrific but challenging golf and fantastic sunny weather. Really could not have asked for anything more. Unreserved recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you so much for such a great review! Hopefully welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The M-H is a beautiful hotel, very well appointed and very comfortable. The food in the less formal restaurant is excellent quality and plenty of it. Haven't tried the posh one. The rooms are very comfortable, I travel for business and this is one of my favourite. The rooms with sitting areas outside have a wonderful relaxing view of the golf course, and it is peaceful and quiet. The working area is great as are the sofas and comfort of the bed. Can't fault it at all. Breakfast is good, staff are always attentive. Only down side is it does not have gym, etc on site. You can use a twinned site, but its a car journey away. It is quite remote too, so not in the thick of things if you want lots to do outside your door. But Derby isn't far away.

Room Tip: Ask for one with balcony/ patio overlooking the golf course. View is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozL_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Morley Hayes. It is great to hear you enjoy your time here. As you stated we do not have a gym on site.However all hotels guests receive complimentray access to Vigin Active, a few miles down the road. We also provide a free shuttle to and from the gym.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Morley Hayes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafffordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had the delight of staying here just last night for our friends wedding. We had a superior room for our family of two adults and two children. The room was exceptionally spacious with a huge bed, a sofa bed and a trundle bed. Breakfast was included in the rate we paid and was good with a choice of continental and cooked. The service was excellent and if I ever get married again (sorry husband ;)) I would definitely consider Morley Hayes as a venue.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikibres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for the great review following your stay here at Morley Hayes. We look forward to welcoming you back again with your husband. We do wedding blessings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
1.3 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
16.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
4.8 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morley Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morley Hayes Hotel

Property: The Morley Hayes Hotel
Address: Main Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morley Hayes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious AA 4 star Morley Hayes Hotel, near Derby has 32 bedrooms, all of which are air-conditioned, from the Executive Room to the Honeymoon Suite. Whether you are looking for a luxury hotel in Derbyshire, a golf break on our championship course, a conference venue with full meeting facilities, the perfect wedding venue or simply the best food and drink at our fantastic bars and restaurant, Morley Hayes is the ideal destination for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morley Hayes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morley Hayes Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing