We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”

Dovecote Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Morley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Went on a Saturday evening with my husband, was very nice setting. Staff are very attentive but me personally found it a little stuffy, a bit old fashioned interior, they could do with dimming the lights a bit maybe a little background music. All the diners were probably over 60 apart from a few. Having said that the food was very lovely, nicely presented.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clr2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    68
    31
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly disappointing.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

After following a recommendation we visited this restaurant on a Friday evening to celebrate a family birthday.
Our table was in a corner even though the restaurant was less than half full. This caused the waiting staff to have to serve over the table.
The meal was well cooked and presented except for the cheese & biscuits which I can only say was a meagre portion, perhaps enough for a taster but hardly a portion, I've seen more used to bait mousetraps.
The staff later in the evening were moving tables, past ours, to set up for the following day and were arguing amongst themselves as to where, so were to-ing and fro-ing with the tables.
I wonder who was managing the staff that evening. All in all a very unpleasant experience for myself and my family. Certainly not value for money in this atmosphere.
Perhaps there are lessons to be learnt by the management.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Champagne breakfast”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Visited here today with a group of girls and we had a lovely visit. Food great and service was very good. Enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Champagne Breakfast”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I treated my husband to a champagne breakfast for his birthday at the Dovecote Restaurant, at Morley Hayes, beautiful worth every penny of £22.95 each, for the price we got a choice of starter from cornflakes, porridge or a delicious bagel with smoked salmon and scrambled egg, then a choice of main coursed from kegegree, full English etc, half a bottle of champagne, toast, croissants, jams, tea and coffee, we had a lovely time the staff as usual were excellent, the food as usual excellent, I would recommend this to anyone and will go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Driver Golf Break dinner bed and breakfast 2 rounds golf”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The food was excellent and beautifully presented the staff very pleasant.
The course was also in good condition for the time of year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BGSSociety123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dovecote Restaurant also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Dovecote Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing