We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative and excellent”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Imaginative and excellent”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We were really impressed with The Battlesteads, especially as we were on a two night special offer which represented really good value. Their commitment to the environment is clearly genuine (unlike many places) and has been pursued with considerable imagination. On booking we were warned that the room would be rather small. In fact it was of a perfectly adequate size, and was spotless and beautifully appointed. Some of the others must be really spacious. Being a pub/restaurant as well as hotel, we were concerned that it might be noisy, but it wasn't at all, even though our room looked out onto the road outside and was above the entrance. But what was really impressive was the food. We had two superb 3 course meals, and excellent breakfasts - the omelette with flaked smoked haddock and local Birdoswald cheese was really special. The salad and veg with the dinners were sourced from the garden and so were wonderfully fresh. Highly recommended, especially if 2 or 3 night special offers available - check their website.

Room Tip: Look at their website then phone them to discuss
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    254
    56
    29
    6
See reviews for
107
824
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed at Battlesteads as a family of four. I have two small chilldren, and sometimes this can purpose an issue at Inns. Not so here, the owners welcomed us and helped with arranging details on our excursions, as if it is perfectly normal for travelers to show up "not exactly with a plan" as we often do. I was planning for bus travel, but Dee quickly found us a driver with much local area knowledge, and for a great price as well. Prior to arriving I had several questions about certain things but was immediately answered via email by staff. We dined on the exquisite food prepared by the Chef Eddie Shilton, who is also a lovely person. All this said, the North can have a different "style" of friendliness, and especially being foreigners we expected some resistance. Not so at Battlesteads. You will feel welcomed by the warmth of the owners, you're not a "number" here. As an added bonus, they are very environmentally aware here, winning several green pub awards. You will notice this, along with the love of nature exhibited by the garden and bird watching activities.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungryhippie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Superb place, couldn't fault it, great service, very friendly staff. I was recommended some very good beers by Mike the barman, tried the Durham Magus and loved it.
Splendid evening meal in the conservatory overlooking the walled garden and a very good breakfast with plenty of choices. We certainly did not see any evidence of "tinned mushrooms"
Nice to stay in a place where the owners had obviously put a lot of thought into every aspect of their business. We would find it hard to think of anything that was not provided.
Only stayed one night but would definately visit again and we intend to bring some friends along next time.
Chris and Delene, New Hartley, Tyne and Wear

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R1150RT2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have only just returned from staying at the Battlesteads and it exceeded all our expectations. The location and gardens, the room, service, food and drink were excellent. Special praise should go to all the staff who made you feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. This really is a little gem of a hotel and we have already recommended this to all our friends.

Room Tip: We had the superior double room and it was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We only had a one night stay in Battlesteads, which definitely wasn't enough! We arrived with our 2 children (aged 8 and 5) and labrador, and nothing was too much for the hostess and her team. Food was fabulous, and the garden is a gorgeous place to relax, and watch the local birds (the children were given binoculars to try out, which they really loved).
Nice to know you could have the room as warm as you wanted without contributing to your carbon footprint, due to the wood-based central heating.

Room Tip: Great for all lovers of our conuntryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CadzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We were very disappointed with this hotel. They seemed to skimp on everything. The breakfast was very basic and they used tinned mushrooms! I didn`t want toast but my husband did and he was literally given one slice cut in half. The food was barely warm as though it had been cooked a while. Anyone who thinks this is excellent can`t have stayed in many places or is easily pleased. The complimentary tea coffee etc was also sparse and we had a small cookie jar which had one and a half cookies in it. We were also constantly having to ask for extra milk. In the bathroom the environmental friendly toiletries had the most terrible smells and there was virtually no lather from the shower gel. Guests were requested not to take the containers home as they would refill them for future guests I wouldn`t have wanted them! The staff were slow to respond to requests and generally seemed to have a laid back approach. We felt they needed proper training. We have already stayed in three other hotels this year and all were excellent. When you stay somewhere you expect it to be as good as if not better than what you have at home! It was not a cheap night either at £105.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We'd planned to stay at The George at Chollerford which we both remembered as a top class hotel from visits several decades ago. Reviews suggested that would be a mistake!

Battlesteads looked, and was, a better option.

However, this was the most expensive room rate we paid on our touring holiday and it was the poorest value for money. Why? Not just the excellent online deals we found elsewhere.

On checking in the reception desk was unmanned and rather untidy leading off a corridor along from the bar and toilets. After walking towards the bar we were greeted by a young lady who seemed a little unfamiliar with the niceties of top class reception. It was great to be shown up to the room, but the key had been forgotten. We booked to dine only 30 minutes later and the same girl greeted us in the dining room and asked if we were guests! Dining room service was ordinary and the food was average for the price.

When a squeezy bottle of table cleaning liquid with cloth was left in the middle of a neighbouring table for about 5 minutes I made a mental note. When the same thing happened at breakfast I make a note here!

Yes, it's a nice hotel. The decor downstairs was a little dark, but not a problem. The information about local places of interest was very good. No mobile phone signal in Wark, but the free hotel wifi was excellent in our room. The bath in our room was not designed for those with broad shoulders.

My impression was of a hotel that may be getting just too carried away by the excellent reviews. Some little details are not up to the star ratings being afforded.

Room Tip: Electric car charging point in car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradway9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
372 reviews
22.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Property: Battlesteads Hotel
Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing