We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch par excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dovecote Restaurant

Dovecote Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Morley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch par excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. Enjoying a pre-luncheon drink listening to music beautifully played by richly talented Ryan was magical.
The menu was so inviting and it took a while to make our choices. I changed a habit and went for the lamb rather than the beef which is usually my first choice and always superb. I was not disappointed, the lamb was delicious. Then the big problem - which dessert to choose. I elected to have the Lemon Macaroon - WOW - presented superbly and absolutely delicious.
Once again Morley Hayes got it absolutely right. Many thanks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    65
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Corporate Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have, as a business had many meals, used conference facilities and accommodation onsite for many years at Morley Hayes. The Hotel has always offered us a high standard of care and last night's meal surpassed our expectations in both service and culinary expertise. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb meal in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got married at Morley Hayes last year and decided to visit the Dovecote for a meal on a rare evening out without our children and what a treat it was. On arrival we were shown to seats within the reception area and were offered drinks and canopies immediately. We were shown the menus and we're not rushed to make our choices. Once the food was almost ready we were shown to our table. At all times throughout our experience staff were discrete but friendly and welcoming and attentive. The food was superb and presented very nicely. The food was not cheap but you get what you pay for and that is quality!
All-in-all a wonderful meal in wonderful surroundings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great attention to detail, beautifully furnished, attentive staff, great choice of food and great atmosphere. A bit pricey perhaps but makes a nice treat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dalgarnO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent - As Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went to celebrate my birthday on a wet and miserable Wednesday evening. If the weather was awful, the food and service at this top class restuarant more than made up for it. We had not been to the Dovecote for a while but nothing had changed from our last visit: everything was still superb. The service was attentive but unobtrusive, the surroundings lovely and, most importantly of all, the food was delicious. We skipped the starters but the steak and chicken pie mains were extremely tasty and well-cooked. The deserts looked beautiful and had a taste to match. The bill is more pricy than for Roosters downstairs but you would expect this for a fine dining experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dovecote Restaurant also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Dovecote Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing