We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, however vfm not quite as good as expected from previous reviews”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We'd planned to stay at The George at Chollerford which we both remembered as a top class hotel from visits several decades ago. Reviews suggested that would be a mistake!

Battlesteads looked, and was, a better option.

However, this was the most expensive room rate we paid on our touring holiday and it was the poorest value for money. Why? Not just the excellent online deals we found elsewhere.

On checking in the reception desk was unmanned and rather untidy leading off a corridor along from the bar and toilets. After walking towards the bar we were greeted by a young lady who seemed a little unfamiliar with the niceties of top class reception. It was great to be shown up to the room, but the key had been forgotten. We booked to dine only 30 minutes later and the same girl greeted us in the dining room and asked if we were guests! Dining room service was ordinary and the food was average for the price.

When a squeezy bottle of table cleaning liquid with cloth was left in the middle of a neighbouring table for about 5 minutes I made a mental note. When the same thing happened at breakfast I make a note here!

Yes, it's a nice hotel. The decor downstairs was a little dark, but not a problem. The information about local places of interest was very good. No mobile phone signal in Wark, but the free hotel wifi was excellent in our room. The bath in our room was not designed for those with broad shoulders.

My impression was of a hotel that may be getting just too carried away by the excellent reviews. Some little details are not up to the star ratings being afforded.

Room Tip: Electric car charging point in car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradway9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts or staff of the hotel. The service was excellent and all the staff we spoke to took pride in being a part of this well run establishment. The food was obviously all cooked freshly to order and was sourced either from the hotels own gardens or from local trades people and was both reasonably priced and excellent quality. Richard the owner was more than happy to give us a guided tour of the "bio mass" eco friendly boiler and heating system. polytunnels and gardens on the morning of our departure which was extremely interesting and informative- he is passionate about the quality of his produce and the effect of the hotel on the environment. Dee his wife is very visible in the hotel taking food orders and making the delicious puddings served in the restaurant - her award winning bread and butter pudding is amazing!
All in all for cleanlinless and quality of accomodation, quality of food and service provided and attractiveness of both hotel and location this is a winning formula that really takes some beating.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teamstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I browsed the internet for a hotel that gave easy access to Hadrians Wall and forts, Kielder Forest and the Borders. This one met all criteria, in spades.
Lovely village setting, extremely friendly hosts and staff. and a first class restaurant.
As an example of their practice of going out of their way to be helpful, the chef (Eddie Shilton) made a point of having long discussions with my wife concerning her serious and severe allergy to all citrus fruit, and concocted some superb meals that were not on the menu (at no extra cost).
We were sorry to leave after our three night stay. We wished we could have stayed on (particularly in view of the subsequent diabolical treatment by the Racehorses Hotel in the Dales, q.v.).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kewsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

As a family of four, we stayed for three nights and found this to be an excellent hotel in every respect. Rooms and en-suites are very well appointed and spotless. All the staff we met were first class - even down to a barman who had just appeared on one evening knowing my name. The food both at dinner and at breakfast was delicious and very well presented. The hotel prides itself (justifiably) on its environmental credentials. Its location may be a bit out of the way from the main routes but the diversion is well worth while. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsetsong2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We attended and enjoyed immensely, the annual Northumberland Association dinner that was held last week at Battlesteads. The food - all local - and wonderfully prepared and well served was outstanding. However, the truly impressive aspect of “Battlesteads” is the foresight and daring of the owners that have invested in real “green” technologies and practises. The tour of the bio heating system and extensive market gardens is not to be missed. The hotel is on the forefront of providing a superb local, gastronomic experience whilst operating a carbon-neutral sustainable business. Battlesteads is wonderful example of what can be achieved in being “Green” without sacrificing great hospitality. On the contrary it shows how green practises enhances the entire experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Earlier reviews say it all, so we were not dissapointed. The staff were there to serve you and would put most 4/5 star hotels to shame. Mike keeps his beer in excellent condition, the food is first class (sourced from local suppliers) and we were provided with a very comfortable and spacious room. All in all a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WELSHMAN50Arbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

been a couple of times now and enjoyed each visit - clean rooms and pretty good value for money

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greensocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
22.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range: £69 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing