We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
England
Level Contributor
189 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

A traditional style pub/inn situated in Wark, a village about 10 miles north of Hadrians Wall.
Rooms are a little old fashioned but are fine and clean; good toiletries and towels. Bed was too soft so not comfy. Fruit basket provided.
We paid £125 per night B&B which is probably a bit more than is reasonable partly because they only had a family room available.
Dinner was good - £21.50 for 2 courses, £26.50 for 3 courses. Breakfast was good - continental selection with home made jams was better than the cooked.
Nice welcoming bar/lounge with three local beers available. Staff are friendly. Nice garden too. There is no mobile phone coverage; internet access is available in the lounge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    243
    50
    27
    6
See reviews for
104
761
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

This is a superb traditional English inn. The restaurant food is fantastic and good value.
Rooms very comfy and clean.
Sadly both dinner and breakfast were let down by the waitresses who seemed too rushed, unfriendly and unpleasently banged the food down on the table.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timboishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We were booked in here as part of a Hadrian's Wall Walk package. The service included picking us up from the walk and returning us the following day - all easily arranged over the telephone.
Our accommodation was really too small for two walkers but that of our fellow walkers was fine.
The restaurant and bar staff were very friendly and helpful and the locally sourced food better than acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChooseMariblanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We were really impressed with The Battlesteads, especially as we were on a two night special offer which represented really good value. Their commitment to the environment is clearly genuine (unlike many places) and has been pursued with considerable imagination. On booking we were warned that the room would be rather small. In fact it was of a perfectly adequate size, and was spotless and beautifully appointed. Some of the others must be really spacious. Being a pub/restaurant as well as hotel, we were concerned that it might be noisy, but it wasn't at all, even though our room looked out onto the road outside and was above the entrance. But what was really impressive was the food. We had two superb 3 course meals, and excellent breakfasts - the omelette with flaked smoked haddock and local Birdoswald cheese was really special. The salad and veg with the dinners were sourced from the garden and so were wonderfully fresh. Highly recommended, especially if 2 or 3 night special offers available - check their website.

Room Tip: Look at their website then phone them to discuss
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed at Battlesteads as a family of four. I have two small chilldren, and sometimes this can purpose an issue at Inns. Not so here, the owners welcomed us and helped with arranging details on our excursions, as if it is perfectly normal for travelers to show up "not exactly with a plan" as we often do. I was planning for bus travel, but Dee quickly found us a driver with much local area knowledge, and for a great price as well. Prior to arriving I had several questions about certain things but was immediately answered via email by staff. We dined on the exquisite food prepared by the Chef Eddie Shilton, who is also a lovely person. All this said, the North can have a different "style" of friendliness, and especially being foreigners we expected some resistance. Not so at Battlesteads. You will feel welcomed by the warmth of the owners, you're not a "number" here. As an added bonus, they are very environmentally aware here, winning several green pub awards. You will notice this, along with the love of nature exhibited by the garden and bird watching activities.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hungryhippie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Superb place, couldn't fault it, great service, very friendly staff. I was recommended some very good beers by Mike the barman, tried the Durham Magus and loved it.
Splendid evening meal in the conservatory overlooking the walled garden and a very good breakfast with plenty of choices. We certainly did not see any evidence of "tinned mushrooms"
Nice to stay in a place where the owners had obviously put a lot of thought into every aspect of their business. We would find it hard to think of anything that was not provided.
Only stayed one night but would definately visit again and we intend to bring some friends along next time.
Chris and Delene, New Hartley, Tyne and Wear

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R1150RT2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have only just returned from staying at the Battlesteads and it exceeded all our expectations. The location and gardens, the room, service, food and drink were excellent. Special praise should go to all the staff who made you feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. This really is a little gem of a hotel and we have already recommended this to all our friends.

Room Tip: We had the superior double room and it was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Property: Battlesteads Hotel
Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing